How to access EPIC MODE! on Super Mario Bros. 3 with nesDS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Chaos Rush, Apr 8, 2012.

  1. Chaos Rush
    OP

    Member Chaos Rush GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    United States
    So I was toying with the settings on the most recent version of nesDS, and I came up with this thing I call "EPIC MODE!!!!". It only works with Super Mario Bros. 3.

    What is EPIC MODE!!!!!? Well you can play Super Mario Bros. 3 without ugly scaling. And still see the HUD. Here's how to access EPIC MODE!!!.

    1. Load a Super Mario Bros. 3 NES rom on nesDS
    2. Whenever you feel like it, open the touch screen menu
    3. Go to "Game", then touch the "Show All Pixel" label so that is says YES above it
    4. Now go to Game--> Display--> Adjust Scaling
    5. Now take your DS stylus and touch the bottom screen around the top left corner, so that the numbers in the middle says "0000" (first row) and "FDC0" (second row, doesn't have to be exact)
    6. ???
    7. PROFIT!


    Here is what EPIC MODE!!!!! looks like:
    [​IMG]

    There's no fugly scaling involved, and the HUD is conveniently placed on the bottom screen like many DS games. It's just so epic that I felt like I needed to teach other people EPIC MODE!!!!! because of how awesome it is.
     
    ipwndeveloper and Ammako like this.
  2. gloweyjoey

    Member gloweyjoey who??

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    842
    Country:
    United States
    I'm waiting for the epic part...
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    You can do this with the newest version?
    ...I haven't been keeping up with these then. Last I remembered he removed the feature that allowed you to display the game on both screens.
     
  4. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Dude, you missed it. It's in the title in CAPS.

    Look again :P

    OP: Step 6 is wrong.

    However, neat. Actually didn't know it was possible to extend the display to the 2nd screen in nesDS.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. UltraMew

    Banned UltraMew GBATemp's Mew PRETENDING TO BE FOXI4 4 A DAY

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    861
    Location:
    Flying a blue hedgehog around
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, it works! :yaynds:
     

Share This Page