Former Staff
Trophies
Website
www.facebook.com
XP
Country
United States
nosmorking.png

So I need to quit smoking. I'm not getting any younger over here and need to start taking better care of myself. I've been smoking regularly for almost 30 years. I've managed to quit for a year a few years back, but got started again. It's a hard habit to kick, but I've got some pills called Chantix that I've tried before, and they helped then, but I really wasn't ready to quit, so I ultimately failed. This time it's for keeps though.

I've got kids who are old enough to know it's bad for me, and though I keep the smoke away from them, they do see me do it, and at some point I worry they'll think it's OK to do it themselves. Also, I'm a single parent who started parenting late, so I need to hedge my bets and try to stay alive long enough to get them out and on their own.

Apart from the obvious incentives stated above, I'm also putting in place another incentive. Our family is driving a 2000 car. It's been in a wreck (front end) and was supposedly fixed up ok, but I recently lost control and came pretty close to flipping it. It may not be the front end's fault, but since then it's made me nervous. I'd like for our family to get a new car, and I realized when I did the math on how much smoking is costing me, that I could easily do a monthly car payment with the money I'd save by not buying cigarettes. Basically I'm paying around $300 a month on something that's shortening my life. I think that money can be better spent on one of these:
greencube.png

2009 Nissan Cube
So, hey, wish me luck. I really think I can do it this time!

Toni Plutonij

*has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!
Former Staff
Trophies
XP
Country
Croatia
yay.gif
Good choice mthr!

I really hope you'll pull it off..My girlfriend was a smoker for 4 years (at the age of 16), and it's been hard to quit for her, so I can only imagine how hard it's for you!

You're a strong character, you can do it!