1. Manouel

    OP Manouel Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2021
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    France
    Hi all,

    Using XEXTOOL, i have extracted the files from an ISO onto my usb hard drive. Is it possible to load those files directly from my
    usb hard drive to the modded xbox360 or do they absolutely HAVE TO BE on the console's hard drive?

    See picture below for reference
    upload_2021-4-12_14-23-50.png
     
  2. BigOnYa

    BigOnYa Sofa King Special
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    1,131
    Country:
    United States
    Can you run the xex file from that/ any folder...if so, you should be able to copy the folder to where-ever, then direct your preferred OS to look for that file.
     
  3. Manouel

    OP Manouel Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2021
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    France
    not so far. I have plugged the USB hard drive into the console and I do get a message that the console detected a new hard drive and is refreshing, but I cannot actually access the hard drive in the console dashboard.
     
    BigOnYa likes this.
  4. BigOnYa

    BigOnYa Sofa King Special
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    1,131
    Country:
    United States
    Your USB drive must be formated to FAT32 format for the 360 to recognize it
     
    Last edited by BigOnYa, Apr 12, 2021
  5. Manouel

    OP Manouel Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2021
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    France
    ah I see. My USB hard drive is exFAT. thx
     
    BigOnYa likes this.
  6. DinohScene

    DinohScene hail p1ngpong
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21,131
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You'll have to point your scanpaths to the USB in FSD/Aurora.
     
    godreborn and BigOnYa like this.
  7. M1ghty_boy

    M1ghty_boy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you still can't load it, try opening it in velocity and extracting it, then trying to run the .xex from the xbox
     
  8. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    17,270
    Country:
    United States
    the way that folder is named is similar to a god container game. I don't know if that's what you have (never extracted a game with xex tool). either will load i n FSD/Aurora though.
     
    Last edited by godreborn, Apr 12, 2021
  9. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    17,270
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't realize you said xex tool. I thought you said xexmenu like on the system. imo, the best way to extract iso files is with exiso. it can batch them, and they'll be jtag rips.
     
  10. Manouel

    OP Manouel Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2021
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    France
    Thank you all for your answers, I will check tonight when i get home from work.
     
    godreborn and BigOnYa like this.
  11. Manouel

    OP Manouel Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2021
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    France
    ok so, I managed to load the game from my USB hard drive no problem. However, I would rather have the games on my console's hard drive. When I tried to copy the game to my xbox hard drive in the file manager but I get a message "cannot copy to or from root folders" (see picture below). any suggestions?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. BigOnYa

    BigOnYa Sofa King Special
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    1,131
    Country:
    United States
    Just create a new folder on hdd1, then copy to it.
     
  13. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    17,270
    Country:
    United States
    the second window iirc is where it will be copied to. I think you have to press the Right bumper to highlight the options, then like A? or maybe it's B? to copy. it will tell you which one is copy. go into hdd1 in the second window, create a folder like @BigOnYa suggested, and drop it in there. then, map to that folder in custom folders and scan the database. you can delete the original game and link in the database by going into the games' folder, xbox 360, xbox, xbla, etc. wherever it is, then pressing I think Y to open up the game's settings and selecting delete (think it's B). when you delete a game, it will tell you its location, so if you have two entries by scanning the database again and having copied the game, you'll know which one to delete. I think if you move the game, it won't show up in the database, but the entry will still be there. that's why I suggest copying. some games won't copy as well, because of a filename, just like with the ps3, so be aware of that. the easiest way to get everything over imo is ethernet. a direct link will work. you can even create an ftp link in windows with ftp://ip address of console/hdd1 . that will link to hdd1 (can even map the network drive), just make sure there aren't thousands and thousands of files or it can become unstable. that's when it's better to use filezilla. you'll have to enable ftp in settings I believe, with a password and user name (think the default one is just xbox for both). that way you won't have to copy to an external hdd, then to the internal hdd. an ethernet cable should prevent data loss. the 360 doesn't have a gigabt connection, so it's slower than the ps3. though, you can get at max about 10-12MBs/s.
     
    BigOnYa likes this.
  14. Manouel

    OP Manouel Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2021
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    France
    Hi, all files are installed correctly. Thank you for your help.

    I encountered new issues though. 2 games are giving me trouble:
    COD-Black Ops, asking for an update (picture 1 below)
    Dragon Age Inquisition, asking for a HD with free space...which I totally have (picture 2 and 3 below)


    Any suggestions for these issues?
     

    Attached Files:

  15. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    17,270
    Country:
    United States
    you may have to download an update for black ops. you can get that on xbox unity, which FSD should be tied to. I think you press Y on the game, then go to find updates or something, but it's been years since I've done that. an alternative is to download it manually from xbox unity.

    dragon age sounds like it needs to install some content, so press the A button or check if the game has a content folder, then copy that to the content folder on the internal hdd.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    btw, the updates are small (most are with the xbox 360), because microsoft would charge developers $10,000 for every update beyond the first one (which was free) to prevent broken games from being released (unlike the ps3). they (title updates) go in the 000B0000 in the title id folder within content/all 0s.

    http://xboxunity.net/
     
    Last edited by godreborn, Apr 20, 2021
  16. Manouel

    OP Manouel Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2021
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    France
    ok. thx i will look into all that
     
    godreborn likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - files,