I have a problem with my modem.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by triassic911, May 16, 2009.

May 16, 2009
  1. triassic911
    OP

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Hi. Ok, so basically, I have my computer connected to a router, which is connected to my modem. My internet works without problems. HOWEVER, whenever I connect my modem DIRECTLY to my computer, the connnection is not detected. On my modem (I have an arris modem), a light with word 'link' blinks to detect transfer. When it is directly connected to my computer, this light stays off. Also, on my computer, it tells me that the local area connection (I am using windows xp) is not connected because the ethernet cable is "unplugged". What could this be? Why can't my computer connect to my modem directly?
     
  2. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Did you set the modem and router up yourself? Is the modem a DSL modem? Chances are the router is providing the PPPoE authentication you need to connect to the modem, which you haven't set up when connected to the computer.
     
  3. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,185
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    exactly what Jiggah said

    I have the same situation
    verizon DSL, it has PPPoE and used to require a program on the PC to dial into the modem for it to connect into the modem
    but once you add the router, assuming you set up the login info in the router setup correctly
    it automatically dials in for you, its always connected removing the need for the program
     
  4. triassic911
    OP

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Well, when I first got the triple play, 2 guys came to my house at set everything up. It was working ok with the modem connected directly to the computer. I bought a router like 2 years later and set that up myself. It works fine. However it was when I tried to connect the modem to the computer today was when the issue occured. The only difference I can think of now is the computer...... It wasn't the same computer the guy hooked me up to. What would I go about setting up the authentication process so that it'll work?
     
  5. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    The first thing I would do is to simply unplug the power from the modem after removing it from the router then putting the power back before plugging it into the computer just to make sure it isn't some IP leasing issue.

    If it is indeed an issue with the PPPoE authentication on the computer then here's a walkthrough from MS:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/283070
     
  6. triassic911
    OP

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks.
     

Share This Page