I cant delete this folder!! :(

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Infinite Zero, May 16, 2010.

May 16, 2010
  1. Infinite Zero
    OP

    Member Infinite Zero Almost!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I've tried deleting this folder but IT NEVER DOES
    I tried the file shredder, putting it in the recycle bin, right clicking and delete
    BUT NO LUCK!!!

    I'll even include this ******* video man IHATE THAT KID


    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    any help please?
    oh my goodness gracious..
    I cant rename it, ive even rebooted this one but it stays the same [​IMG]
     
  2. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    Why'd you trust a little kid? Also did you try renaming it?
     
  3. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    there is a program called CCleaner, which should be able to fix it. It is very likely that there is a difference between what is there and what the registry says is there.
     
  4. Matt140

    Member Matt140 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    More importantly, why does that kid have VMWare??????

    On topic: Like spinal_cord said, I'd try using CCleaner.
     
  5. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
  6. XXNatus

    Member XXNatus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    You are gonna have to delete it by using command prompt.
    Step 1: Rename your folder to something short like "folder1" to make the last step easier.
    Step 2: Right-click command prompt and choose Run as administrator.
    Step 3: Press Ctrl-Alt-Del to bring up Task Manager, highlight explorer.exe and click on End Process at the bottom.
    Step 4: In command prompt type: cd C:\Users\[YourVistaAccountUsername]\Desktop\ and press enter.
    Step 5: Type rmdir followed by the name of the folder, (example rmdir folder1) and press enter.
    Step 6: Close command prompt and use Task Manager to launch explorer.exe again, and voila the folder is there no more.

    This is guaranteed to work if you follow the directions correctly, if you have any questions PM me.
     
  7. Infinite Zero
    OP

    Member Infinite Zero Almost!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I CANT EVEN RENAME IT!
    UGH KIDS THESE DAYS, HE DIDNT EVEN TELL HOW TO DELETE IT
    [​IMG]
    Iguess I can try Unlocker.. Hope it works well [​IMG]

    EDIT-OH YES UNLOCKER DELETED THAT F'IN ANNOYING FOLDER!
    THANK YOU COSTELLO, DKAngel and all the others who tried to help!!!

    I thought this folder would stay here forever [​IMG]

    Nah it's just a folder. I just wanted to know if it can be removed, well if not. I'll have to live with it
     
  8. DKAngel

    Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    or download a program called unlocker and rightclick on the folder and unlock it
    then delete
     
  9. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Have you restarted your comp in safe mode?
    And tried to delete it
     
  10. DCG

    Member DCG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    does it say that there is a process running that requires that folder or something in it?
     
  11. giratina16

    Member giratina16 Born This Way

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    G.O.A.T.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why don't you just back date your computer to before you had the folder?
     
  12. DCG

    Member DCG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    maybe she has installed some stuff afterwards she doesn't want to lose?
     
  13. giratina16

    Member giratina16 Born This Way

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    G.O.A.T.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's easy to restore, just install them again. Anyway it's just an idea. Personally I would take the easy option and back date.
     
  14. Infinite Zero
    OP

    Member Infinite Zero Almost!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    What? I dont get you
    And if you refer to me I'm a SHE not a HE
    thanks lol


    V Uh my problem is solved already. There were no errors happening. It's just staying right there
     
  15. DCG

    Member DCG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    my experience whith backdating is bad. gave me more proplems than it fixed. but infinite, what kind of error does you pc give when you try to delete the folder?
     
  16. giratina16

    Member giratina16 Born This Way

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    G.O.A.T.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Basically if you back date your computer you will lose anything you had installed on the same day or any day after the folder was made.
     
  17. DCG

    Member DCG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you would need a backup point, I doubt that one exists just before that day.
     
  18. giratina16

    Member giratina16 Born This Way

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    G.O.A.T.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't most computers make them at start up? I know whenever I back date my computer I have a restore point for everyday. That might be because I install something new on my laptop everyday, usually my antivirus updates.
     

Share This Page