PS1/2 I need help identifying my PlayStation 2 Mod chip (pics included)

iHumzah

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Hi

Like the tile says I need some help identifying the mod chip in my PlayStation 2. I've been using it for 5 years without even knowing what make it is. It can boot up ps2 game without button combinations.

The reason I want to know what mod chip it is, is because my ps2 laser has gotten really bad now. For some games I spend 10-15 minutes pressing reset to finally get the game to work. I am interested in booting my games from a HDD. I am about to invest in a network adapter and IDE HDD. I researched methods on how to boot the Hard drive loader and I found out that for mod chips you can boot external software using button combos (to get into a developer or boot? Menu).

So could someone please identify my mod chip and tell me if I will be able to boot external software.
image.jpg
image.jpg

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Trophies
XP
Country
Tuvalu
You are better off getting IDE HDD/Network adapter and Free MC Boot.
did you read anything he said? he wants to load games from a hard drive, but he doesn't know if he will be able to like, load the software from a disk due to his modchip.
the answer is yes :) doesn't matter what modchip you have, pretty sure. still, sorry, i'm not sure what modchip you have :)
then yes, either copy fhdb to the hard drive from your pc, which means you don't need to load any disk to set this up, or, you could load the software from a disk, via your modchip.
anyway, it's possible, find some guides to do what you want :)

Reactions: iHumzah and migles

migles

All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
Trophies
XP
Country
China
all info i could find, i did a google search about dvd 9 ps2 chip i found 1 picture then used google image search on that picture which did get me just about 5 websites or something...

heres the info i had found: http://www.asia.ru/en/ProductInfo/1004730.html