I just got a new Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Phratt, Jan 18, 2009.

Jan 18, 2009

I just got a new Wii by Phratt at 3:34 PM (926 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Phratt
    OP

    Member Phratt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    541
    Country:
    United States
    And I want to downgrade again, but I need to know the steps to do this, in a good order.

    Do I downgrade to 3.2u first asnd then use CIOSCORP? Or do I downgrade, download preloader, then do CIOSCORP.

    Also, is there any brick potential I should know about? As I bricked my last one and am not fitting on brickin this one also.
     
  2. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    Everything you do on a wii with regards to hacking can potentially brick it.

    You use everything at your own risk - i have a guide to getting downgrading , HBC and backuploader onto your wii, but i wont be doing a guide for cioscorp or backuploader due to the risks involved.

    They are great , but people need to do that themselves.
     
  3. Phratt
    OP

    Member Phratt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    541
    Country:
    United States

    Oh no, i know the risks. Im not dumb, I bricked it the last time with a inject that was supposed to work.

    Anyways, I just want to know teh saftey steps to installing preloader and cioscorp, so I don't do something you're not supposed to do while installing.
     
  4. 20clarky08

    Member 20clarky08 Official Wii Freak

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    ScouseLand
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    tbh mate CORP aint for everybody...but if your willing to take the risks ya should have over to the System Menu thread and get reading, will sink in alot better than someone spoonfeedin it to ya...

    i've gone for Starfall and CORP myself, am waiting for cSM to be honest..
     
  5. Jdbye

    Suspended Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    Injected WAD? That's easy to fix with AnyTitle Remover.
     
  6. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    i installed preloader and corrupted my system menu - semi brick , though preloader itself got me out of the mess. I got a new system32.wad and installed it and it sorted itself out.

    They are programs to be careful of - any of the ones in my sig have proven themselves to be ok solid and working - so i wont go with anything else for now.
     
  7. Phratt
    OP

    Member Phratt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    541
    Country:
    United States
    Accidently uninstalled TH though, so I couldn't get to it in starfall.

    Anyways, I remember someone told me install one cIOS before the anything else to make sure it will work, but I forgot which cIOS it was. Does anyone know?
     
  8. Phratt
    OP

    Member Phratt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    541
    Country:
    United States
    but If im correct, that was cause you weren't on 3.2u right? If you were on 3.2u, then tell me cause I'll won't install it, lol.
     
  9. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    If your old Wii is on 3.2 you can buy a ModChip and download or create and autoboot AnyTD then you can fix your problem.

    for the steps on how to doing, there ain't no safe steps, that's why all te apps says: "do it at your own risk", but I would Downgrade to 3.2, install Starfall or Preloader, CIOSCORP at the end (cIOS30 the last one to install), but that is only me, if you do it like this and get bricked I'll be glad to know that I was wrong [​IMG]
     
  10. Phratt
    OP

    Member Phratt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    541
    Country:
    United States

    Yeah, I was planning doing it in that order.

    Oh, and if I install starfall, can I install preloader after? Does It overwrite starfall or something?

    And I got a fulkl refund for my old wii, I don't have money like that to be just buying modchips and stuff, lol.
     
  11. Phratt
    OP

    Member Phratt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    541
    Country:
    United States
    If I install starfall, and do CIOSCORP, would I still be able to load starfall?

    I mean like, if something went wrong, could I still use it?

    Or in Homebrew terms, what IOS does starfall run on, if any?
     
  12. Phratt
    OP

    Member Phratt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    541
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for triple posting, but I just wanted to announce, that my Wii is officially cIOSCORP'd.

    PM me if you want the files. There shouldn't be a problem if you have the right files and are in 3.2u.
     

Share This Page