How good is my computer?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by I am r4ymond, Sep 27, 2010.

Sep 27, 2010

How good is my computer? by I am r4ymond at 1:52 AM (3,816 Views / 0 Likes) 49 replies

  1. I am r4ymond
    OP

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    So it has come to a question of curiosity: How good is my computer? I don't really know a lot about the components of a computer. All I know is how to operate a computer and the basic-intermediate knowledge of a computer.

    Here's the information for my computer:

    Type: Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit

    System Manufacturer: Compaq-Presario

    System Type: X86-based PC

    Processor: AMD Athlon? Dual Core Processor 4450e, 2300 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)

    Installed Physical Memory (RAM): 3.00 GB

    Name: NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430

    Adapter RAM: 128.00 MB (134,217,728 bytes)

    Resolution: 1440 x 900 x 74 hertz


    I think that's enough information to determine whether it's a good computer or not. Oh, and I got this computer for $400-600 without speakers.
     


  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Processor's a cut-back edition, but perfectly fine for normal stuff.

    The RAM amount is fine.

    The video card's a piece of shit, but that's normal for non-gaming computers.
     
  3. Megane

    Member Megane GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    Canada
    At least it's not integrated.
     
  4. I am r4ymond
    OP

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    I experience lag most of the times whenever I play games, so that explains it. One example is too much smoke grenades at once. That lags me a lot.
     
  5. Dangy

    Member Dangy Twisting Your Mind & Smashing Your Dreams

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,391
    Country:
    United States
    Depends on what you want to know what it's "good" for.
     
  6. I am r4ymond
    OP

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    I mean gaming and performance terms.
     
  7. xmrnogatcox

    Newcomer xmrnogatcox Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    It's not a terrible rig IMO.

    I personally HATE Compaq, but they have a good price point. They use shit Motherboards.

    You didn't say if it was DDR, DDR2, or DDR3. I'm guessing it's DDR2.

    Vista is garbage.

    If you don't game, and you know some stuff about computers, your rig is mid- to upper-mid level.
     
  8. The litte temper

    Newcomer The litte temper Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    thats what makes it bad
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    http://anandtech.com/systems/showdoc.aspx?i=3666&p=7
    There's seven pages of benchmarks showing that XP < Vista < 7 in terms of performance.

    The terrible gaming has nothing to do with Vista, it's because he has a shitty integrated video card.

    If you don't know fact from fiction, do not post. This is my only warning before I get mean.
     
  10. xmrnogatcox

    Newcomer xmrnogatcox Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    The guy never said a THING about gaming until the second post.

    READ.

    He was asking if it was a good computer, not specifically for gaming.
    I'm not going there with you again.

    EDIT:
    Anyway, who was comparing it with XP? I don't know where you got that, but I didn't say anything about it.
     
  11. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    nevermind
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The posts I'm talking about came AFTER that second post of his. :\

    READ.
     
  13. MrCooper

    Member MrCooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    The United States of retard
    Country:
    United States
    XP runs so much smoother than Vista for me no matter what computer I'm using
     
  14. xmrnogatcox

    Newcomer xmrnogatcox Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
     
  15. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    OH GOD, STOP BEFORE THE FURRY GOES BALLISTIC!


    I think the rig is fine, but you don't have the best video card.


    NOW RUN.
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    No, seriously, it's a total piece of shit video card. It's low-end integrated from 4-5 years ago. It's total shit for modern games.

    If he's going to upgrade for gaming, it needs to be the graphics card. Not the OS or anything else.
     
  17. xmrnogatcox

    Newcomer xmrnogatcox Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    You might want to make sure that your power supply is strong enough for an upgraded video card. I've had numerous customers who bought a GTX 250 or higher or a Radeon 5700 series with a low-end weak PSU. It will crash the PC.
     
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Most definitely listen to this. Never overtax your power supply, as if it dies it could take out other parts in your system with it, permanently.
     
  19. xmrnogatcox

    Newcomer xmrnogatcox Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    Also, if you plan on getting a Higher-End card, make sure your motherboard has a PCI-E 2.0 slot. With a name-brand machine, you USUALLY can't upgrade JUST your video card to a good one. You have to upgrade a component or two more often than not.
     
  20. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    2.0's backwards compatible, and AFAIK only the highest-end cards (I'm talking dual-PCB cards) aturate 1.0's bandwidth.
     

Share This Page