Hacking I'm a 50 year old struggling newbie!

evets

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Up until last week I've been running my back ups of disc beautifully. Last week my daughter brought her sports resort disc down and it has updated my wii menu to 3.4 from 3.3. I'm currently trying to load a properley formatted wfbs drive but every time i try to update the cios version it errors nd i can't get any usb loader to recognize my drive and mount it. Any help/dvice would be welcome. PS i dont have anetwork connection so I have to do wad installs. Also i'm not a computer programmer so it doesn't all make sense to me straight away.

G0dLiKe

who needs a title ;)
Trophies
Website
db.tt
XP
Country
United States
Sure, just update to 4.1(no need to be on 3.ish today) via official Nintendo update function and softmod your Wii from there.

You find superb guides here on the site, I recommend xzxeros guide here: Simplistic mod by xzxero

This is by far the best and easiest to understand guide ATM.

xzxero

♥bong milk does good for the brain♥
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
Yeah man, your 50, make us proud by following simple directions!
and let us know your results :]

kLiNiKaL

Dr. Greenthumb
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Jamaica
dude if anyone cant follow your guide i think its time to put both there computer, Wii and maybe there brain on craigslist cause they obviously have no use for them
biggrin.gif

senkun

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Hello 50 year old struggling newbie,

Don't let the kids faze ya! If any of us are lucky enough to live to see 50, I for one would sure hope to be like you... still gaming on!

And I would also hope that GBAtemp will still be around if I need help modding my Wii-X and PS-7 whatever.

Oh and yea, think of this as a blessing in disguise, no need to stay on 3.3. Update to 4.1 and follow xzxero's excellent guide to get your Wii up to date.

It's stickied up there but here's the link anyways: xzxero's guide