How To: Protect Against Banner Bricks

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Destian, Nov 21, 2008.

Nov 21, 2008
  1. Destian
    OP

    Newcomer Destian Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    United States
    This guide assumes you already have the ability to install WADs. If you do not then you're probably safe.

    Part 1: Setup (This must be done before you brick.)[*]First, you need System Menu 3.2. Use Custom cIOS Downgrader or Any Region Changer to downgrade or upgrade to this version.[*]Install Starfall.
    a. Run the program and read the Warning carefully. The buttons to proceed must be pushed at exactly the same time. This may take a few tries.
    b. Install the *Start rescue-menu when Y is held on 1st GC controller and *Remove rescue-menu diagnostic disc check patches.[*]Install the Twilight Hack save game on you system. This is the file you used to allow homebrew in the first place. If it is still there, leave it. If not, reinstall it.Part 2: Test (Make sure it works before installing WADs)[*]Put the Wad Manager boot.dol at the root of you're SD card.[*]Plug your GC controller into port 1 of your Wii.[*]Insert your retail Twilight Princess disc into the drive.[*]Now hold down the Y button on the GC controller and turn on the Wii.[*]Run the Twilight Hack.If everything has been done correctly you will now be looking at the WAD Manager screen. This will allow you to uninstall whatever WAD has caused you to brick.

    (If I have missed anything please let me know.)
     


  2. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice tut, surely no-one will miss this, all there in Black & White, well done, should be stickied..
    (Now you know how to protect yourselves, just relate to this thread)
     
  3. Nautilart

    Newcomer Nautilart Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    i would like this very much but i dont have wifi and cant install starfall are there any other routs of attaining such a hack this protection would be greatly appreciated
     
  4. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Wifi is not needed for starfall, just copy the dol to a new folder under apps folder in the sd and launch with the homebrew channel... but probably you were to say anyregion changer, for that you need an internet connection of course... (for downgrading) usb ethernet will also do...

    If you are already on 3.2 you should skip the anyregion changer step...
     
  5. Patryc

    Member Patryc GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    452
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Excellent short tutorial [​IMG] [​IMG] I think a lot of people have be looking for this.
     
  6. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I would love to see a Notes: at the bottom stating that without a mod chip the Zelda TP must be a retail copy of the game.

    Aside from that, nice guide, short and sweet. I will likely be refering people to it.
     
  7. Patryc

    Member Patryc GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    452
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Part 2: Test

    Just tried it. Works beautifully!
     
  8. RyoutaDDC

    Newcomer RyoutaDDC Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    Um so whats better and safer, custom cios downgrader or Any region changer?
     
  9. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I have seen both said to work. I have used cIOS downgrader and refered about a half dozen people to it so far and its always done the trick. Wifi required
     
  10. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    I prefer cIOS Downgrader.

    And I actually would suggest installing the HBC and replacing the Wad Manager DOL with the WiiMU ELF (Twilight Hack 0.1 beta still loads ELFs) and run the HBC.

    You can do a lot more from the HBC and WiiMU than the Wad Manager.
     
  11. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Refresh me. Who all can use the old twilight hack. Pre 3.3? (So anyone if they downgrade) or?
     
  12. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    Anybody pre-3.4 can use Twilight Hack 0.1 beta.
    Anybody pre-3.3 can use Twilight Hack 0.1-0.3 alphas

    But the beta is still better than the alphas.
     
  13. Patryc

    Member Patryc GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    452
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is a good Tip too! Just tried it, very useful
     
  14. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    Too bad I don't have TP. [​IMG] I wish loading homebrew from Starfall would work, just through the RM.
     
  15. El-Grosso

    Member El-Grosso GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm confused about this banner brick business. :S

    I have a Wii on 3.3E with the twilight hack, HBC 9, 0.3 gamma. I've been playing games from DVD-R's fine, and installing wads with no problem using wad manager 1.21. Then I'm hearing all this stuff about people bricking their Wii's while installing wads, and something about freethewads, etc. Can somebody clear this up for me please?
     
  16. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    There was a channel with a messed up banner released that started a tsunami of these brick threads.

    Use channels that are tested and you will have no problem.
     
  17. noobwarrior7

    Member noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    @ Destian,

    a couple things about the original post before it is perfect

    your post assumes that people will take your word that 3.2 is the best menu to be on.
    I can tell you from experience many won't. not your fault of course, but if you explain that
    this is THE ONLY way they eliminate the need for a CHIP and possibly OTHER HARDWARE (SaveMii),
    they will listen more intently.

    also, this is the ONLY way to use a "retail Twilight Princess" for the process, that can be emphasized as well.

    also, you brushed over the "get on 3.2" part.

    heres the basics:

    On 3.2? GREAT!
    Lower than 3.2? AnyRegion Changer only
    3.3v1? AnyRegion Changer followed by IOS Downgrader (not cIOS Downgrader in this case)
    3.3v2? IOS Downgrader followed by cIOS Downdgrader

    also, using this process with other discs that contain "a newer update than the currently have" may prompt them to update to 3.3, and eventually discs will be pressed with 3.4.....

    3.3 kills the ability to use homebrew discs for an escape (you need a chip for that anyway)
    and then 3.4 kills both that and TP

    make sure you let them know, using the menu to perform a seemingly harmless update is a bad idea, and they should stick to the plan....

    ...in fact, if they do ANY menu update....next boot the starfall hacks will be broke and they'll be completely bricked.

    Valuable post, good work.

    framework was kind enough to put this on his blog for all to see, its not updated with the GC pad info (savemiifree)
    but it may work for some further clarification....as it has all the basic methods:

    http://framework43.blogspot.com/2008/10/banner-bricks.html

    Update: just corrected my downgrading info.
     
  18. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    AnyRegion Changer followed by IOS Downgrader. So what function does IOS downgrader serve?
     
  19. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    One thing I still don't understand (as I've never used them), what is the difference between ios downgrader and cios downgrader?
     
  20. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Unless Im mistaken, that is what re-enables (for lack of better words) the Trucha bug with those IOS.

    Noob one clarification if you see this.

    If there any reason NOT to use cIOS downgrader on 3.3v1? If so How does one know which version of 3.3 they are on (assuming they dont remember updating)

    @kedest I *think* the difference is in that the IOS's are official nintendo code. And that downgrader puts the old IOS on that still worked with the Trucha bug. the custom IOS downgrader.. well Im not certain everthing it does, but I know it allows you to downgrade your actual version (ie 3.3U --> 3.2U)

    You'll notice I tend to say "I think..." a lot. I am usually not 100% sure and/or dont want to be blamed for wrong/misinterpreted information. Its right to the best of my knowledge though [​IMG]
     

Share This Page