How to Fix other PKMN Versions

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Ribesg, Mar 27, 2010.

Mar 27, 2010

How to Fix other PKMN Versions by Ribesg at 8:27 AM (2,345 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Ribesg
    OP

    Newcomer Ribesg Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    France
    Hi,
    Firstable I want to say that in this topic I speak with DS-scene Rom Listing numbers.
    As the M3 Team forgot to fix 4791 - Pokémon Version Argent: SoulSilver (F), I tried to fix it, and it works fine for me.
    You just have to open your SS Rom with a Hex Editor.
    At the start, they will be something like this :

    Code:
    POKEMON SSÂÂIPGF01
    In Hex :
    Code:
    50 47 4B 45 4D 4F 4E 20 53 53 00 00 49 50 47 46 30 31 00 00 0A
    Ok so the M3 firmware check what rom you open and what AP-fix to use (or not) by reading this. So you just have to tell the M3 that it's a Rom who already been fixed.
    We will replace the name and number by one of a fixed rom, I used 4786 - Pokémon Version Or: HeartGold (F).
    So I replaced :

    And it works. Also, the flashcard will use cheats from the fixed rom. Not a problem for me because cheats for the 2 (F) version are same, like for the 2 (U) version.

    You can use this to temporarly fix this roms : 4828, 4829, 4833, 4834, 4835 and the next to be released. That whould work if they did not add another AP.

    Thanks for reading, sorry for my english, and remember : THE PATCH WALKS ! XD

    PS : Maybe this works for other flashcards, I can't test this.
     
  2. Nanoflot

    Newcomer Nanoflot Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    don't work with 4828 and 4829 . They freeze after 20 mins


    use you touchpod or sakura?
     
  3. Ribesg
    OP

    Newcomer Ribesg Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    France
    You must have Sakura 1.47X or Touchpod 4.8
    You must have POKEMON HG IPKF01 at the start of your ROM.
     
  4. Lukasmo

    Newcomer Lukasmo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Germany
    So i got the German Version of SS, if do this wihich do i have to use? The one for the German version?
     
  5. powered_by_tux

    Member powered_by_tux GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    Germany
    There is no fix for the German versions on the M3 firmware yet, so you can only try the fixes for the US respectively the French version. Since the "fix" does not work for most people, it does not really matter however. I guess the real fix will come in the next update.
     
  6. Lukasmo

    Newcomer Lukasmo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Germany
    No i meant which cheat.db do i have to use for this. Cause it says that you will fix with this tut every Version of the Game.
     
  7. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    So what if you have Heartgold? Do you just do this method in reverse?
     
  8. powered_by_tux

    Member powered_by_tux GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    Germany
    I think the topic creator meant it this way:

    4786 was fixed by version 4.8, but 4791 was not. Since both are essentially the same, you can force the fix from 4791 on 4786 by hex editing the header of 4791 and changing it to that of 4786. Similarly, this can be done to other versions e.g. 4828, 4829.

    Adding to what I said earlier, the freezing only stops for you if you're super lucky. [​IMG]
     
  9. Van_Tastic

    Newcomer Van_Tastic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Morocco
    The patch doesn't seem to be working for me either (I'm using Pokémon Argent)
     
  10. Ribesg
    OP

    Newcomer Ribesg Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    France
    Sorry, I was busy.
    So, if the roms have all same AP, if you force the M3 Firmware to use AP-fix on this rom, it must work.
    It worked fine for me, my girlfriend play the french SS and me the HG, but the SS was not fixed.
    So I just forced the firmware to AP-fix the SS rom this way.
    But what I wanted to say was that you must use the name and code of a fixed ROM, so you can't use SS German rom to fix HG German rom.
    If AP are exactly the same, you can fix both SS and HG German rom by replacing the name and code in your rom by those from the French HG rom, or by those from one of the US rom.

    It works fixing SS (F) ROM with HG (F) ROM. Don't know for others, but I do not see why it would not work.
     

Share This Page