How would I make my PC do this

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by sergster1, May 22, 2011.

May 22, 2011
  1. sergster1
    OP

    Member sergster1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yLS35kyYlOU[/youtube]

    Hmm.. I would REAAAAALLLY like to do this as a surprise for my friends birthday as he LOVES portal. Any ideas on how to get my pc to run that.... i dont even running in windows mode. DOS would be nice [​IMG]
     
  2. GreatZimkogway

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
  3. NeSchn

    Member NeSchn GBAPimpdaddy.

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,533
    Location:
    Troy,New York PimpStatus: King
    Country:
    United States
    That probably took a very very long time for him to do that xD I love Portal by the way. Im like half way through Portal 2 right now. Its awesome
     
  4. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    if only it were that simple

    its a program that he coded for the 8080 computer with the text and ascii art showing up and with sound laid over the video
    it took a lot of time to code properly
     
  5. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well there is a .exe that does what you ask (timing isn't perfect but it should do) here

    then you can get that program to run at boot by adding a registry entry (make backup first before editing)

    Code:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    right-click inside and make a new string New->string name it to whatever you want then double click the string and input the location of the .exe downloaded.

    for extra flair you can set the taskbar to autohide and change the desktop wallpaper to a black colour.
     
  6. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    I uploaded a boing.wav version that has her actual voice.

    Here.
     
  7. sergster1
    OP

    Member sergster1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Now In regards to that exe is there anyway i can turn it into a boot disk so that before he boots into windows it runs that program with the text and what not?
     
  8. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    Refer to Dter ic's post.
     
  9. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    it has to be made for dos for it to be able to boot
    I dont think this is dos compatible
     
  10. sergster1
    OP

    Member sergster1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    It needs to be a boot disk cause i dont want to mess with the registry of a pc that i do not own
     
  11. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A boot disk would be more complicated. You need a basic OS to run off it to execute the EXE. Registry is the easiest way, believe me. Or you could just stick it in his start up folder. No idea if that would work alright but its the easiest thing.
     
  12. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    create a bootable iso using imgburn and add those files (my link, replace the current boring.wav with devins) then burn the iso to a disc and then change the boot order so the cd boots first, load the disc... PROFIT

    (i'm not sure if this works but i guess it won't hurt to give this a try)
     

Share This Page