I recently reaquired Beatmania

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by Lost Racer, Aug 13, 2008.

Aug 13, 2008
  1. Lost Racer
    OP

    Newcomer Lost Racer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Well I finally found a Beatmania set for my PS1 again. It came with the orignal discs plus the 3rd and 5th append mixes and the Gotta Remix disc as well. The original game works fine. Unfortunately the 3rd append plus any later will not work on US modded ps1's. Does anyone know a way around this? I'd really like to try the other discs.

    Thanks
     
  2. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    using the swap disk original for copy approach may work [​IMG] (loads of guides on google etc)

    or a proper swap disk if you can get hold of one [​IMG]
     
  3. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,101
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why don't work?. Just the standard modchip detected etc ,or something else?. If it's just modchip detected , see if you can find patches for them to get rid of it , if not , then I'd just rip the chip out and fit a stealth mod. Code for them can be found on the net or they can be bought pretty cheap.
     
  4. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It could also just need a pal > ntsc patch and reburn [​IMG]
     
  5. Lost Racer
    OP

    Newcomer Lost Racer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    It was a ModChip detected stop. NTSC-Jto NTSC wouldn't it be?

    Its quite a bit old. I'll have to open the ps to see what chip it is. I found codes for a gameshark bypass. But that means I now I have to find a game shark..lol.
     
  6. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    try PAL > NTSC NTSC > PAL patcher ZAPPER 2000 patcher [​IMG]

    image your disk and try patching the image file to pal or ntsc and see if it works [​IMG]
     
  7. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,101
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How exactly is patching the video mode going to get rid of the modchip detection?. Only thing that gets rid of that are patches designed to do so , GS/AR codes or using a stealth mod. Patching the video mode won't do a damn thing to the anti-mod protection.

    I swear you people just post the first random piece of crap that comes into your head.
     
  8. Lost Racer
    OP

    Newcomer Lost Racer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Settle down. [​IMG] Thanks. I found anti mod patches for the 5th append Mix and Gotta Remix. Still nothing on the 3rd. I was hoping I wouldn't have to image the discs. But I guess thats what it comes down to? IMG, patch and then burn?
     
  9. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,101
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm not sure if there is one for the 3rd , I had a quick look earlier and couldn't see any. As for the patch , yes , just image the disc , patch it and burn. Jobs done [​IMG].
     
  10. Lost Racer
    OP

    Newcomer Lost Racer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you. Any new info is always welcome as well [​IMG]
     
  11. Tenkaichi

    Member Tenkaichi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    IL
    Country:
    United States
    Stealth mod should work for everything later, I remember having 3rd, 5th, Club Mix and Best Hits and those worked. Used to have two modded ps1s but like you said, it's rather old (and needs to be turned upside down or on its side depending on which one it is) [​IMG]
     
  12. Lost Racer
    OP

    Newcomer Lost Racer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    So I got the 3rd mix to work. I can't get the patch for "Gotta Mix" to work. Then I couldn't find anything for the 5th mix. Still looking. Thanks again.
     
  13. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,101
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Might not be a patch for the 5th one. Pretty sure there are odd games here and there that never got patches. I'd just get stealth mod and be done with it ,they're only 8 wires and can picked up cheap enough or programmed yourself.
     
  14. Lost Racer
    OP

    Newcomer Lost Racer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    I looked into that. Thank you for info guys.
     
  15. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    If you have trouble running off the console, try using PC emulators? PSX emulators' performances are great, you just need a PS to USB adapter.

    I play my IIDX on PC even though I have PS2 versions.
     
  16. Tenkaichi

    Member Tenkaichi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    IL
    Country:
    United States
    Which emu do you (personally) use for IIDX in particular?
     
  17. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    he said it worked but was black and white to me this is regional issues not being able to force the AV channel on the TV!

    hence the PAL > NTSC / NTSC > PAL patching fixes this issue!

    for protected PS1 disks you must ... Use ALCOHOL 120% to read the original using PSX/PS1 SETTINGS and then burn using same settings ... the protection is in the SUBCHANNEL DATA!

    the trick is to read it as a whole including SUBCHANNEL DATA and when you reburn to NOT REPAIR SUB CHANNEL DATA!

    or use CLONE CD and again DO NOT REPAIR SUBCHANNEL DATA [​IMG]
     

Share This Page