internet connection settings

Discussion in 'PS3 - Games & Content' started by baggieman, Oct 21, 2010.

Oct 21, 2010
  1. baggieman
    OP

    Newcomer baggieman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi guys,
    does anyone know how to delete your internet settings (ie my wireless settings @ home) and put a new one on? as i have recently changed my router,if i do a scan it picks it up,i put in the key but just will not connect,what im getting @ is,is it because i still have my old conection setings on board,do i have to do a full formatt,anyways any help by u guys would be much apprecieated,ps my ps3 is running 3.41 phat-thanks guys [​IMG]
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It'll keep track of multiple connections, that's not the issue.

    If the new one is using the same SSID that might cause a problem though. Is it?
     
  3. baggieman
    OP

    Newcomer baggieman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    different ssid matey,when i put the new key in it takes about a minute,then tells me ive put the wrong key in!! and i now i have not,any ideas,i wasd kinda thinkin to reformat or is that to drastic lol [​IMG]
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Are you putting in the key (which is a string of hexadecimal like 09FF3E8DC9 or whatever) or a pass phrase (which is a human-readable password)?
     
  5. baggieman
    OP

    Newcomer baggieman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    password matey but it consists of some numbers
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If it has any letters other than A-F, then it's not the key (which is what you need to put into the PS3 if it doesn't ask you for the phrase).

    Log into your router's settings and find what key the password is turned into.
     
  7. baggieman
    OP

    Newcomer baggieman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok,ill have a look now & get back to u,cheers for ur help so far
     
  8. baggieman
    OP

    Newcomer baggieman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    all done mate, & all my fault,ive been putting a certain part of the pass in wrong,you would understand if i told you what the pass was lol,just another quick question can i put a password upon signing in to my ps3 so none can access the system bar me? cheers [​IMG]
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    No. There's parental controls for game ratings and the web browser, but nothing to stop use of the PS3 itself.
     
  10. baggieman
    OP

    Newcomer baggieman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    gotcha,just a bit worried about someone updating as i use for j/break-thanks anyway matey [​IMG]
     

Share This Page