Gaming Instrument-Compatibility-Matrix

Slimmmmmm

GBAtemp MoNkEeE
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
I've searched for a while on some info about this, but it's sketchy at best.

What instruments work with BOTH set of games.

Now the reason I posted is because I got the original Guitar Hero with a guitar, but that's fubar now, I'm thinking about getting a new one and maybe getting Rock Band games as well. I was going to make some customs, but keep putting it off too.
Just now I have.. Guitar Hero 3, Aerosmith and World Tour and will be getting Metallica too very soon (when I get a new guitar). I probably will get the Rock Band games too (I'm a real life musician, so obsessed). So when I go to get a guitar or two I want them to work with all the games.

I found this site :
http://www.joystiq.com/Instrument-Compatibility-Matrix/

But I don't see any guitar that works with all the games, my son and I used to play a lot together so will most likely get 2 guitars, and it's gonna cost a small fortune. If I need to get 4 guitars in total then my spendings too much to consider drums too (which will be my next big purchase of equipment for the Wii)

From that site my best option is to buy the Guitar Hero 3 Les Paul (with Wiimote) that's the one I had before, but this doesn't work with the first Rock Band game. Seems the best though. (maybe I could just make a custom game for they songs)

So is there any guitar that works with ALL the guitar games ? Or should I just forget about RB1 and go with 2 of them ?
I'm in the UK if that helps, usually I shop at Game or GameStation and they would have that in stock 9 times outta 10. They have them @ £59.99 each, so £120 for two.. thats about $240 ish US.

Sir_Shaggy

Trophies
XP
Country
Canada