Installing WAD files on vWii

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by bjaxx87, Dec 10, 2014.

1. bjaxx87
    OP

bjaxx87 GBAtemp Fan

Jun 17, 2011
    Germany
    Hi there!

Yesterday I received my Wii U and I'm going to softmod the vWii mode.

I already read a lot of guides and noticed a warning not to install ANY kind of WAD file that is meant for the normal Wii because it will cause a brick. They were referring to IOS/cIOS files as well as custom channels and forwarders.

Now I wonder, what about WiiWare and VC games? I still got a collection of games which I installed on my normal Wii back in the day. Are those incompatible with the vWii mode? Do I have to look for special vWii releases of WiiWare and VC games?

Thanks in advance for any help! ;)

2. SuperrSonic

SuperrSonic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Dec 9, 2011
    Puerto Rico
  3. anon3536

anon3536 GBAtemp Regular

Nov 4, 2012
    United States
    from what i was told, please note im not a professional in anyway, the only things that need to be converted before installing would be homebrew forwarders, i havent installed any channels to my vwii but i did install dlc and have not had any issues

4. bjaxx87
    OP

bjaxx87 GBAtemp Fan

Jun 17, 2011
    Germany
    I assume you are talking about this part? (There's an area which is "yellower" than this greenish one ;))

So I guess it's safe as long as it's a good dump? All of them worked on my regular Wii, so I should be good to go. :)

Thanks for the link!

5. steveroo

steveroo GBAtemp Fan

Dec 13, 2010
    Canada
    Oak Bay
    sounds like you could use your wii as a trial for your wii u when installing wiiware games

6. G0R3Z

G0R3Z Just Can't Be Bothered

Aug 12, 2014