Homebrew Injecting roms into VC? With only the web browser? Sure.

shutterbug2000

Cubic NINJHAX!
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2014
Messages
1,088
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
4,878
Country
United States
*Can't tell if trolling, or real*

1/25/2015 18:10:45 Super Mario Land 2 Super Mario All-Stars (SNES Games Works) Yes(google forms submission)​
 

Xuman

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
407
Trophies
0
XP
980
Country
United States
I would, but I'm working on something another user suggested: Try loading code over an actual game, see what happens.

Not abandoning this, don't worry, just looking into this, because it could be a whole world of possibilities.

Doesn't Work. Crashes.
 

Xuman

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
407
Trophies
0
XP
980
Country
United States
Correct me if im wrong, but there isn't a game bigger than 512kb on the eshop correct? I do know that Donkey Kong Land 3 is bigger than sml2, but its still 512kb. If there is a bigger game on the eshop (or if someone has DKL3) Id suggest using that to test things. I'd get it myself, but i lack the funds to get a $10 card currently (Darn rent). I'll keep testing what I have, and if someone DOES know how to make a multi-rom loader/selecter that'd REALLY be great.
 

TheLittlestBowl

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2013
Messages
119
Trophies
0
XP
1,093
Country
Canada
Correct me if im wrong, but there isn't a game bigger than 512kb on the eshop correct? I do know that Donkey Kong Land 3 is bigger than sml2, but its still 512kb. If there is a bigger game on the eshop (or if someone has DKL3) Id suggest using that to test things. I'd get it myself, but i lack the funds to get a $10 card currently (Darn rent). I'll keep testing what I have, and if someone DOES know how to make a multi-rom loader/selecter that'd REALLY be great.


Wario Land II is 1mb. Rayman, Shantae, and Xtreme Sports are 4mb GBC games.
 

Xuman

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
407
Trophies
0
XP
980
Country
United States
Yea, sorry. I didn't know there was a GBC version of Wario Land II until after I posted that. The biggest GB game is 512kb in that case.

Darn, well that ruins putting Pokemon Red in something, the GBC injection currently works with Zelda DX (I Think?) with the other code.bin. I'll keep testing and correcting myself then.
 

Shubshub

The Shubinator
Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2009
Messages
1,064
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
The dark part of your house
XP
2,570
Country
New Zealand
I would, but I'm working on something another user suggested: Try loading code over an actual game, see what happens.

Not abandoning this, don't worry, just looking into this, because it could be a whole world of possibilities.

Any luck with getting Code for Actual Games to work yet? I am very interested in your work :)
 

shutterbug2000

Cubic NINJHAX!
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2014
Messages
1,088
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
4,878
Country
United States
Any luck with getting Code for Actual Games to work yet? I am very interested in your work :)


Haven't really been working on that. I would love to have it myself, but here's my concern: piracy. What's going to stop someone from just injecting a full, commercial game into the memory? Nothing. So, I've just been focusing on vc for now.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Codename

Shubshub

The Shubinator
Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2009
Messages
1,064
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
The dark part of your house
XP
2,570
Country
New Zealand
Haven't really been working on that. I would love to have it myself, but here's my concern: piracy. What's going to stop someone from just injecting a full, commercial game into the memory? Nothing. So, I've just been focusing on vc for now.

Well I am still patiently waiting for the ability to inject GBC Roms :) any luck on that yet? I'd be glad to test it out
 

shutterbug2000

Cubic NINJHAX!
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2014
Messages
1,088
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
4,878
Country
United States
Well I am still patiently waiting for the ability to inject GBC Roms :) any luck on that yet? I'd be glad to test it out

I'm currently working on an idea to do that.

For those who know a lot about GB, you'll probably know that EVERY cartridge/rom has the nintendo logo in its data. At a fixed location. So, by doing a technique similar to the pokemon injection box find, I should be able to find the address to inject too... Right? Well, It doesn't seem to be working.

Code:

Code:
    int i;
    int offset = 0;
    int j;
    addr = 0x16800000;
    GSPGPU_FlushDataCache(addr, 0x10000);
    GX_SetTextureCopy(addr, buf, 0x10000, 0, 0, 0, 0, 8);
    GSPGPU_FlushDataCache(buf, 0x10000);
    svcSleepThread (0x400000LL);
 
    for(i = 0; i < 0x4000; i++){
 
    if(buf[i] == 0x0000CEED){ // start of logo data
    offset = addr + ((i - 4) * 4);
    IFile_Open(this, L"dmc:/rom.nes", 0x1);
    *((int *)this + 1) = 0x00000000; //Fseek to 0
 
    if(offset != 0){
        for(j = offset; j < (offset + 0x100000); j += 0x10000){
                IFile_Read(this, read_len, buf, 0x10000);
                GSPGPU_FlushDataCache(buf, 0x10000);
                GX_SetTextureCopy(buf, j, 0x10000, 0, 0, 0, 0, 8);
                GSPGPU_FlushDataCache(j, 0x10000);
                //flashes mostly black screen on the bottom screen for a few frames, this is so i know the program is running and not frozen
                GSPGPU_FlushDataCache(0x18000000, 0x00038400);
                GX_SetTextureCopy(0x18000000, 0x1F48F000, 0x00038400, 0, 0, 0, 0, 8);
                svcSleepThread(0x400000LL);
                GSPGPU_FlushDataCache(0x18000000, 0x00038400);
                GX_SetTextureCopy(0x18000000, 0x1F4C7800, 0x00038400, 0, 0, 0, 0, 8);
                svcSleepThread(0x400000LL);
                }
                }
    return 0;
 
    }
 
    }
 

Shubshub

The Shubinator
Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2009
Messages
1,064
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
The dark part of your house
XP
2,570
Country
New Zealand
I'm currently working on an idea to do that.

For those who know a lot about GB, you'll probably know that EVERY cartridge/rom has the nintendo logo in its data. At a fixed location. So, by doing a technique similar to the pokemon injection box find, I should be able to find the address to inject too... Right? Well, It doesn't seem to be working.

Code:

Code:
  -snip-

If your looking to name the VC Inject exploit you are doing, I came up with a few :P

ShutterSmash
VCject
ShutterJect
Shutter Console
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://youtube.com/shorts/fRENPoVaZHk?si=0xgCyaSVzuc5GD5F