IOS Reloading games

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by WiiPower, Mar 3, 2010.

Mar 3, 2010

IOS Reloading games by WiiPower at 6:56 PM (12,817 Views / 0 Likes) 56 replies

  1. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Here's the list of the games i know that are IOS Reloading games:
    Code:
    Army Men: Soldiers of Misfortune (maybe not, only 1 confirmation)
    Boogie (not Boogie Superstar which doesn't need this)
    Call of Duty 3
    CSI: Deadly Intent(IOS53, IOS Reload when trying to play 1st misson, maybe alt .dol from disc+ would allow to select the mission)
    FarCry(IOS9, looks like no chance for alt .dol from disc+, does an IOS Reload in the middle of the game)
    Fate of Atlantis(inside Indiana Jones and the Staff of Kings)
    FIFA 08
    House of the Dead 2(IOS Reload block function in Hermes cIOS works! Also alternative .dol loading allows to boot HOTD2 directly)
    Mahjong Kakutou Club(Mahjong Fight Club)
    Madden '07
    Madden '08
    Medal of Honor Heroes 2
    Metal Slug Anthology
    Metroid Prime 1(alternative .dol loading works partially, only 1st slot and veteran difficulty, alt .dol from disc+ might help)
    Metroid Prime 2(alternative .dol loading works partially, only 1st slot and veteran difficulty, alt .dol from disc+ might help)
    Metroid Prime Trilogy(IOS55, .dols for PAL: rs5fe_p.dol, rs5mp1_p.dol, rs5mp2_p.dol and rs5mp3_p.dol, alternative .dol loading works partially, only 1st slot each, veteran difficulty, no multiplayer, alt .dol from disc+ might help)
    Mortal Kombat Armageddon
    NBA Live '08
    Pangya Golf With Style(=Super Swing Golf)
    Red Steel(IOS9, IOS Reload directly before main menu, alternative .dol loading makes the game fully playable)
    Sam & Max Season One(IOS33, fully playable with alt .dol from disc+)
    Splinter Cell Double Agent
    SSX Blur
    Video tutorial in Grand slam Tennis
    Video tutorial in Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10
    Video tutorial in Virtua Tennis
    Video tutorial in Wii Sports Resort(player.dol, alternative .dol loading works)
    It would be nice if people would post .wdm files here. The parameter should be set to 1 for all games where no special parameters are known.

    One should decide for himself if he wants a .wdm file for Wii Sports Resort, as you only need to boot the other .dol once, but for Metroid Prime 1 for example, a file with "main menu" and "play game" or whatever would be nice.

    If a game is fully playable if another .dol is booted instead of the main.dol the .wdm file should look like this:
    Code:
    1
    0
    Text doesn't matter
    Name of the .dol, ? are allowed to create multi region .wdm files
    1

    If alternative .dol loading from disc+ is used with such a .wdm file on sd card, the loader should just boot the game .dol directly without asking. Oh and .wdm files can use 3, 4 or 6 digits of the discid, where i recommend to use 3, because that creates files for use in all regions.

    Currently the latest NeoGamma and configurable usb loader are using .wdm files, expect the others following soon.

    I want to gather all possible information about these games, to figure out which games still don't work from usb and hopefully find a solution for some of them. So mainly i want to know which IOS is requested by each game, which helps if one wants to replace that with a cIOS to play the game from disc. And i want to know where the IOS Reload happens, which .dols are on the disc and if the IOS Reload block function from Hermes cIOS works.
     


  2. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I'll try to gather these Infos in the Weekend, got some IOS Reloading Games [​IMG].

    One simple question: You want to know where the IOS Reload happens. What do you mean by that? Let's take Red Steel: The Game freezes at the Health-Screen. Would this be the Information you would want? That the IOS Reload happens at the Health-Screen?

    Oh, and let's hope many people will help...although I have a feeling that they won't (screaming for a solution and doing nothing when there's a chance happend before...)
     
  3. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    For the Metroid Prime games, the difficulty is Veteran
     
  4. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    CSI: Deadly Intent(IOS53) reloads when you select the first mission(just sends you back to the wii menu) without cios53 from corp3.x so I would assume it reloads at the beginning of load for each level but I could be wrong there could be more like beginning and end of the level
     
  5. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    To me it's good enough if i get the info that it's before the main menu and that alternative .dol loading works without any noticable bugs. Well the name of the .dol would be nice.
     
  6. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks. Do you know what .dols are on the disc and what they start if booted by alternative .dol loading?
     
  7. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Ok, first batch (I'm bored [​IMG]). I'll try now to find out the requested IOS by Discs, and will edit my post then. Maybe even with some more games, let's see...let me know if anything is missing or not the way you wanted it (besides the requested IOS).
     
  8. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Thank you. Hmm, the disc id might also worth adding. I guess the alternative .dol loading works for these 3 games?
     
  9. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I'll add the ID too [​IMG]. Well, about the loading, as far as I remember (didn't played these games for quite a long time [​IMG]), I only had sometimes, some graphical glitches with SSX and Medal, but maybe I was dreaming...I'll check in the weekend [​IMG].

    Oh, btw: I'll make the post above as my "Master"-Post, I'll update that one instead of posting always new...
     
  10. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    alt dol works for ssx blur, red steel

    edit:
    also works for and medal of honor heroes 2
     
  11. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    there's only Main.dol and alt dol loading doesn't work tried block ios reload on GX and cfg on 222v4 but same results reboot back to wii menu when first mission selected
     
  12. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    a little redundant no? If there's only one dol, then there isn't an alternate dol for the alt dol method to even be attempted! [​IMG]

    Longtom, I know u r a smart guy and that u know what u r talking about, so don't take offense, I'm just teasing/trying to make a point [​IMG]
     
  13. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,125
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Isn't SSBB (RSBE01) an IOS reloading game? I know it caused me some problems at the end of the first battle in the subspace emissionary. Hermes's 222/223 cIOS block worked on that one.

    There was also something weird in wii sports resort. IIRC, you had to enable the alt dol to watch the introduction movie, and then disable it to play the game itself (quick googled source).
     
  14. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    SSBB doesn't reload IOS. It's just unruly at times since it's a dual-layer game and DL support has a history of breaking in IOS249, though it's been stable for the past few revs.
     
  15. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    The game Boogie should also work when using the ssx.dol on the disc (Yep, "ssx" like in SSX Blur).
     
  16. chartube12

    Member chartube12 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,728
    Country:
    United States
    I know a site where you can get the, japanese Metroid Prime new wii control edit. It has been patched into english. Has all the features from the game on the trilogy disc. Plus it's own menu. I have not tested the game yet, but it should play perfect.

    The trilogy disc is just the MP1 and MP2 new controls EDITS indirect ported combined with MP3 on one disc.

    I don't support pirates and only pm me for the site, if you already own the trilogy game.
     
  17. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't work with it's menu from USB loading, only from disc.
     
  18. chartube12

    Member chartube12 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,728
    Country:
    United States
    I been asured by the mods of the site, MP1 WC's menu works and doesn't require an alternate dol.
     
  19. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    It's technically impossible
     
  20. chartube12

    Member chartube12 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,728
    Country:
    United States
    Why not? It isnt the trilogy game after all. Its a completely seperate game. The gamecube version's menu loads and that's basically what the New contorl series games are. They just have been upgraded for the wii.
     

Share This Page