Homebrew How to start Rosalina without the "L" button?

Giodude

GBAtemp's official rock
Member
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
5,094
Trophies
1
Age
23
Location
New York
XP
2,761
Country
United States
I've tried it, you actually can't use input redirection to open the Rosalina menu or the ntr menu. You might be able to use the button swap Homebrew though...
 
  • Like
Reactions: Exavold

Giodude

GBAtemp's official rock
Member
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
5,094
Trophies
1
Age
23
Location
New York
XP
2,761
Country
United States
Considering input redirection uses the same base code as button swapping, I can't guarantee button swapping will work. I will bring up though that the L button is the easiest button to fix. I've found blowing into the L button can also sometimes fix it.
 

pandavova

56
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Messages
902
Trophies
0
XP
2,110
Country
Germany
Considering input redirection uses the same base code as button swapping, I can't guarantee button swapping will work. I will bring up though that the L button is the easiest button to fix. I've found blowing into the L button can also sometimes fix it.
You can't fix a ripped Flexcable with blowing xDDD
 
  • Like
Reactions: Deleted User

pandavova

56
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Messages
902
Trophies
0
XP
2,110
Country
Germany
but have you tried pixie dust? /s

I am installing all the required things to build luma, so just a few minutes. Then I'll test to make sure it will work
Sadly pixie dust didn't worked ._.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I can compile rn if you want ?
Thank you, but @blujay already doing this for me ^^
 

Giodude

GBAtemp's official rock
Member
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
5,094
Trophies
1
Age
23
Location
New York
XP
2,761
Country
United States
The ribbon cable that connects the L button is about a dollar or two online, and it's the first thing you see when opening up the 3ds. Should take an hour to fix at most.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
holy fucking shit. i swear compiling Luma is more work than its worth. @NexoCube the file you need to edit is: Luma3DS/sysmodules/rosalina/include/menu.h

Change:
Code:
#define DEFAULT_MENU_COMBO (BUTTON_L1 | BUTTON_DOWN | BUTTON_SELECT)

Sorry @pandavova, but it will probably take me an hour just to compile Luma. there are so many errors I just can't fix in a timely manner.
 
  • Like
Reactions: pandavova

Giodude

GBAtemp's official rock
Member
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
5,094
Trophies
1
Age
23
Location
New York
XP
2,761
Country
United States
holy fucking shit. i swear compiling Luma is more work than its worth. @NexoCube the file you need to edit is: Luma3DS/sysmodules/rosalina/include/menu.h

Change:
Code:
#define DEFAULT_MENU_COMBO (BUTTON_L1 | BUTTON_DOWN | BUTTON_SELECT)

Sorry @pandavova, but it will probably take me an hour just to compile Luma. there are so many errors I just can't fix in a timely manner.
Take the opportunity to make it a better button combo. L and R buttons break often, so maybe something like start+select+X or DOWN+select+B.
 

pandavova

56
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Messages
902
Trophies
0
XP
2,110
Country
Germany
holy fucking shit. i swear compiling Luma is more work than its worth. @NexoCube the file you need to edit is: Luma3DS/sysmodules/rosalina/include/menu.h

Change:
Code:
#define DEFAULT_MENU_COMBO (BUTTON_L1 | BUTTON_DOWN | BUTTON_SELECT)

Sorry @pandavova, but it will probably take me an hour just to compile Luma. there are so many errors I just can't fix in a timely manner.
._. Sorry that i take that much time :/
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
._. Sorry that i take that much time :/
no its not you, but my computer. It doesn't want to store the PATH environment properly. Today is one of my days off so I really don't care what I do.

Code:
make[1]: Entering directory '/home/blujay/Sandbox/Github/Luma3DS/sysmodules/loader'
make[1]: execvp: armips: Permission denied
Makefile:54: recipe for target 'build/romfsredir.bin' failed
make[1]: *** [build/romfsredir.bin] Error 127
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/blujay/Sandbox/Github/Luma3DS/sysmodules/loader'
Makefile:115: recipe for target 'build/loader.cxi' failed
I get to this point and (even though ARMIPS is in the Path) it never compiles.

EDIT: I would be glad if I got the opportunity to help, but my computer just doesn't want to cooperate.
 

pandavova

56
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Messages
902
Trophies
0
XP
2,110
Country
Germany
no its not you, but my computer. It doesn't want to store the PATH environment properly. Today is one of my days off so I really don't care what I do.

Code:
make[1]: Entering directory '/home/blujay/Sandbox/Github/Luma3DS/sysmodules/loader'
make[1]: execvp: armips: Permission denied
Makefile:54: recipe for target 'build/romfsredir.bin' failed
make[1]: *** [build/romfsredir.bin] Error 127
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/blujay/Sandbox/Github/Luma3DS/sysmodules/loader'
Makefile:115: recipe for target 'build/loader.cxi' failed
I get to this point and (even though ARMIPS is in the Path) it never compiles.

EDIT: I would be glad if I got the opportunity to help, but my computer just doesn't want to cooperate.
Maybe run as admin? /s

:/ Can i help you in any kind of way?
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Maybe run as admin? /s

:/ Can i help you in any kind of way?
not really. I've already had to go through and add a few extra things to my path and change some stuff in the Makefile, but Luma just doesn't want to compile on my end. Oh well. I hope that @NexoCube can help as I can't
 
  • Like
Reactions: pandavova

Tenshi_Okami

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2015
Messages
1,490
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
1,616
Country
Puerto Rico
I was going to look into it maybe being a Config file, but apparently Rosalina resets its settings upon reboot, so in order to boot it you would need to find a way to edit the memory in which it stores its instructions with the proper buttons.

This is not going to sound good, but you need to wait for a new release.

I mean, wtf developers. I get you tried to bring in a cool sysmodule, but lots of people were happy without it.
One of the commits fixes this, maybe use that commit?
 

pandavova

56
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Messages
902
Trophies
0
XP
2,110
Country
Germany
not really. I've already had to go through and add a few extra things to my path and change some stuff in the Makefile, but Luma just doesn't want to compile on my end. Oh well. I hope that @NexoCube can help as I can't
I dont know why, but i try to compile this myself... never done it so... its a try :D
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: @BigOnYa, FarCry 5 is an awesome game with multiple endings!