I was able to change the title

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Gilberd, May 5, 2010.

May 5, 2010

I was able to change the title by Gilberd at 7:43 AM (1,286 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Gilberd
    OP

    Member Gilberd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Taiwan
    The files for the title were in the game data so I just had to change the names of the files
    however the background/border for the title i am having trouble with
    the files for it were in the game data too however
    whenever I replace the title border/background file and try to load the game it crashes
    when it tries to load the title
    the title files were .cg and .cl while the background/border for the title was .narc
     
  2. rastsan

    Member rastsan 8 baller, Death Wizard

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    okay they were talking about there previous posted topic where they asked someone to change the image in a title screen (even posted an email address along with an image to upload and put in for them) pretty much asking to upload a rom for them advance wars dark conflict - changing the title screen - either to the japanese one or to change something - edit the image in there to something else -I don't know they never answered me back either way big time against the rules uploading thing and no use of the SEARCH button

    so the reason you are having trouble with the .narc file is it is compressed and you will need something called the narc tool to fiddle with that file...
    try to keep posts relating to each other together okay
    you started a thread for this already, just post in it okay
    and do yourself a favor lookup (type into google search pane) nds rom image editing or tile editors nds or just anything you would like to know more about... I'm still confused as though do you want the japanese title screen in the eu or u version (why?)
    or do you want to change it to your own custom screen?

    cause to change the eu u version screen to the japanese one is as easy as replacing the files from the eu u version with the ones from the japanese version no image editing involved just copy paste and replace or name change and replace...
    oh vay
     
  3. Gilberd
    OP

    Member Gilberd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Taiwan
    I renamed the title from the european title to the japanese one
    however there is still a problem
    in the image I uploaded you can see that there is a border along the title right
    well the border for the european version is still on the screen with the japanese title
    and the european border is much bigger
    so I renamed the border for the japanese version and the borders are in .NARC format so that it would load it
    However whenever it tries to load the title screen it just goes black
    and I tried to rename the USA version but that also goes black
    is there something specific in the european border that allows it to load?
     
  4. rastsan

    Member rastsan 8 baller, Death Wizard

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Well time to get yourself narctool and pry open those .narc's of yours and also time to do a file compare and see what exactly is different about those files
    Is your uploaded image different from the orginal japanese title screen
    It might be easier to rip the japanese screen and edit it keeping the narc from it if it doesn't need that much editing

    (I haven't actually taken a look into this - I will tomorrow I gottta go to work in an hour)

    But if it is working with one border it just doesn't look the way you want...
    uh, I'll take alook tomorrow
     
  5. Gilberd
    OP

    Member Gilberd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Taiwan
    i am using the original japanese title and border from the game data
    however dark confilct had an unfinished version of the title so i downloaded days of ruin to get the finished version
    the picture i posted was an image of the japanese title i had found somewhere
    also just to be clear the border is the white glowing thing behind the title
    title: no problem
    border: black screen
    use narc tool to fix this?
    link to image:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/382498379/FWDS2.jpg.html
    image says Famicom Wars DS Ushinawareta Hikari(The Lost Light)
     
  6. rastsan

    Member rastsan 8 baller, Death Wizard

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    I will need offset for where the image goes in and the settings for viewing the image please
     
  7. Gilberd
    OP

    Member Gilberd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Taiwan
    i am not trying to get the .jpg into the game
    the title and border are already in the game data so i renamed them
    however jpn border renamed to eur makes screen go black
    the border files both are .narc
    http://rapidshare.com/files/384370033/title_sub.rar.html
    title files in case you need them
    http://rapidshare.com/files/384370623/title.rar.html
    rename the title_jpn.cg and .cl to title_noe.cg and .cl to get the game to load the japanese title
    i renamed BG_title_sub_jpn.narc to BG_title_sub_noe.narc but when the game loads the title it goes black
    the image is just to show what I want the end product to look like
    if you are to try this do on Europe/dark conflict version
     
  8. Gilberd
    OP

    Member Gilberd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Taiwan
    ? what do you mean?

    Posts merged

    i am not trying to get the .jpg into the game
    the title and border are already in the game data so i renamed them
    however jpn border renamed to eur makes screen go black
    the border files both are .narc
    http://rapidshare.com/files/384370033/title_sub.rar.html
    title files in case you need them
    http://rapidshare.com/files/384370623/title.rar.html
    rename the title_jpn.cg and .cl to title_noe.cg and .cl to get the game to load the japanese title
    i renamed BG_title_sub_jpn.narc to BG_title_sub_noe.narc but when the game loads the title it goes black
    the image is just to show what I want the end product to look like
    if you are to try this do on Europe/dark conflict version
     
  9. rastsan

    Member rastsan 8 baller, Death Wizard

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Well now that i have looked into this. Ihave no idea what the problem is
    I was hoping I could just insert an image and thats that but...
    okay calling out to any more experienced hackers out there, this is beyond me, please help?
     
  10. Gilberd
    OP

    Member Gilberd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Taiwan
    i put a new topic asking for experienced hackers
     

Share This Page