....im tired of searching

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by brokenballa, Jul 11, 2009.

Jul 11, 2009

....im tired of searching by brokenballa at 10:36 PM (1,578 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. brokenballa
    OP

    Newcomer brokenballa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    ok so it would be great if someone could tell me how to upgrade my cios to play usb back-ups ive searched for about 2 hours now but i cant find shit

    whenever i try to load coverflow it says i ciosupgrade required it says i have rev 7

    tldr version: how the hell do i upgrade cios?
     


  2. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just download whatever version you want, and install via wad manager. It overwrites existing version, no clash. Or if you have internet on wii you can do it via hbc updaters
     
  3. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    2 hours? you must not be looking on the internet then i guess.

    Just google waninkoko blog and look at his blog and find cios rev10 or rev12.Download it rename the file to boot.dol and run the app in the homebrew channel.

    There is a rev13 and rev13b but those are pretty buggy right now.Rev10 and Rev12 seem the most stable.
     
  4. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I agree about the 10 and 12 thing. After trying several loaders and cios's they are the most stable
     
  5. brokenballa
    OP

    Newcomer brokenballa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    well my hbc upgraded yesterday but i still cant load

    how do i know what cios i have?
     
  6. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    your opening post says you have cios rev7?
     
  7. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    just update to 10 or 12.It will overwrite the previous one you had.

    Also all usb loaders require rev9 or higher to work.You only have 7
     
  8. brokenballa
    OP

    Newcomer brokenballa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    the problem is i have no idea how to update my cios or where to download it at.
     
  9. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
  10. brokenballa
    OP

    Newcomer brokenballa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    but when i go to wad manager it ask me what ios i use but there isnt a seven on there
     
  11. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States

    Download the one you want.

    If your dont have wifi on your wii you will need the wad file of the ios file the cios uses.Either 36 or 38.
    Most cios installer downloads will come with the wad file as well.

    Download the cios you want either 10 or 12.

    Rename the file it downloads to boot.dol if its not already called boot.dol

    Most time its called ciosrev12installer.dol or ciosrev10installer.dol ext

    Just rename it to boot.dol

    Make a new folder called ciosrev12installer or ciosrev10installer based on the one you downloaded.

    Place the boot.dol file inside the new folder you just made.

    Put that folder inside your apps folder on your sd.

    If you dont have an apps folder on your sd card just make one but you should already have it.

    Load up the homebrew channel and select ciosrev12 or ciosrev10installer and hit load.

    When it asks what iso to use pick 249 also pick network install when it asks if you have wifi on your wii.

    If you dont have wifi then the wad file you downloaded will need to go on the root of the sd card.
     
  12. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    a seven? why the heck are you looking for a 7? just use the default one it starts at.


    EDIT : ohhh, lol, because you are at cios rev 7...all cios installs as IOS 249, regardless of version number, lol.


    its not asking which one you have installed right now, its asking which ios to use to install it to 249.

    just use the one it starts at (default one)
     
  13. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States

    pick 249
     
  14. brokenballa
    OP

    Newcomer brokenballa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    alright thanks thats worked but my usb drive still wont load lol

    i have my external drive partitioned in 2 250 gb halves one is ntfs and the other is wbfs or whatever the wii format is will that work? also it is on the compatibility list
     
  15. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    if you are using rev13 or 12, it has to be plugged into the bottom usb port (if you wii was flat it would be the bottom one.
     
  16. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    With rev12 the usb cord needs to be in a certain usb port on the wii.

    Try switching the ports.If you only have one usb cord for your drive then just flip it.If you have two usb cords( a usb Y cable) then just flip them.

    If that doesnt solve the issue some drives will not be detected unless the hard drive is turned on after the wii has been turned on.


    What kind of drive do you have?
     
  17. brokenballa
    OP

    Newcomer brokenballa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    it reconizes it but it says it needs formatted but i know its formatted with wbfs manager

    but it also has a ntfs patition on it also

    @icpmattj

    is a 500gb wd my book
     
  18. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Hows the drive partitioned?
    1st partition is?
    2nd partition is?

    wbfs needs to be the 2nd partition.
     
  19. brokenballa
    OP

    Newcomer brokenballa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    when i look at my mybook in disk management it the one on the right hand side and its the second one i created so im pretty sure wbfs is the second partition

    so to answer your question 1st = ntfs 2nd = wbfs
     
  20. brokenballa
    OP

    Newcomer brokenballa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    well it must be the way its formatted because i tried my thumbdrive and it works fine with it
     

Share This Page