Invalid TV format

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by stev418, Nov 27, 2008.

Nov 27, 2008

Invalid TV format by stev418 at 1:22 PM (2,891 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. stev418
    OP

    Member stev418 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Country:
    Australia
    Just lately ive been getting a few wiiware giving this error "invalid TV format" on a blue screen when trying to region patch some wiiware, I use the wwpacker method of patching, not just freethewads. Does it look like some new region 'locking' in wiiware? anyone else been seeing this?
     
  2. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    your tv doesn't support NTSC or PAL it would seem. if im correct freeing the region doesnt change the video format, just enables your region wii to be able to use it.
     
  3. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
  4. stev418
    OP

    Member stev418 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Country:
    Australia
    yes ive tried video patching the main.dol with various settings, to me it really looks like more region locking somewhere. I have a 40inch sony bravia fullHD, so it can support all formats. The only way I can 'force' it to work is if i set my wii to NTSC via starfall. It's no real problem, but since it the first wiiware ive been unable to region free i was just curious.
     
  5. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    maybe you should report that to forsaken. because he wants to offer region free wad installation within his cSM.
     

Share This Page