how do you run gamecube iso's on wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by CrimsonRose, Jul 22, 2009.

Jul 22, 2009
  1. CrimsonRose
    OP

    Newcomer CrimsonRose Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Canada
    ok so ive been searching for a few hours now and i found dolphin but i dont know how to use that on my wii. and is there a different way to run them? i have a soft modded wii 4.1
     


  2. emupaul

    Member emupaul GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    space
    Country:
    United States
    install mios rev9 and google WiiGator Gc backup launcher.
     
  3. CrimsonRose
    OP

    Newcomer CrimsonRose Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Canada
    do you know where the mios rev9 download is? cause i checked google and it doesnt say or it just says cios instead of mios
     
  4. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    If you're too lazy to Google for GameCube Backup Launcher, click here

    Can some provide the link to download MIOS rev9, instead of searching on Google?

    EDIT: I think it's in wrong section of this topic...
     
  5. emupaul

    Member emupaul GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    space
    Country:
    United States
    TPB "cmios"

    *yes this is the wrong section*
     
  6. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    When I search though The Pirate Bay, there's one results found. It's not cMIOS rev9.

    Can some provide the link to download MIOS rev9, instead of searching on Google AND The Pirate Bay?
     
  7. CrimsonRose
    OP

    Newcomer CrimsonRose Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Canada
    well its technically emulation cause im looking how for the emulator and how to use it
     
  8. fennec

    Newcomer fennec Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    France
    The Wii can play gamecube games without emultor ! The Wii is just a gamecube with faster CPU and blutooth for wiimotes ....
     
  9. CrimsonRose
    OP

    Newcomer CrimsonRose Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Canada
    fail...we are talking about running gamecube roms, iso's etc [​IMG]
     
  10. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    so with your logic, USB Loader and Backup Launcher belong to emulation too ? [​IMG]

    sorry but no, running gamecube games on the wii is "technically" not emulation [​IMG]
    and dolphin is an emulatorfor your computer, not for the Wii, to run GC backups on the Wii you run a WiiGator GC Launcher & cMIOS as stated above, I don't think you can run GC isos yet in Wii mode
     
  11. hughjass

    Member hughjass GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Um, no, you fail.

    There is no such thing as a gamecube rom. Iso's are a disc image format that gamecube games can be made into. It's simply an image of the disk.

    This IS the wrong section. It's not emulation, there is no gamecube emulator for the wii. The wii runs gamecube games natively through it's hardware. As others have said, the wii essentially IS a gamecube, albeit a souped up one, so there would be no point in emulating GC games on it.

    Backup launchers simply run 'backups' of games that were designed to run on a system. Emulators run games on systems they were not designed for, through software that pretends to be the original hardware the software was designed for.
     
  12. fennec

    Newcomer fennec Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    France
    If you want to run isos just buy a $5 SDGecko, as others said this has nothing to do with emulation. You put your isos on SDCard then the SDCard in the SDGecko, finallly the SDGecko in a gamecube port. You have to install hacked mios and use sdload.
     
  13. CrimsonRose
    OP

    Newcomer CrimsonRose Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Canada
    um no u fail... i know theres no gamecube roms thats kind of obvious its just what i call games that are put on the internet and i was checking to see of there is an emulator to run gamecube "iso's" or if there was another way [​IMG] on my wii and i got a answer and that was the mios rev9 and backup launcher.
     
  14. boomtisk

    Newcomer boomtisk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Germany
    Ummm, like they said, running Gamecube games on Wii isn't emulation. The Wii's hardware runs them natively without the need for an emulator. What you're looking for is a Gabecube iso launcher, not an emulator.

    Have you ever tried popping a Gamecube disc into your Wii? It will run it as if it were a Gamecube without the help of any software.
     
  15. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    The wii is a gamecube with extra functions.
    GC mode can be seen as an emulator, but thats not really correct.

    Anyway, thats not the point of the topic. If you want to get the GC backup launcher to work, any cMIOS will do. Posting links to cMIOS is not allowed here. Links to installers can be posted.

    A MIOS patcher is included with the GC backup launcher.
    Waninkoko's MIOS can be found on his blog

    also, there is no specific patcher for MIOSr9
    you'll just have to find RVL-MIOS-v9.wad and use it with wiigators MIOS patcher.
     
  16. scrappy

    Newcomer scrappy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Germany
    Serious Troll warning.
    So rounding up several Topics and postings of CrimsonRose: You don´t know how to get homebrew to work on the Wii.
    You don´t know what an emulator does, you don´t want to read any of the tutorials or stickies, you are not aware that you have to burn GC Isos to disks, you don´t know you have to use a GC Controller playing it, you didn´t read the user´s manual of your wii.
    So what you mean is you are looking for an poor idiot who can give an ignorant dumbass a step by step explanation how to use google.
    If you sense slight sarcasm here, well that´s the first thing you are right about.
    It doesn´t matter, i´ll bet your wii that we all see a "help, i bricked my wii" topic from you sooner or later..
     
  17. CrimsonRose
    OP

    Newcomer CrimsonRose Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Canada
    lol no i got it all working [​IMG] and any way i know how to use emulators and i know what iso's and roms are i have a ds and i have all the nes gbc gb and snes emulators on and i did read the stickies i just missed the part where it said the stuff about bannerbomb and the two emulators (psx,gc) are harder to use than the other ones cause most progrrams havent gotten really far with it the same with n64 emulation how there only in alpha stage for the wii.
     
  18. canli

    Member canli GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    Belgium
    hello,
    my problem is that my wii does'nt read anymore any disc, so is there a solution to play downloaded GC ISO files directly with the harddisk or usbkey?

    I searched it but didn't find it

    4.1 US wii
    wiikey + homebrew channel... (i have everything)

    thank you.
     
  19. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Wode is your only option to play GC games via USB.....
     
  20. yo bootyhole

    Newcomer yo bootyhole Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Get a WODE.
    Besides that, you can't do anything about loading GC games via usb (there's still flatmii/sundisk for other means)
    And it costs money.

    Any other means doesn't exist without any hardware modifications. Sorry.
     

Share This Page