GCN I have some questions about SD Gecko

Luigifan159

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Apr 28, 2012
Messages
3
Trophies
0
XP
113
Country
United States
new here and i have some questions about the sd gecko for gamecube. I want to play some iso backups of games that i own. I know of someone willing to sell me their sd gecko. I always
understood that the sd gecko doesn't do anything on the gamecube unless you have a loader disc like an Action Replay. This person is telling me that their sd gecko has all boot loader software installed and that there is no need for a disc. He says that he uses it without a disc and never needed one. Is he correct and i heard wrong? Or am i correct and he is probably lying?
 

goemon_guy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
117
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Canada
XP
909
Country
Canada
The SD Gecko is essentially useless without a method to run Homebrew. In other words, this person is likely lying to you.

Some alternatives you have are:
-Find an older Action Replay, (1.14b or less) and use SDLOAD, (a Gamecube Homebrew Launcher built into an AR Code) and buy the SD Gecko from this guy.
-Buy a Datel SD Media Launcher from Codejunkies and pop the disc into your drive, and use an SD Gecko to load a Homebrew app.
-Get a modchip. (Requires Soldering and other lengthy tasks.)
 

Luigifan159

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Apr 28, 2012
Messages
3
Trophies
0
XP
113
Country
United States
Well he actually showed me yesterday and it worked.
Is is possible that he may have another type of SD Loader thats not SD Gecko?
Maybe he just calls it SD Gecko but it might be something else.

He didn't use any modchip or disc loader.
He just put in this memory card and started up the gamecube and SDLoad started.
He had a bunch of emulators and stuff to play GC Iso all ready for use.
 

goemon_guy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
117
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Canada
XP
909
Country
Canada
As far as I know, that wouldn't work, as you REQUIRE a loader of some sort to read from the SD Gecko.

You say you saw a video, correct? He booted up his cube and it loaded SDLoad? That sounds suspiciously like a modchip...
There are no SD Gecko revisions that can simply boot homebrew without a loader.

Is it possible to link us to the video he showed you?
 

Ziggy1

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 25, 2012
Messages
1
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
Canada
I have a similar Question! I have SD gecko which I'm trying to run on my Gamecube. I have Action Replay .Dol files of the specific versions that allow to enter codes which I'd like to somehow boot from my SDGecko using SDload. Is it possible? I've tried many times to boot the gecko but with no results! I've formatted using fat file system and tried patrching it and just running it with the dols alone but nothing helps... Please, someone with experience in this topic would be highly appreciated!
 

dilav

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
1,248
Trophies
0
XP
392
Country
United States
I have a similar Question! I have SD gecko which I'm trying to run on my Gamecube. I have Action Replay .Dol files of the specific versions that allow to enter codes which I'd like to somehow boot from my SDGecko using SDload. Is it possible?

No. You need the retail AR disc allowing entering of new code.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Not that the first one was great lol