I cant install Ubuntu netbook remix

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by MarioBrotha, Feb 15, 2010.

Feb 15, 2010
  1. MarioBrotha
    OP

    Member MarioBrotha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    United States
    I have a Hp mini 311(Btw freakin love it)
    Ive tried to install ubuntu netbook remix, but it wont install. Ive gotten as far as the menu where it gives you the option to install or try it. but whenever I choose one of the options, it just goes to a black screen with the blinkin thing that makes it look like its loading, but its been there for at least 10 minutes, and then I had to forcefully turn it off. Ive tried using a DVD-R (which I know wouldnt work so well) and a USB flash drive. they both hang on the loading part. Can someone help?
     
  2. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i use Mandriva, but i'v seen something like this.

    the problem is probably a bogus hardware table in the bios to screw Linux users.
    (yes, they would do that!)

    if you have advanced boot-options available, disable acpi and try it.
    infact try disabling other hardware options too if that wont work - like doing a text-console install incase the installer cant handle your gfx chip.
    (seen that with intel gfx chips before)
     
  3. MarioBrotha
    OP

    Member MarioBrotha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    United States
    Funny, I chose the advance boot-options, and there were none [​IMG] is it possible that the download went wrong?
     
  4. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,265
    Country:
    Australia
    im downloading ubuntu-9.10-netbook-remix-i386.iso now to check on a virtual
     
  5. MarioBrotha
    OP

    Member MarioBrotha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    United States
    ok thx a lot
     
  6. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,265
    Country:
    Australia
    heres a screen shot of the options [​IMG]
     
  7. MarioBrotha
    OP

    Member MarioBrotha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    United States
    My boot options are different than those... but i still think you solved my problem I'm going to try it now thanks!
     
  8. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,265
    Country:
    Australia
    find any options on the "other options" section?
     
  9. MarioBrotha
    OP

    Member MarioBrotha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, thanks to your guys help I was able to install it. however, I seem to have another problem, I cant go into it [​IMG]
    Whenever I turn on my computer it now shows a long list of thing that I'm guessing are boot options.
    And i have no idea which one to choose, except the Windows 7 one which I know is to get to windows 7 (duh). Ive tried choosing the first option, but it hangs like when I had my previous problem of choosing to install, it just shows the blinking line and stays there forever. I'm lost [​IMG]

    Btw how do you guys upload pictures? Ive tried photobucket and it says no dynamic pictures
     
  10. piratesmack

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    If you press 'e' on the first option, it should let your edit it.
    Add your boot options to the kernel line and try again.

    You'll have to do that on every boot unless you add the boot options to your grub.cfg.
    Grub2 doesn't like you editing grub.cfg by hand so I'm not quite sure how to do that, hopefully somebody else here knows how.
     
  11. MarioBrotha
    OP

    Member MarioBrotha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    United States
    Wait what? I pressed 'e' to edit boot options and it showed me a long, complicated text that I hope I wont ever have to touch. Can someone tell me what I neet to change?
    can u guys also PLEASE tell me how to upload pics?
     

Share This Page