How to delete predownloaded update?

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by Shadowrun97, Jan 29, 2016.

  1. Shadowrun97
    OP

    Shadowrun97 Member

    Newcomer
    24
    3
    Oct 1, 2015
    Angola
    Hey,
    can someone explain to me how to delete a predownloaded update from the cache?

    The N3DS XL (9.0, pasta cfw) is not connected to the internet. The update message comes from time to time and I'm afraid that my sister performs the update accidentally.

    Thanks for your help!

    Shadow
     
    Last edited by Shadowrun97, Jan 29, 2016
  2. MsMidnight

    MsMidnight part time fe modder

    Member
    1,753
    1,308
    Oct 12, 2015
    kys
    dont know if it can be removed bud
     
  3. Robmead23

    Robmead23 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    Robmead23 is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    130
    27
    Nov 6, 2015
    I have read somewhere if you force the system into recovery mode then restart it removes the nag but I never tried as I never had the problem
     
  4. Viri

    Viri GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,233
    1,122
    Sep 13, 2009
    United States
  5. Shadowrun97
    OP

    Shadowrun97 Member

    Newcomer
    24
    3
    Oct 1, 2015
    Angola
    @Viri

    This method isn't working for me. When I cancel the update it shows "You can update later in the system setting" but the n3ds won't turn off after that. :/ When I reboot the n3ds manually the update question comes again.
     
  6. Viri

    Viri GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,233
    1,122
    Sep 13, 2009
    United States
    Hm, I don't have a n3DS, so maybe someone else can answer that one.
     
  7. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,504
    6,095
    Apr 20, 2015
    United States
    Tigard, OR
    you're supposed to enter recovery mode by holding L+R+Up+A when the system turns on. you have to do this pretty early.

    it will then ask if you want to update. tap Cancel. this should delete it.

    if you need help with how early to press it, here's a video
     
  8. Shadowrun97
    OP

    Shadowrun97 Member

    Newcomer
    24
    3
    Oct 1, 2015
    Angola
    Okay, I got it. I held the buttons not long enough. Oo

    > started the recovery mode
    > got the message that I have to activate WIFI
    > Cancel
    > It turned off automatically
    > update message is no longer displayed

    Thanks for your help!
     
    Robmead23 likes this.
  9. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Member
    11,834
    6,359
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    Now set Youtube DNS and your 3DS will no longer download any updates.
     
    dubbz82 likes this.
  10. dubbz82

    dubbz82 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,512
    815
    Feb 2, 2014
    United States

    This. Probably even more ideal to do it before you wipe out the system update so there's zero chance of it downloading again. If you don't do this, the update will eventually pull down again, and you'll be back at square one.
     
  11. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,504
    6,095
    Apr 20, 2015
    United States
    Tigard, OR
    I think the 3DS will check every 24 hours for a new update, so it's not going to start right away. even then, you could just go to recovery mode again if needed.
     
    Quantumcat likes this.