IOS / cIOS Question

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Raiser, Nov 12, 2010.

Nov 12, 2010

IOS / cIOS Question by Raiser at 6:51 AM (2,188 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Raiser
    OP

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey guys,

    So I'm still reaaally noob to IOSs and stuff, yeah?
    Just a quick question: which IOS is best to keep loaded right now (for me via Multi-Mod Manager)?

    And if someone says something like:
    "run USB loader via 224 ... "
    That "224" is the IOS that's set like above, right? Not something else?

    Thanks!
     
  2. dn_angel000

    Member dn_angel000 Phantom User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Country:
    United States
    It depends what u wanna do on said IOS! If u wanna install VC/WiiWare use IOS236!!
     
  3. Raiser
    OP

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, this is reaalllyy pissing me off.
    I downloaded / installed:

    cIOS249[57] v20
    cIOS250[57] v20
    from
    cIOS249[57] v19
    cIOS250[37] v19

    .. in hopes of getting Black Ops's multi and zombie to work.
    However, it didn't so I reverted (by installing) my previous two cIOSes, but now I encounter two problems:

    1- As soon as I die in Black Ops (when you hear the med sounds), the screen goes black but switches to normal once I come back to life.
    2- If I try to access the Wii menu via the home button in-game, the screen just stays black.

    I don't get why it's not playing as it was before I updated the IOSes.

    Someone please help. Dealing with IOSes has to be one of the most stressful things I've ever done..
     
  4. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    I think I know how to help but at the same time I was messing with Wii stuff before 4.2 update so I am not really sure what new cIOS's have been released and such. I suggest following on of the tutorials they have about hacking 4.2 because they usually have the best cIOS setup .
     
  5. Raiser
    OP

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    The thing is that it was working with setup 2 (v19s) (listed in my previous post), then I updated to setup 1 (v20s), then back to setup 2. But this time it was messed up!

    Does updating cIOSes then having certain games running off them mess with the game itself?
    Would re-ripping / re-downloading the game make any difference?
     
  6. PPSainity

    Member PPSainity Blinded by Science

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    Sounds like you have been going back and forth between different cIOS revisions installing them via WADs. This is a great method to really mess things up. Not only are you likely to lose track on what you last did, using WADs instead of the cIOS installers adds the uncertainty of the WAD contents and condition.

    I would first recommend confirming what cIOS you have installed at the moment; SysCheck works well for this. Then I would install cIOSx rev20b with an IOS57 base as IOS249, this has been confirmed to work with CoD:BO.

    The game image should not become corrupted by merely changing what cIOS you used, but stranger things have happened. To rule it out, just replace the image with a known good backup. If you have to re-rip or re-download, you may want to check the game image you have with Wiimms' ISO Tools first, might save you some time and hassle.

    One question though, how are you playing your backup? Disc? USB? What loader?

    -[]D
     
  7. Raiser
    OP

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks, I'll give this a go in the morning!

    Sorry, vague on details. USB Loader- USB CFG. Latest rev.
     
  8. djkav

    Newcomer djkav Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm, I've been away from this scene for a while.

    Im still running 4.1e and cIOS 14 on 249 and NeoGamma 8 I think. I remember last using some patch files for getting Super Mario Bros Wii to work.

    So is it better for me to install cIOS 20b on 249 and use Hermes 5.1 to use 224?

    Is WiiFlo better the NeoGamma for compatability, I use a USB drive?
     
  9. Raiser
    OP

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    For the SysCheck thing.. if it's the "running as ___" thing, it's IOS61.

    I ran the installer and chose
    249 > 57 v5918 > 249
    And the installation was successful.

    What do I do with it now? Just run BO under 249 like usual?
    In which case Multi and Zombie still lead to a frozen black screen, the dying black screen occurs, and it freezes after I try to return to the System Menu.

    Also, the cIOSx installer makes it almost 3-4 times longer to load into USB CFG. :\
     
  10. PPSainity

    Member PPSainity Blinded by Science

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    Note that Hermes v5+ and any Waninkoko cIOS installed as IOS250 gets there version number maxed out, this can be misleading and why you should always know what you do or have done to you Wii. We're (I'm) getting off-topic a bit here....
    '
    As far as getting slowdown using Waninkoko's cIOSx rev20b, try using Hermes' v5.1 cIOS 224 with an IOS57 base instead. Confirm that CFG Loader has been set to use the correct IOS after installing Hermes cIOS. You might want to search on COD:BO and multiplayer as many people have had the same issue. There are many thread about the issue, and plenty of things to try.

    -[]D
     
  11. harmor

    Member harmor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Country:
    United States
    You may want to use Dop-Mii to delete the cIOS's and then re-install them via the installers.
     
  12. Raiser
    OP

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    @-[]D

    I'll try and get the revision here once I get back from school. Only 2 hours late. 8-)

    @harmor

    Would doing so affect anything else? Ie homebrew functionality.. or is it like... 100% safe?
    Sorry, starting to get a little skeptical now. Wii hacking = complex. x.x

    Thanks guys!
     

Share This Page