Tutorial  Updated

How to boot Linux on your Switch

THIS GUIDE IS DEPRECATED
THIS IS BETTER https://github.com/natinusala/painless-linux


I've successfully booted ArchLinux using ShofEL2. Here is a quick guide on how to do it - I'll assume you're computer literate and know how to use a terminal / Linux commands / git.
Everything is taken from the README of the ShofEL2 repo so if you want to go even faster, go read that instead.

Thanks to NightHammer1000 and Y2K-x for the help !

There is a simplified and faster version of this tutorial available here, with precompiled binaries so you don't have to build everything : https://github.com/SoulCipher/shofel2_linux

The result

Without a SD card ("waiting for root device mmcblk0p2") : https://photos.app.goo.gl/7y6ut5ObuHMUIMZg2
Stock Arch Linux : https://photos.app.goo.gl/yALqe3zMZRe2dSQf1
Arch Linux with LXDE : https://photos.app.goo.gl/xaEgRqeSi8jvAwpz5
RetroArch running : https://photos.app.goo.gl/vBLPo5wiBto1qiUH3
Arch Linux with GNOME : https://gbatemp.net/attachments/img_0005-jpg.121608/
Arch Linux with KDE : https://gbatemp.net/attachments/img_20180427_121605-jpg.121666/

What works / what doesn't
  • Desktop environment : Gnome, LXDE, KDE
  • Wi-Fi : works
    • You will need to reboot your Switch and run the exploit again to make the Wi-Fi work (it never works on the first boot)
    • Then enter the Network Manager Application and add your network from there
    • If it doesn't work, you will need to edit the configuration on the host computer (see the additional notes at the end of this post)
    • With LXDE : Can cause a kernel panic if used at the same time as Bluetooth
  • Bluetooth : works but Joy-Cons can't be paired
  • Touch screen : works, although LXDE is not very touch-friendly
  • Audio : doesn't work yet
  • GPU acceleration : works (via mesa), with OpenGL (and maybe Vulkan too ?)
  • Joy-Cons : not recognized
  • Volume buttons : working with Gnome but not doing anything since there is no audio device
  • Power button : doesn't do anything, no sleep mode, no graceful shutdown
  • USB : doesn't work
  • Dock : not tested yet, but I bet it doesn't do anything besides charging the battery
  • Power management / battery level : working with Gnome
What you'll need
  • A computer running Linux with a blue USB SuperSpeed port, or a Mac
    • A Linux VM can work in theory, but it depends on how the USB passthrough is implemented (apparently VMWare works, VirtualBox doesn't)
  • A USB A-to-C cable (with data support, obviously)
    • be careful as cheap cables were reported to work randomly / not work at all
  • Some time (you know, Linux is kinda large)

Prep work

First, you'll need to install the required toolchains. Open this link and download the tar.gz binaries for
  • aarch64-linux-gnu
  • arm-linux-gnueabi
Be careful to choose the right architecture for your PC (for me it was x86_64 so "gcc-linaro-7.2.1-2017.11-x86_64_arm-linux-gnueabi.tar.xz").

Once you have them, extract them somewhere nice and add the "bin" (not "lib" as I previously stated) folder of both toolchains to your PATH ("$ export PATH=$PATH:/path/to/toolchain1/lib:/path/to/toolchain2/lib"). The building process won't work otherwise.

Then, install those dependencies (how to install them and their name might depend on your distribution) :
  • build-essential (sorry I didn't add it it was obvious to me)
  • libssl-dev
  • swig
  • bison
  • pkg-config
  • flex
  • zlib1g-dev
  • python3
  • python-dev
  • python3-pip
  • pyusb 1.0.0 : "$ sudo pip3 install pyusb==1.0.0"
  • libusb-1.0-0-dev

Compiling

Clone each required repository :

Code:
$ git clone https://github.com/fail0verflow/shofel2.git
$ git clone --recursive --depth=1 https://github.com/fail0verflow/switch-coreboot.git coreboot
$ git clone https://github.com/fail0verflow/switch-u-boot.git u-boot
$ git clone --depth=1 https://github.com/fail0verflow/switch-linux.git linux
$ git clone https://github.com/boundarydevices/imx_usb_loader.git

You can grab a coffee or two because Linux has more than 5 million files to download.

Then, build everything :

Code:
$ cd shofel2/exploit
$ make

Code:
$ cd u-boot
$ export CROSS_COMPILE=aarch64-linux-gnu-
$ make nintendo-switch_defconfig
$ make

Code:
$ cd coreboot
$ make nintendo_switch_defconfig
$ make iasl
$ make

If you have a tegra_mtc.bin file error, you'll have to extract it from a Pixel C stock image :
"$ ./build/util/cbfstool/cbfstool bootloader-dragon-google_smaug.7900.97.0.img extract -n fallback/tegra_mtc -f tegra_mtc.bin"

Or you can download it directly from here : https://0w0.st/tegra_mtc.bin (thanks to @CptPotato for uploading this)

You'll have to put it in the "coreboot/src/soc/nvidia/tegra210" directory.

Code:
$ cd imx_usb_loader
$ git reset --hard 0a322b01cacf03e3be727e3e4c3d46d69f2e343e
$ make

The big one :

Code:
$ cd linux
$ export ARCH=arm64
$ export CROSS_COMPILE=aarch64-linux-gnu-
$ make nintendo-switch_defconfig
$ make

If you encounter issues about a missing rule "/lib/firmware/nvidia/tegra210/vic04_ucode.bin" for the target "firmware" you'll have to :
  • install the firmware-misc-nonfree package
  • if you can't install it, or if it still doesn't work, download the package manually from debian sid and extract the file "/lib/firmware/nvidia/tegra210/vic04_ucode.bin" (from the root of your PC, not on the cloned repo) from the DEB (and chmod it if needed)
If you encounter issues about a missing rule "/lib/firmware/brcm/brcmfmac4356-pcie.txt", download this file and put it in "/lib/firmware/brcm/" (from the root of your PC, not on the cloned repo)

Building the rootfs

This is the annoying part. Download the archive / image corresponding to the distribution you want to use :
If it's a tarball you just downloaded

While it's downloading, you'll have to take a microSD card and, using the software of your choice (I used GParted) :
  • remove every existing partition to only have unallocated space on it (do I need to tell you that you're going to loose everything on the card ?)
  • create a tiny FAT32 partition (I chose 200mb but it doesn't matter) - that'll be mmcbkl0p1, you can label it "garbage"
  • create an ext4 partition on the remaining part of the card - that'll be mmcblk0p2, you can label it "rootfs"
  • it's important that the FAT32 partition comes first and the ext4 one comes after - on the Switch, Linux will look for mmcblk0p2, the second partition, if you have scrolling boot logs and then back to RCM it means you did it wrong
Once the rootfs tarball is downloaded, you can simple extract it to the mounting point of the ext4 partition you just created :

Code:
$ tar xvf ArchLinuxARM-aarch64-latest.tar.gz -C /mounting/point/of/ext4/partition && sync
$ cp ArchLinuxARM-aarch64-latest.tar.gz /mounting/point/of/ext4/partition/root && sync

("/mounting/point/of/ext4/partition/root" is the "root" directory on the partition)

Don't forget to properly eject the SD Card !

If "tar xvf" doesn't work for you you can install "bsdtar" and use "bsdtar -xpf" instead

Then you can put the SD card in the console.

If it's a img / bin file you just downloaded

You can simply write it on your SD card using :
  • If you're on Windows, Ether or Win32DiskImager
  • If you're on Linux / Mac OS : "sudo dd if=yourimage.img of=/dev/sdX && sync" where /dev/sdX is the device of your SD card (unmounted)
You will probably want to open a partition manager to resize the ext4 partition once it's flashed, so that it fits your SD card.

Then you can put the SD card in the console.

Booting linux

Run the exploit :

Code:
$ cd shofel2/exploit
$ sudo ./shofel2.py cbfs.bin ../../coreboot/build/coreboot.rom

Your terminal should now be waiting for the Switch to enter RCM mode.

To do so : (I don't have pictures but that's the same method as fusée gelée, just look at some video tutorials)
  • plug the Switch on your PC using the USB A-to-C cable - use a blue SuperSpeed port if you have one
  • shut it down
  • remove the right joy-con
  • using a method of your choice, short the 10th pin of the right joy-con (the last pin on the right, away from the screen, closer to the back) with the ground : that can be pin 1, 2 or 7, that can also be a screw on the joy-con rack or the console's fan - I personnaly stick a RPi jumper wire in the fan and touch the 10th pin on the other side, works everytime (like this)
  • keep the pins shorted and power the Switch while pressing the volume UP button
If it worked, the console will show a black screen and you'll see the exploit running on your terminal. If you see the Nintendo logo, it has failed. You can power off the console and try again.

Then, run those last commands :

Code:
$ cd shofel2/usb_loader
$ ../../u-boot/tools/mkimage -A arm64 -T script -C none -n "boot.scr" -d switch.scr switch.scr.img
$ sudo ../../imx_usb_loader/imx_usb -c .

Linux should then boot on your console - first the boot logs with the penguins, and then an ArchLinux login prompt. Voilà !
Again, if you have the boot logs and then a black screen, it means you did the SD card part wrong.

Additional notes

Hardware graphics acceleration


The most recents image already contain this fix.

To add mesa drivers install this package using pacman :
https://0w0.st/mesa-full-tegra-r101876.bf5e0276b6-1-aarch64.pkg.tar.xz

You will need a working internet connection to do so.

Then, use this script to choose your power profile : https://0w0.st/power.sh

Full speed RAM


According to the blog post ("Linux on Switch boot chain" section), you need to extract a file from a Pixel C factory image in order to have the RAM working at full speed. I didn't do it so I won't cover it here.

Fixing calibration issues of the touch screen (thanks to @Wizardy)

To fix calibration issues of the touch screen, edit the file /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-evdev.confg (of the rootfs)

And change the InputClass section to :

Code:
Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "evdev touchscreen catchall"
        MatchIsTouchscreen "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "evdev"
        Option "InvertX" "no"
        Option "InvertY" "yes"
        Option "SwapAxes" "yes"
        Option "Calibration" "0 1279 0 719"
EndSection

Wi-Fi

To setup Wi-Fi, mount the rootfs partition on your host PC and edit the configuration for your network in the file "/etc/NetworkManager/system-connections" (if it doesn't exist, take Gigaspot).

To have a working Wi-Fi you must reboot your Switch and run the exploit again each time you power it off

Moving the rootfs to another partition

If you want to move the rootfs to another partition on your SD card, edit the "shofel2/usb_loader/switch.scr" file and replace "/dev/mmcblk0p2" by the partition you want to use.
 
Last edited by natinusala,

Gigaa

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2018
Messages
108
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Norway
Website
giga.is
XP
130
Country
Norway
I think I actually remember reading that article. I should have known. Thanks. Do you have any cables you recommend?
I have heard good things about the oneplus cables, i also use it my self. But don't buy those unless you need fast charging on a oneplus device as they are kinda expensive.
Other that that i'm kinda blank really. I guess official phone chargers should be fine as they deal with data-transfer as well and not just charging.
 

Gigaa

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2018
Messages
108
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Norway
Website
giga.is
XP
130
Country
Norway

Gnarmagon

Noob <3
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2016
Messages
647
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
794
Country
Germany
https://github.com/SoulCipher/shofel2_linux This should have the kernel fix.

Maybe the download got corrupted somehow, can you tell me what file it is and do a cksum of it?
Hashes are:
File: KDE_rootfs3.tar.bz2
CRC-32: 98b8e4ea
MD5: 7f3ad09ff5c7cc113d37cd132ff70c43
SHA-1: 86adbb6e2357d8f1dceb26e40f68db58231ff97a
SHA-256: a99444733f1005cfb8600e2cc8ee078bc2d68fc057d9a95b089350c5832b1932
SHA-512: 332ca7e356da5b575309cdf343e6bd664d91430877aa06c10a87fa6f8bd6c8cc07c0e68a836f040ae6697c35907d35bf0ce992ad819ddcb1ada6eb6e959b8246
 

Gigaa

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2018
Messages
108
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Norway
Website
giga.is
XP
130
Country
Norway
Hashes are:
File: KDE_rootfs3.tar.bz2
CRC-32: 98b8e4ea
MD5: 7f3ad09ff5c7cc113d37cd132ff70c43
SHA-1: 86adbb6e2357d8f1dceb26e40f68db58231ff97a
SHA-256: a99444733f1005cfb8600e2cc8ee078bc2d68fc057d9a95b089350c5832b1932
SHA-512: 332ca7e356da5b575309cdf343e6bd664d91430877aa06c10a87fa6f8bd6c8cc07c0e68a836f040ae6697c35907d35bf0ce992ad819ddcb1ada6eb6e959b8246
Ok so the md5 checksum does not match at all (92807f9870c5f53e82b53d2d8ad1d558) so it's highly likely that this is in fact a corrupt download file.
You should try to re-download it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Gnarmagon

natinusala

Win32 error 31 is not an error
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2012
Messages
1,032
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
2,914
Country
France
@Gigaa it looks like the "normal" power mode makes the system very unstable, each time I enable it the console crashes after 5min (not back to RCM), whether I'm doing CPU or GPU intensive tasks. The console also heats up a lot.
 

kennieth

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 29, 2018
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
123
XP
50
Country
United States
Will there be a simpler to do all of this when the jailbreak or hack is fully out? I'm not experienced with programming and porting programs to any type of system. Pease Reply Quickly.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Will there be a simpler to do all of this when the jailbreak or hack is fully out? I'm not experienced with programming and porting programs to any type of system. Pease Reply Quickly.
Or maybe a visual tutorial
 

Gigaa

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2018
Messages
108
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Norway
Website
giga.is
XP
130
Country
Norway
@Gigaa it looks like the "normal" power mode makes the system very unstable, each time I enable it the console crashes after 5min (not back to RCM), whether I'm doing CPU or GPU intensive tasks. The console also heats up a lot.
Rip, that should be the frequency that it uses while in the dock, i guess you could go "low".
I will change the script a bit to make it have a lower frequency as "normal".
Will there be a simpler to do all of this when the jailbreak or hack is fully out? I'm not experienced with programming and porting programs to any type of system. Pease Reply Quickly.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


Or maybe a visual tutorial
Yes, all of this will be obsolete in a mater of months, this just a fun project really.
 
  • Like
Reactions: natinusala

gog3

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
91
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
485
Country
United States
Are there any fixes for this screen tearing?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20180429_140629.jpg
    IMG_20180429_140629.jpg
    183 KB · Views: 286

Type_O_Dev

Developer
Developer
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
683
Trophies
0
XP
1,469
Country
United States
@natinusala FYI, if you want to update your OP, I now have an Ubuntu 18.04 image people can download: 1.23 GB bionic.tgz

Since this is Ubuntu have you tried installing nvidia l4t drivers

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Rip, that should be the frequency that it uses while in the dock, i guess you could go "low".
I will change the script a bit to make it have a lower frequency as "normal".

Yes, all of this will be obsolete in a mater of months, this just a fun project really.

Have you looked at following code from Tegra_Linux_Driver_package

Code:
sudo su
echo userspace > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
echo userspace > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/cpufreq/scaling_governor
echo userspace > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu2/cpufreq/scaling_governor
echo userspace > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu3/cpufreq/scaling_governor
cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq > \
 /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq
cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq > \
 /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq
cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu2/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq > \
 /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu2/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq
cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu3/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq > \
 /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu3/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq
echo 0 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpuquiet/tegra_cpuquiet/enable
for file in /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/online; do
 if [ `cat $file` -eq 0 ]; then
 echo 1 > $file
 fi
done
echo runnable > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpuquiet/current_governor
cat /sys/kernel/debug/clock/gpu_dvfs_t
cat /sys/kernel/debug/clock/dvfs_table
cat /sys/kernel/debug/clock/gbus/max >
/sys/kernel/debug/clock/override.gbus/rate
echo 1 > /sys/kernel/debug/clock/override.gbus/state
 
  • Like
Reactions: natinusala

Gigaa

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2018
Messages
108
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Norway
Website
giga.is
XP
130
Country
Norway
Since this is Ubuntu have you tried installing nvidia l4t drivers

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



Have you looked at following code from Tegra_Linux_Driver_package

Code:
sudo su
echo userspace > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
echo userspace > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/cpufreq/scaling_governor
echo userspace > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu2/cpufreq/scaling_governor
echo userspace > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu3/cpufreq/scaling_governor
cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq > \
 /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq
cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq > \
 /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq
cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu2/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq > \
 /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu2/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq
cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu3/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq > \
 /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu3/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq
echo 0 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpuquiet/tegra_cpuquiet/enable
for file in /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/online; do
 if [ `cat $file` -eq 0 ]; then
 echo 1 > $file
 fi
done
echo runnable > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpuquiet/current_governor
cat /sys/kernel/debug/clock/gpu_dvfs_t
cat /sys/kernel/debug/clock/dvfs_table
cat /sys/kernel/debug/clock/gbus/max >
/sys/kernel/debug/clock/override.gbus/rate
echo 1 > /sys/kernel/debug/clock/override.gbus/state
Neat, will check it out.
Hi,

Can anyone told me how to use the toolchains on mac os ?
I've downloaded the x86_64 and put it in my $PATH environment but i get an error.

Thanks
If you somehow got it compiled you would still have to modify the python script to be more mac "friendly. That's not easy, trust me i tried.
If i where you i would just install linux on spare computer (with usb3) or just dual boot it on your mac.
 

Type_O_Dev

Developer
Developer
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
683
Trophies
0
XP
1,469
Country
United States
  • Like
Reactions: Gigaa

masterclimby

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 21, 2013
Messages
19
Trophies
0
XP
260
Country
United States
@Gigaa it looks like the "normal" power mode makes the system very unstable, each time I enable it the console crashes after 5min (not back to RCM), whether I'm doing CPU or GPU intensive tasks. The console also heats up a lot.
@natinusala Instead of running the following:
Code:
echo 0a > /sys/kernel/debug/dri/0/pstate

Try running the following:
Code:
echo 0a > /sys/kernel/debug/dri/128/pstate

if that doesn't work, try the same command with 129, as they may switch, depending what is loaded first. See if that is more stable. I'm running the following using 0d (998 mhz) with no stability issues so far.
 

Attachments

  • fhY7IW9.png
    fhY7IW9.png
    86.8 KB · Views: 307
  • MAL6ZMl.png
    MAL6ZMl.png
    53.5 KB · Views: 290
  • galaxy.png
    galaxy.png
    70.3 KB · Views: 254
  • galaxy2.png
    galaxy2.png
    76.4 KB · Views: 286
Last edited by masterclimby,
  • Like
Reactions: Tommy084 and Gigaa

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: see ya