Hacking How To make USB Game Channels

spiritofcat

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2007
Messages
577
Trophies
0
XP
202
Country
Many thanks to Tichinde925 for explaining it to me.

Just be warned though, this worked the first time when I made the Wing Island channel, but when I tried to make a Brawl channel something went wrong and it ended up installing over the top of the Wing Island channel and now neither of them are working.
I probably just did something wrong along the way and broke it.
Anyone who tries following this guide, please let me know if it worked for you.

Edit: I found out what I did wrong.
The VC program wasn't changing the ID of the wad file because I didn't have common-key in the directory.
Once I had that it actually worked and output a title.wad file.
That file is the channel to then install and use.

Also, you DO need IOS 222 installed.
I didn't have that installed and it seemed like my wing island channel worked, but I happened to also have the Wing Island DVD in the drive.
When I tried it with Wii Sports in the drive it loaded Wii Sports and not Wing Island.
When I tried it with nothing in the drive I got a code dump.

Once I installed IOS 222 it worked properly.
However, Brawl is not working properly yet. It starts to boot and then just hangs on a blue screen.
I am using NTSC Brawl on a PAL machine though, and with a channel wad set to PAL too.
I'll test a bit more and see if I can find a solution.

Edit: Tried Region Free isntead of PAL for the channel but got the same result.


Tools needed:
IOS 222 needs to be installed: http://www.tehskeen.com/viewarticle.php?articleid=3671
YAL-Channel dol file: http://www.tepetaklak.com/data/yal-channel.rar
Smallest wad file you can find
Wii Brick Blocker
Wii Scrubber
any Hex Editor
New VC Injector: http://www.mediafire.com/?mtixbylxdye
common-key
Wad Packer and Unpacker: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=J1B1D11L

I'm using Wing Island NTSC for my demonstration.

First open the iso in brick blocker and click read info.
This will give you the game ID.
The game ID is the combination of console-ID, Game Code, Country Code and Maker Code.
So in this case we have RWIE18. Note that down for later use.


Next, open the iso in Wii Scrubber.
Open the DATA partition.
Scroll down until you see "opening.bnr"
Right click and hit "Save/Extract"

Rename that file to: 00000000.app (This contains the Banner/Icon/Sound files)

Open yal.dol with your hex editor and search for RCPP18

Replace that with the game ID you got from Brick Blocker earlier.
In this case, RWIE18

Save and quit the hex editor.

Obtain a wad file you would like to use as the base.

Unpack the wad, replace the 00000000.app with the renamed opening.bnr from before.

Rename the .dol to 00000001.app and replace it.

Repack the wad.

Once that's done, move the wad file to the same directory that you have the NEW VC INJECTOR tool in.
Open up a command line and navigate to that directory.

Run the VC.exe program on your wad file.
In this case my wad is called test.wad


It will ask for your region 0-3.
I'm using a PAL machine so I chose 2.


Now it will ask for an ID for the channel.
I decided to use the same ID as the game, but with U for USB instead of R at the start, and no numbers because this ID is only meant to be 4 letters long.

After that it should be all done.


Now you should find a title.wad file in that directory.
This is the file that you use to install the channel.




Hopefully that's all correct. Any ideas for improvement would be appreciated.


I'll start a list here of games I've got working or had trouble with:

Working:
RWIE18 Wing Island
RCPP18 Kororinpa
RINP08 Dead Rising
RB4P08 Resident Evil 4
RGFP69 Godfather Blackhand
RYQP69 Trivial Pursuit
RBKP69 Boom Blox
RMGP01 Mario Galaxy
RODP01 Wario Ware

Not Working:
RSBE01 Brawl NTSC on my PAL machine - Hangs on Blue screen
RZZE8P MadWorld NTSC on my PAL machine - Hangs on Magenta screen


And finally, here's a photo of my System Menu as it now stands
biggrin.gif


 

Slimmmmmm

GBAtemp MoNkEeE
Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
1,770
Trophies
0
Location
the land of lol
XP
528
Country
Just be warned though, this worked the first time when I made the Wing Island channel, but when I tried to make a Brawl channel something went wrong and it ended up installing over the top of the Wing Island channel and now neither of them are working.


^^ you said that ^^^

Could it be they maybe both had the same ID ? That might explain that.
 

spiritofcat

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2007
Messages
577
Trophies
0
XP
202
Country
An interesting thing to note is that when you hit the HOME button on the Wii Remote and then choose Reset, you get a blue screen, the DVD drive spins and you end up back at the Wii System Menu rather than the start of the game.
USB Loader 1.0 and 1.1 both had Reset working properly.

Edit: It seems that Reset works properly on Resident Evil 4 Channel but not on any others that I've made.
 

mat03111984

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Messages
150
Trophies
0
XP
880
Country
hmm for some reason when i get to the stage of wadunpacker. i unpack a wad. rename the files etc. then when i click wadpacker itsays its done but theres not out.wad just my in.wad in the folder. ne ideas?

also, do you think once these are complete, if your on 4.0 menu you can copy over the wads to sd menu and load from there. that would be awesome?
 

spiritofcat

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2007
Messages
577
Trophies
0
XP
202
Country
mat03111984 said:
hmm for some reason when i get to the stage of wadunpacker. i unpack a wad. rename the files etc. then when i click wadpacker itsays its done but theres not out.wad just my in.wad in the folder. ne ideas?

also, do you think once these are complete, if your on 4.0 menu you can copy over the wads to sd menu and load from there. that would be awesome?

Have you read the readme file for wad packer and unpacker?
When you extract, it makes a directory and puts the contents of the wad into that directory.
When you pack, it looks for the contents in the directory that the exe is in.
You have to move the contents for it to work.

As to System Menu 4.0 I have no idea. I'm still on 3.2E.
 

bolex17

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2007
Messages
156
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
197
Country
Hrmm, I am getting

Code:
If you're not sure of this, just copy the old ID - SWTO.
UMCE

UMCE ID will be used.
New title.tmd data written.
New title.tik data written.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------
-----------WADPACKER by KiKe---------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------based on segher tools-----------
-------------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------
open (get_size) 00000000.app: No such file or directory
Mission completed! =)

Whenever i use the VC Injector.
 

spiritofcat

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2007
Messages
577
Trophies
0
XP
202
Country
Make sure you have common-key in the directory that you're running VC Injector from.
Just to be safe I have two copies there. One named common-key and one named common-key.bin
 

bolex17

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2007
Messages
156
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
197
Country
I copied the common-key.bin and common-key files to the VC folder and now I am getting.

Code:
New title.tmd data written.
New title.tik data written.
The system cannot find the file specified.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------
-----------WADPACKER by KiKe---------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------based on segher tools-----------
-------------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ....Firmando Ticket.

ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ....Firmando tmd.

ÂÂÂÂÂÂ issuer: Root-CA00000001-CP00000004
ÂÂsys_version: 0000000100000023
ÂÂÂÂ title_id: 00010001554d4345
ÂÂ title_type: 00000000
ÂÂÂÂ group_id: 0000
title_version: 0001
num_contents: 0003
ÂÂ boot_index: 0002
cid 00000000ÂÂindex 0000ÂÂtype 0001ÂÂsize 0007ce48
cid 00000001ÂÂindex 0001ÂÂtype 0001ÂÂsize 000237a0
cid 00000002ÂÂindex 0002ÂÂtype 0001ÂÂsize 0001ec00
cannot open common-key: No such file or directory
Mission completed! =)

Nevermind got it to work! Had to make sure the common-key.bin file wasn't hidden.
 

spiritofcat

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2007
Messages
577
Trophies
0
XP
202
Country
I don't have Mario Kart extracted or installed right now so I can't test that.
Have other games worked for you? Do you have IOS 222 installed? Did you have a DVD in the drive?

RMCE01 certainly sounds like it should be the right code for Mario Kart. Unless maybe it's RMKE01?
You can get the first 4 digits of the code from the USB Loader.
When you select a game and hit A it shows that part of the code when asking if you want to start the game.
 

bolex17

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2007
Messages
156
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
197
Country
spiritofcat said:
I don't have Mario Kart extracted or installed right now so I can't test that.
Have other games worked for you? Do you have IOS 222 installed?

Yep I have IOS 222 Installed from your link, Havn't got around to try another game but will try again in a sec.

Cheers for the guide btw!

I chose USA Region when using VC Inject. I'll try it again with Region Free.

Reading your guide again and

QUOTEWhen I tried it with nothing in the drive I got a code dump.

Do I need a DVD in the drive?
 

mat03111984

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Messages
150
Trophies
0
XP
880
Country
im struggling with this. lol. sorry guys. im on the vc bit and cannot get it to work. ive got the out.wad. i put it in the VC folder which has the file path of : C:\Users\######\Desktop\VC. so i bring up command prompt and paste in the path C:\Users\######\Desktop\VC then ive tried adding

C:\Users\######\Desktop\VC\vc out.wad
C:\Users\######\Desktop\VC\out.wad
C:\Users\######\Desktop\VC\VCout.wad
C:\Users\######\Desktop\VC\VC out.wad

it says these are not recognised commands....

im useless with commands. ive also just dragged the wad.out over the vc app but just flashes on then off. and if i just double click the vc app it says has to close.

any help will be great.
 

troa11

Older Than You
Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
260
Trophies
0
XP
938
Country
United States
bolex17 said:
Tried with Mario Kart Wii and codedumped
frown.gif


Can anyone confirm that Mario Kart Wii ID is RMCE01

Confirmed. Were you able to extract the opening.bnr in wiiscrubber okay? Mine's giving me grief...

QUOTE(mat03111984 @ Apr 3 2009, 04:31 AM) im struggling with this. lol. sorry guys. im on the vc bit and cannot get it to work. ive got the out.wad. i put it in the VC folder which has the file path of : C:\Users\######\Desktop\VC. so i bring up command prompt and paste in the path C:\Users\######\Desktop\VC then ive tried adding

C:\Users\######\Desktop\VC\vc out.wad
C:\Users\######\Desktop\VC\out.wad
C:\Users\######\Desktop\VC\VCout.wad
C:\Users\######\Desktop\VC\VC out.wad

it says these are not recognised commands....

im useless with commands. ive also just dragged the wad.out over the vc app but just flashes on then off. and if i just double click the vc app it says has to close.

any help will be great.

Unless you absolutely NEED to change the region setting, there's no need to even use VC. You can manually hex edit the .tik and .tmd files before you pack the wad up and change the 4-character ticket to something unique by yourself. I've just been taking the first 4 characters of the game ID and changing R to U at the beginning (U for USB, get it?). Example Wii Sports RSPE01, use USPE. The tik and tmd's are short files and it should be pretty easy to spot the ID's. Just look for 4 uppercase letters in a row that occur once in both files. Once you've found them once it's easy to change them next time. I've found if I associate .tik and .tmd with XVI32 (my hex editor), changing the ID is way faster this way than messing with the VC command-line.
 

bolex17

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2007
Messages
156
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
197
Country
troa11 said:
bolex17 said:
Tried with Mario Kart Wii and codedumped
frown.gif


Can anyone confirm that Mario Kart Wii ID is RMCE01

Confirmed. Were you able to extract the opening.bnr in wiiscrubber okay? Mine's giving me grief...

Oh dear! I just had a blonde moment. I just realised the hard drive wasn't turned on! HAHAHA

All working fine now mate! Cheers.

Does anyone know what would be the smallest wad?

@troa11

Yeah I was able to extract the opening.bnr no problems here.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: I'm midway through Prey, second watch. I also started another movie that I won't say to avoid...