How to get cheats working on R4?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by ShAdOwFuRi, Mar 12, 2009.

Mar 12, 2009
  1. ShAdOwFuRi
    OP

    Member ShAdOwFuRi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Australia
    So I've tried using the CHEAT.DAT file and the USRCHEAT.DAT file and neither of them work, it just says no cheats found.
    The main reason I want cheats working is so I can bypass the piracy protection on Dragon Quest V, so if anyone could help me out I would be very grateful.
    I've tried the r4buxfix and it doesn't seem to work... actually it doesn't even seem to patch for me despite the patch bar being complete.

    Thanks for the help in advance guys.
     
  2. markiss92

    Newcomer markiss92 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    i have the exact same problem as post above. i wanted to play GTA:CW and DQV and use cheats to get pass the piracy protection, but it says no cheats found. i put a couple more games onto my SD and none of them have cheats found.
     
  3. oboy_handy

    Newcomer oboy_handy Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I also have the same problem.. I use R4 DS with kernel V1.18, and have tried using CHEAT.DAT, and USRCHEAT.DAT. none work.. I have posted about it and someone told me about changing the game ID... but I really don't understand and he hasn't replied me back.
     
  4. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    it's pretty straightforward.

    get the new cheat.dat

    replace your old one with the new one

    that's it.
     
  5. jd506

    Newcomer jd506 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Why bother answering when you clearly don't know shit?

    R4 is picky about the size of the cheat file, try deleting the cheats you don't need with R4CCE.

    Also I found that I had to save the cheat file as unencrypted for it to work (R4CCE).
     
  6. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    that limitation doesn't affect a game like DQ V. that limitation affects games starting around P - Z. All cheats would show up, but after that, they wouldn't. since they can't get any cheats to show, the problem is different from what you're thinking. you don't seem to actually know how the r4 cheat bug actually works.

    also, the better recommendation is to use the UE file.

    if you're going to jump on me, get your facts straight.

    my solution solved his problem. had he responded that it didn't work, the next suggestion is to use the usrcheat. which, by the way is already unencrypted, so, no need for r4cce.

    there's no need to go into the whole idea of r4cce, when this person can't even get the regular cheats working and the UE file exists for the sole purpose of not needing to go in and delete codes using r4cce.

    i'm not sure what inspired you to go after me because i don't coddle moronic behavior, but you're going to need to better than a lame "GTFO"
     
  7. jd506

    Newcomer jd506 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure what *inspires* you to post.

    Like I said, you help no one and present no useful information beyond that of common sense.

    You should get your facts straight before you offer complete crap
    to people seeking actual help from competent R4 users.

    The "better recommendation" (UE) file is still going to be encrypted and contain too many codes for it to work.
     
  8. jd506

    Newcomer jd506 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    You can download R4CCE from Yasu's software page.
    http://hp.vector.co.jp/authors/VA013928/soft.html

    It's not hard to use. Really a must-have tool if you own an R4.
    Just trim out the cheats for the games that you don't need.

    Also, you need to use Yasu's R4 cheat bug fix if you haven't already.
    It patches your _DS_Menu.dat to get cheats working again.

    http://home.usay.jp/pc/etc/nds/
    "R4 kernal customizer", about halfway down.
     
  9. mewcuss

    Member mewcuss GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried to input the codes manually using a cheat code editor?

    I download a firmware (udate??) from gbatemp at the weekend that claimed to run gta and that seems to show most of the usrcheat files (except chrono trigger!!!). I have yet to try YSMenu.
    I tried to open the usercheat files downloaded from this site but it keeps crashing my r4cce (downloaded from r4 site).
    My own usercheat file opens through r4cce but I created it from the very same program.


    Yasu's cce seems to work with gbatemps cheat files although January download seems to be a bad file.
     
  10. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    once again, the usrcheat is alredy unencrypted, and the game in question is NOT affected by the r4 cheat bug

    and yeah, my answers stem from common sense. the r4 isn't a nuclear reactor. the most complicated thing to do on an r4 is build ysmenu (also nullifying the use of both the UE file and r4cce), and there's a bat file for that. all other maintenance is cutting and pasting files.

    the OP can't get cheats working, how savvy do you think they are? common sense is all they need.
     
  11. oboy_handy

    Newcomer oboy_handy Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes... I think you guys are both right about it. I did manage to use cheat again by using the cheat code editor, delete some unneccesary games to overcome the problem with the late alphabet games, etc. I also heard from someone in other forum about updating the game ID after DS lazy, as it changes the game ID hence it's not the same with the one in the database.. is that the same with what you guys usually do??
     
  12. niu

    Member niu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    United States
    R4 Ultra cheat engine have big bug.
    Recommend you use AKAIO 1.4.1
     
  13. Kefeng

    Newcomer Kefeng Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    France
    Do this firmware work on a R4 Ultra?
    Will my actually R4 Ultra Save file work with this firmware?
     
  14. Bamboo

    Member Bamboo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    Australia
    [​IMG]
     
  15. niu

    Member niu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page