how to disable ads on apps

Discussion in 'Android' started by Coltonamore, Aug 2, 2012.

Aug 2, 2012

how to disable ads on apps by Coltonamore at 6:48 PM (1,264 Views / 0 Likes) 24 replies

  1. Coltonamore
    OP

    Member Coltonamore Time to stop Tron Bonne!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Kattelox Island
    Country:
    United States
    Please note I'm not sure if this works on all phones so do this at your own risk.

    To do this put your phone on airplane mode then load an app with ads in it there shoud not be any adds hope this works for everyone because it worked for me
     


  2. Cartmanuk

    Member Cartmanuk GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes this will work on some apps others remember the last ad so only works on some apps.
    Best way to stop ads is to download full version
     
  3. pyromaniac123

    Member pyromaniac123 ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็(ಠ益ಠส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,000
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Misleading title. This only stops ads from loading.
     
  4. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,652
    Country:
    United States
    ...unless you need the internet for the app.

    Jailbroken Iphones can get iadblock and i think there is something for android too.
     
  5. Damian666

    Member Damian666 Coder from Hell

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    In your code...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    dowload the free addfree app, disables everything, problem is you need to be rooted though.
     
  6. Coltonamore
    OP

    Member Coltonamore Time to stop Tron Bonne!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Kattelox Island
    Country:
    United States
    I can't root my phone because I'll get banned from the service
     
  7. Damian666

    Member Damian666 Coder from Hell

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    In your code...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    banned from service? what serice? never heard of that...

    i dont think they can do that...
     
  8. Coltonamore
    OP

    Member Coltonamore Time to stop Tron Bonne!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Kattelox Island
    Country:
    United States
    Well I read in the manual also I'm on straight talk
     
  9. pyromaniac123

    Member pyromaniac123 ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็(ಠ益ಠส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,000
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's just there to scare you and it looks like it worked.
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've never heard of any network doing this. I don't think they get to see the lock status of your bootloader or the version of Android you're running directly. They would certainly be at a loss to justify booting you off the service when exemptions for Rooting and Jailbreaking are built into the DMCA now. Your warranty would be completely voided though (unless you managed to get it back to complete stock)

    When we say "do this at your own risk" to cover ourselves its generally because the guide involves making the device do something odd via a glitch or completely reflashing the firmware or both. These interefere directly with the device's operation. Airplane mode is a feature built into all smartphones. There is NO RISK from placing your phone in Flight Mode.
     
  11. Coltonamore
    OP

    Member Coltonamore Time to stop Tron Bonne!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Kattelox Island
    Country:
    United States
    The only app I did this on was jahn gbc lite emulator
     
  12. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Well I don't have any trouble with this since I mostly download cracked .apk's.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  13. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,191
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I just use an app to remove ads

    its pretty lucky, its a great patcher to remove ads
    :ha:

    said app needs root access to remove ads and whatnot though
     
  14. Damian666

    Member Damian666 Coder from Hell

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    In your code...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    so, get to xda, and root your phone, nothing bad will get from that.
     
  15. Mario92

    Member Mario92 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Location:
    Finland
    Country:
    Finland
    OK some of you people actually should be ashamed. Great companies and individuals are making huge amount of work and giving it free so they can cover their costs with ads. Like Cartmanuk said in second post if you really like some software and dislike ads that much just buy full/pro/whatevertheycallit version. Google has actually made license that if app has too many and disturbing ads it may get removed from Play so ads shouldn't be much problem, right? Also I bought many pro versions and most of them are around 1 fucking euro including Apex launcher, Amazing Alex and even GTA 3 has been under euro for several times!

    Rooting is OK even that manufacturers and providers seem to dislike it (maybe becouse you can run more advanced programs and customization which isn't good for basic user). It may actually be security thread but if you don't install APK files ouside Google Play and/or trusted source and have superuser app to promp when using root you should be fine. If you are afraid just install some anti virus bloatware and you are safe'rrrr.
    Actually it's thread to install APK from random site even without root so if I were AlanJohn I would double check every installed software what permissions they actually have before some russian knows your mamas phone number.

    Got little offtopic but:
    If you really really really want to get rid of ads of everywhere then there is better solution than using airplane mode which shuts off every wireless technology on phone. It's called AdFree Android and it just redirects all known adsites requests to localhost which then returns nothing = no ads displayed.
    https://play.google.....android.adfree
    AAAAND it needs ROOT access :P
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    ^ - You do realize you're on a hacking/piracy forum, right? What, pirating an android app is bad while pirating a Wii game is not because it's often individuals that make them, not companies?
     
  17. AskaLangly

    Newcomer AskaLangly Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Riiight. Root your phone and get AdFree to update your hosts file. Simple. But no instructions here.
    BTW, running a de-bloated Samsung Fascinate, on 2.3.5. Tried many ICS ROMs and they have failed at some point. Reverted to stock, rooted, and I'm STAYING.
    Now, if I can get my hands on the GalaxySIII... but Verizon locked the bootloader!!! :O
     
  18. pyromaniac123

    Member pyromaniac123 ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็(ಠ益ಠส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,000
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    T-mobile said rooting my phone would void the warranty. I rooted it as soon as I took it out of the box.
     
    2 people like this.
  19. blainy

    Member blainy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    australia
    Country:
    Australia


    as if you wouldn't!
     
  20. Damian666

    Member Damian666 Coder from Hell

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    In your code...
    Country:
    Netherlands

    you do know this is the temp right? where we have backup loaders and flashcards? O.o

    like we give a flying f*ck about piracy... xd
     

Share This Page