Installing CFW in Nintendo 2DS (10.6 original)

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by kambiz96, Mar 3, 2016.

1. kambiz96
    OP

kambiz96 Newbie

Newcomer
    Mar 3, 2016
    I have a Nintendo 2DS without CFW or any dump nand etc. it has 10.6 (I updated because i'm some kind of retard) and I'm new in that scene world. I have understood that now the only way to install a CFW with original 10.6 is downgrading with hardmod to 10.3 and then downgrading by softmod to 9.2. I have experience in Xbox 360 scene and I flashed a couple of those fat boys. I don't mind to do it by hardmod so would you recommend to wait or downgrade my Nintendo 2DS now?

this is my first message so thanks to all in this great community.

PD: Sorry if I have something wrong, English is not my mother tongue.

2. Xeology

Xeology GBAtemp Regular

Jul 24, 2010
    United States
    Keansburg, NJ
    To my knowledge you need a NAND backup to do that hardmod as you are flashing the chip with a copy of the NAND and that NAND MUST be yours. I may be wrong, but I am almost 100% positive this is the case. However, you may be in luck, it sounds like someone found a flaw in part of the encryption system of 10.6 (XOR, again XD) that may allow new code to be injected. Just hold tight and do not update.

3. Arubaro

Arubaro Soulspace Guardian

Sep 4, 2015
    The only backup you need when downgrading via hardmod is the one you dump on 10.6.

4. DeslotlCL

DeslotlCL GBAtemp's Saint Holy Sword Dragon

Oct 28, 2015
    Chile
    under your bed
    you dont need your nand dump to downgrade to 10.2 with a hard mod as far as i know, im trying to find that thread that has a complete explanation about it and how to do it.

I figured out you need a nand dump, but it can be done in the current firmware you are with a hardmod, just follow this if you want to go ahead https://gbatemp.net/threads/wip-har...of-native_firm-from-10-4-10-5-to-10-2.412836/

Last edited by DeslotlCL, Mar 3, 2016