How to find internet password

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by tagzard, Jul 29, 2011.

Jul 29, 2011
  1. tagzard
    OP

    Banned tagzard Tagzard the Crazy Dinosaur with Wings.

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,452
    Location:
    Chicago Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    So my friend forgot their wifi password and their only device is a laptop that is already connected. How do i find their password?
     
  2. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Check the back of the router, etc.
     
  3. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    Do a factory reset on the router. The password will then become the default one.
     
  4. tagzard
    OP

    Banned tagzard Tagzard the Crazy Dinosaur with Wings.

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,452
    Location:
    Chicago Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    How do i do that?
     
  5. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Theres a small hole on the back of it.
    Get a pen and put it in it.
     
  6. pistone

    Member pistone GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    in your heart...coz secretly you love me !!!!
    Country:
    Albania
  7. tagzard
    OP

    Banned tagzard Tagzard the Crazy Dinosaur with Wings.

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,452
    Location:
    Chicago Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    What would the default one be?
     
  8. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We don't know if you don't post the router model.
     
  9. pistone

    Member pistone GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    in your heart...coz secretly you love me !!!!
    Country:
    Albania
    first try my link [​IMG]
    and when you will reset the chances are 2
    1.your wifi will not have a password
    2.the default password will be

    admin
     
  10. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You dont need to do any of that.

    Right click the wifi icon in the notification area, select 'open network and sharing center'.

    Click 'manage wireless networks' from the left panel.

    Double click your network connection.

    Click the 'security' tab.

    check the 'show characters' box.
     
  11. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Try to log in to the router's homepage by going to http://192.168.1.1 -OR- http://192.168.0.1 -OR- http://router/

    Try to log in with the default information (if necessary), with the username being admin and the password being password. Then you can go into the Wireless Configuration window to write down the wireless key.
     
  12. yusuo

    Member yusuo GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,191
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is the best option, why people would suggest you hard reset the router is beyond me, either do the steps above or log into your router and find the password that way
     
  13. Marlonguppy

    Member Marlonguppy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
                                  
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I have Windows 2000.
    Problem? :')
     
  14. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I assume the process for win2k would be similar, I'm using 7 right now, so I have no idea.
     
  15. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,706
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Earlier versions of windows might lack simple password reveals, fortunately we have the likes of
    http://www.oxid.it/cain.html

    Your AV or web security might say something and it is a kind of false positive- the program can be used by those playing hacker but this would be one of the legitimate uses.
     
  16. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Don't you think that CAIN is a bit too hardcore for an everyday joe? I'd recommend the Wireless Key Finder instead.
     

Share This Page