Interesting way to update the 3DS.

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by eggsample, Aug 2, 2012.

Aug 2, 2012
  1. eggsample
    OP

    Member eggsample punahussy

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Poland
    Yesterday I played with my 3DS, and I found by accident something that probably no one had mentioned.
    Probably most of you know that when you press the right button combination on DSi or DSiXL , you can get touchscreen setup on startup. OK. What about 3DS?

    Press and hold L + R + (dpad) UP + A and press Power once.This combination will get you straight to the update screen. Don't worry, you can cancel it :)

    Another interesting thing is that I set 3D function restricted by parental control. No other options are restricted. While update-startup screen system asked me for the PIN.
    Dou you know other hidden features?
     
    josiascaignard and awssk8er like this.


  2. Skixy

    Member Skixy Fight me.

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,329
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    United States
    No,and thats quite interesting actually..Pretty cool,funny nobody mentioned it though.
     
  3. nukeboy95

    Member nukeboy95 Leave luck to heaven.

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,273
    Location:
    not sure
    Country:
    United States
    idk any 3ds short cuts

    but i do know a dsi/dsi xl shprt cut


    SELECT+the volume will change the brightness
     
  4. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    Does that work on a 3DS in DS mode?
     
  5. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    Tested it on my xl and it worked.
    My biggest question is how the heck did you figure it out?

    It's probably easily do able on the 3DS but on the XL I had to use my teeth to press the power button xD

    EDIT: also after doing a update this way your 3DS will shut down after the update is completed.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. eggsample
    OP

    Member eggsample punahussy

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Poland
    I wasn't sure about that nobody found it.
    How did I figure it out? I was expecting that some button combination will bring different startup screen so I spent 10 minutes on testing, pressing, holding, pushing. I know it sounds stupid but this method worked :)
     
  7. nukeboy95

    Member nukeboy95 Leave luck to heaven.

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,273
    Location:
    not sure
    Country:
    United States
    nope because the 3ds doesn't have buttons for the sound
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Works on the DSi in DS mode, though.
     
  9. AskaLangly

    Newcomer AskaLangly Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, in both DS and DSi Modes. Handy feature, for sure. Just don't use it with a flashcart, where Select changes the list view...
     
  10. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,652
    Country:
    United States
    Huh i dont know why i would ever use parental controls though haha
     
  11. Beldr

    Newcomer Beldr Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    The HELL
    Country:
    Portugal
    There is also a secret option on the 3DS when going to ds wifi settings
    choose 1 and touch to the left up of ur screen a secret menu appears idunno what it doos
     
  12. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Can 'u' show a pic of that? My 3DS is atm @Nintendo for some transfer stuff ^^
     
  13. Beldr

    Newcomer Beldr Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    The HELL
    Country:
    Portugal
    i can make a vid for u and upload it to mediafire sinds i have no yt account
     
  14. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Oh I guess that would even be better! But if you have time for it please make one for us. ^^ Else just take a pic or two and upload them here on this website.(Press your name on the upper right corner and upload your stuff)
     
  15. osm70

    Member osm70 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    731
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Maybe its for brick recovery?
     
    1 person likes this.
  16. aireca

    Member aireca GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    United States
    nice find
     
  17. Beldr

    Newcomer Beldr Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    The HELL
    Country:
    Portugal
    Ow yes, i have some problems with my phone now or ill try it tomorrow :)
     
    1 person likes this.
  18. ferofax

    Member ferofax End of the World

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,564
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    Be glad Nintendo did not make a System Format startup key combo. You could have accidentally formatted your 3DS, lol.

    But now that I think of it, a System Format on boot would be a great contingency measure, in case of a fucked up firmware update that kills the 3DS from booting entirely (you know, messed up OS that just auto-shuts down). This way, you just do a System Format on boot and it skips everything entirely, jumping straight to re-flashing the firmware from some read-only recovery sector or something. In short, brick-proof 3DS.
     
  19. Azure42893

    Newcomer Azure42893 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    No, but if you're in DS mode and press Home, you bring up the window that says save data will be lost, etc etc, right? Hold start and press up/down to adjust brightness and just cancel the return to home.
     
    1 person likes this.
  20. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I didn't realize that the DSi just had buttons. I thought it was a very accurate backlight setting.
     

Share This Page