How to record "What U Hear"?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Wizerzak, Mar 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Mar 5, 2011

How to record "What U Hear"? by Wizerzak at 7:29 PM (1,350 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Wizerzak
    OP

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, It's me again with another problem...

    First some specs, I have/am using:

    Cool Edit Pro 2.1
    Creative SB X-Fi Sound Card
    Built-in speakers in monitor
    x1 Auxiliary audio cable (I think that's what it's called - 2 male ends, from line out from PC to line in on monitor)
    A problem

    So, I am trying to record some sound that is playing from my PC using Cool Edit Pro (CEP) but I am not sure how to set it up.
    Under recording devices I have 2 options; '"What U Hear"', 'Digital In', 'Microphone' and 'Microphone F' all of which are on the sound card. (see spoiler)
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Under playback devices I have 'Speakers' and 'SPDIF Out'. (see spoiler)
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    BTW everything so far was using windows.
    In CEP i have the following options which i don't really know what I'm doing with (see spoiler):
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    I can also change the order of the devices (see spoiler):
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    I have exactly the same options for the speakers and digital in under the 'Wave Out' tab.

    But after trying loads of combinations when I click record while something is playing it does not pick up any sound.

    I've also tried connecting the line-out to the line-in of the sound card but that doesn't seem to work either - plus i only have earphones to listen (as the monitor no longer has sound). Does anyone know how to make it record "What U Hear"?

    Thanks,
    Wizzerzak.

    Oh, BTW, I've already had this working on my last PC (Vista x64) but can't quite remember how. I think there was a 'Stereo Mix' option before or somthing like that.
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    ... speakers to mic?

    The "what you hear" is for use without the cable you have.
     
  3. Wizerzak
    OP

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yh, that's what i thought, the cable was just an idea. do you know how to get it working without?

    edit: 300 posts! [​IMG]
     
  4. uiaad

    Newcomer uiaad Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    haha, this is a driver problem.

    Basically the drivers that are usually installed with the os generally have the stereo mixer removed - the simple solution is to head on over to the Creative's website and download the latest driver for your sound card and this should restore your stereo mixer
     
  5. Wizerzak
    OP

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks so much... i updated drivers and no it works!

    Mod can close this topic now if you wish.
     
  6. mollekemiel

    Newcomer mollekemiel Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    i used oggrecorder once with pritty good results
    if i rember correctly it records everything from the soundcard directly

    off course it you should always make sure u use the latest devicedrivers
     
  7. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Closed at OPs request [​IMG]
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page