How do you back up your save-games?

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by Tony_D, Aug 29, 2006.

Aug 29, 2006
  1. Tony_D
    OP

    Newcomer Tony_D Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hello,

    I recently got a G6 Lite and simply love it, great DS and GBA support. [​IMG]

    Now the limited space of 4G's isn't a big problem, I'm merely human and can only enjoy a handful of games at once.
    But when the time comes when I want to change the scenery, how do I back up my save games?
    Because I don't wanna complete the horrible single player campaign of Metroid Prime hunters again in order to unlock the additional characters. [​IMG]

    I tried simply copying the save files(.0 .1 etc), but that doesn't seem to work.

    So if somebody could help me with this I would appreciate it.


    Thanks a bunch,

    T-D
     
  2. alsproject

    Newcomer alsproject Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just copy the .0 file from within Windows Explorer (just browse to the NDS folder in the G6L).

    After you do that, you can delete the game from the U-Disk manager.

    To restore the save, write the game to the card as usual and then copy the .0 file back to the NDS folder.
     
  3. Tony_D
    OP

    Newcomer Tony_D Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Tried it, doesn't seem to work.

    Copied all of the .(number) files to a back up directory before I deleted the game(s).
    Then reinstalled the game onto the G6 and copied the save files back into the nds folder.

    Started up the game and got zilch.

    EDIT

    Hold on a sec..

    Think I figured it out. In de u-disk manager select one of the saver files in the bottom of the screen then press read(at the right).
    A window pops up which lets you save the .(number) file onto your hard drive.

    I'm trying it now.
     
  4. alsproject

    Newcomer alsproject Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That seems strange as mine works.

    Are you sure that the filename of the .0 file is exactly the same name as the ROM?
     
  5. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    you have to make sure the sram is flushed before you backup saves. for example, if you finish playing game X, turn off the DS, then plug in the G6 to your comp, your save will not be on the card yet.
     
  6. Vidnez

    Newcomer Vidnez Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Yes, you need to wait to the "processing data" screen before you put the saves onto the g6.

    1. Copy the game(s) to your G6.
    2. Turn on and wait for the "processing data" screen.
    3. Turn Off
    4. Copy your game saves onto the G6.
     
  7. Tony_D
    OP

    Newcomer Tony_D Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hmm.
    I tried it on a couple of games(Feel the Magic and Pac'n Roll), the latter doesn't seem to work.

    Back to testing it on some other games before I get cracking at the important ones.

    Thanks for your help [​IMG]
     
  8. gust0208

    Newcomer gust0208 Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    I thought one of the big selling points of the G6 lite was that it saved right to the cart and didn't have to wait for the system to be turned off and on again? I believe it was even in the review of the G6 lite on this site.
     
  9. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    That's what everyone believed for a long time, until the Data Processing screen showed up.
     
  10. gust0208

    Newcomer gust0208 Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Wow! I own a G6 lite and this is a bit of a disappointment. Now that know this, I wanted to clarify what exactly is being done during the "Precessing Info" time. It was posted above how to get a save from your HD to the unit, but do you need to do a similar action to get the most current save from the card to your HD?

    Example, I just saved my game in game X. Do I need to power off and re-power on the DS with the cart still in to get the data processing screen to make sure my most recent save is there? And then plug the card into my USB to get the game?

    Slightly confusing!

    Cheers,
    Tom
     
  11. DarkElf101

    Newcomer DarkElf101 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United States
    OK I tested this and this what I found out
    First after palying x game and saving turn of your DS then turn it back on you'll get the Data Processing thing.
    AFter that turn it off and plug in to you computer an backup the saves make sure its the 0 file.
    Now when you feel like playing that game again just copy the game to it then the save and it should work.
    It worked for me but don't blame it on me if you loose your save. I would try first with a few games you do not raly care of the saves.
     
  12. Deaddy

    Member Deaddy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    568
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, but soft resetting back to the g6 menu does the same thing, so I just reset to the main menu every time I finish playing a game. Then I don't have to worry about whether I powered my DS on or not since the last time I saved a game. Simple!
     
  13. pelago

    Member pelago Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    879
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I wish Qrayzie would update that review...
     

Share This Page