I have some questions about SD Gecko

Discussion in 'Nintendo GameCube' started by Luigifan159, Apr 28, 2012.

Apr 28, 2012
  1. Luigifan159
    OP

    Newcomer Luigifan159 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    new here and i have some questions about the sd gecko for gamecube. I want to play some iso backups of games that i own. I know of someone willing to sell me their sd gecko. I always
    understood that the sd gecko doesn't do anything on the gamecube unless you have a loader disc like an Action Replay. This person is telling me that their sd gecko has all boot loader software installed and that there is no need for a disc. He says that he uses it without a disc and never needed one. Is he correct and i heard wrong? Or am i correct and he is probably lying?
     
  2. goemon_guy

    Member goemon_guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    The SD Gecko is essentially useless without a method to run Homebrew. In other words, this person is likely lying to you.

    Some alternatives you have are:
    -Find an older Action Replay, (1.14b or less) and use SDLOAD, (a Gamecube Homebrew Launcher built into an AR Code) and buy the SD Gecko from this guy.
    -Buy a Datel SD Media Launcher from Codejunkies and pop the disc into your drive, and use an SD Gecko to load a Homebrew app.
    -Get a modchip. (Requires Soldering and other lengthy tasks.)
     
  3. Luigifan159
    OP

    Newcomer Luigifan159 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Well he actually showed me yesterday and it worked.
    Is is possible that he may have another type of SD Loader thats not SD Gecko?
    Maybe he just calls it SD Gecko but it might be something else.

    He didn't use any modchip or disc loader.
    He just put in this memory card and started up the gamecube and SDLoad started.
    He had a bunch of emulators and stuff to play GC Iso all ready for use.
     
  4. goemon_guy

    Member goemon_guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    As far as I know, that wouldn't work, as you REQUIRE a loader of some sort to read from the SD Gecko.

    You say you saw a video, correct? He booted up his cube and it loaded SDLoad? That sounds suspiciously like a modchip...
    There are no SD Gecko revisions that can simply boot homebrew without a loader.

    Is it possible to link us to the video he showed you?
     
  5. Ziggy1

    Newcomer Ziggy1 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada
    I have a similar Question! I have SD gecko which I'm trying to run on my Gamecube. I have Action Replay .Dol files of the specific versions that allow to enter codes which I'd like to somehow boot from my SDGecko using SDload. Is it possible? I've tried many times to boot the gecko but with no results! I've formatted using fat file system and tried patrching it and just running it with the dols alone but nothing helps... Please, someone with experience in this topic would be highly appreciated!
     
  6. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    No. You need the retail AR disc allowing entering of new code.
     

Share This Page