Hacking Question Installing android to EMMC?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Qubarf

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2018
Messages
239
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
967
Country
Pakistan
So installing android to EMMC should be pretty simple, has anybody tried to do it yet?
If so, please assist.
Please no useless posts like "it's stupid" etc, if you think it is then please just calmly move on :).

Thanks GBAtemp
 

Techjunky90

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2017
Messages
487
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
882
Country
United States
Would be cool for us people banned by Nintendo to be able to dual boot horizon & android from emmc
 

ghjfdtg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
1,370
Trophies
1
XP
3,319
Country
Well, just use your phone/tablet? There you have your eMMC Android. Really if you want Android exclusively you should have bought a shield.
 

regnad

Button Masher
Member
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
2,520
Trophies
1
Age
53
XP
3,705
Country
Japan
Well, just use your phone/tablet? There you have your eMMC Android. Really if you want Android exclusively you should have bought a shield.

That’s how I feel about people who want to emulate SNES and GBA on Switch! If you want to play those, just buy the consoles, amirite?
 
  • Like
Reactions: polki

DSoryu

GBA/NDS Maniac
Member
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
2,373
Trophies
2
Location
In my house
XP
4,825
Country
Mexico
No because is stupid. (Ok I'm joking :P)

It could be done yes, but is very risky for the end user, as it may touch important stuff, and add to that the Android nature of partitioning, so there's always a brickwave of noobs that have zero knowledge regarding this. Trust me, always happens, even when they have noob friendly tutorials, so I see why the developers decided to flash the image in the SD card rather than other options.
 

legion700

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 2, 2019
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
153
Country
China
You may need to write the image directly to your EMMC,then modifiy the payload.
Or,edit EMMC's partition table,you may find a way to make a partition to write the image then delete the partition table within the image,and modifiy payload.
Just some guess.
 

Qubarf

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2018
Messages
239
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
967
Country
Pakistan
Well, we would need a custom hekate fork and way to flash nand (memloader?)
 

NoNAND

Give me back my legions!
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,274
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
XP
5,065
Country
Albania
Touching the Switches NAND would be a very bad idea to do so, given the fact that most ported OSes are quite buggy in this current state.
I'm not saying it's impossible and not feasible to do. Sometime in the future when the switch scene has further matured we might see OS dual booting but with a small 32GB is eMMC everything would run short of storage pretty quick. Not to mention how using something that writes to the NAND could mess up things and turn them haywire.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Deleted User

Techjunky90

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2017
Messages
487
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
882
Country
United States
Touching the Switches NAND would be a very bad idea to do so, given the fact that most ported OSes are quite buggy in this current state.
I'm not saying it's impossible and not feasible to do. Sometime in the future when the switch scene has further matured we might see OS dual booting but with a small 32GB is eMMC everything would run short of storage pretty quick. Not to mention how using something that writes to the NAND could mess up things and turn them haywire.
Nothing would run short of storage.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

barnhilltrckn

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
90
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
675
Country
United States
This would be great for us who have upgraded our internal emmc modules. I have a spare 32gb module sitting here that would be great for installing Android on.
 

KnightRiderX420

The Anigmatic Anomoly
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
151
Trophies
0
Age
47
Location
U.S.A.
Website
www.beyondwindows10.com
XP
688
Country
United States
now that hekate has a better interface, i have a 128gb msd card and know how to make a emmunand. can 1 sd card be used for both android and cfw horizon with a boot selector for the os? now that i have iptv i wanna use vlc, theres alot of rumors about both but havent still seen any .nro or python development of either. i can use both in lineage os and want a quick switch. i can get an even bigger msd card thats not the issue but atm i have a 128 gb and i know based on latest vids from sandisk they even now have a real 1tb msd card its super expensive but if i got it it wouuld work and i'd be big pimpin... :)
 

Qubarf

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2018
Messages
239
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
967
Country
Pakistan
Apparently all you have to change is boot.scr? I personally feel it would be practical but unfortunately lack the technical skills to make it happen maybe Gavin_Darkglider, Bylaws or LangerHans would like to chime in?
 
  • Like
Reactions: polonyali
Status
Not open for further replies.

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I thought I saw a puttie snatch...
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I'm so pumped, NCAA football video game is back after a 10 year hiatus, coming to SeriesS/X, PS5 in July.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Wish they would let us play the NCAA football 14 on newer xbox, its one of the only games I love and own on disc still, that is not back compatible, bs.
  • AdenTheThird @ AdenTheThird:
    @BigOnYa My dad recently bought a spare Series X off of me, got game pass, and saw Madden '24 on Game Pass, decided to try it out.

    ...He was a bit taken aback by the 60GB download size. Poor guy's still living in the 90s!
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @AdenTheThird, Bro's still in the PS2 age.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Lol charging your dad's classic unless he's the type that doesn't like taking things like that
  • AdenTheThird @ AdenTheThird:
    @K3Nv2 He was looking into consoles for his house anyway (for my younger siblings and himself) and I had a spare XSX and Switch I ended up selling him at pretty steep cuts. I would just give them to him, but I did buy them with the intent to sell them... and college is super expensive.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    A little yeah...
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, [insert wut here]
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I'm a little hi, but bout to fix that.
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Now I'm low, i was upstairs in my wifeys kitchen, now I'm downstairs in my dungeon.(My basement)
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    do you mind? i snuck in with amiibo and jars, and am trying to do my thing brony style
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    have you ever regretted saying something immediately after saying it?
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    nah what i was doing was trying to cure my ever-so-apparent crabs
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ,
    my younger brother is forcing me to play with him and my cousins are here *sigh*
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    @SylverReZ that Hack a hacked 360 vid was neat, never knew it existed.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @BigOnYa, I thought it was interesting.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    nvm this video is clickbait
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: nvm this video is clickbait