Hacking How do I know I have Luma 3ds

Chiqx

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
92
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
109
Country
Gambia, The
Hi. I bought a 3ds with arm9loaderhax and it asks me to update the system it's 10.7 right now. How do I know it has luma3ds also how do I update those apps. Are the updates even essentially because all games are working right now. Thx.
 

Chiqx

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
92
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
109
Country
Gambia, The
So you mean I press select and hold it and then press the power button while holding it? And if it doesn't have Luma it will just boot into cfw as normal? So I can't update my cfw then?
 

ishygdaft

A mystery wrapped in an enigma
Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
296
Trophies
0
XP
140
Country
United States
I habe checked it and I have AuReiNand. What about that!
Yeah... you'll want to update to the newest version of Luma3ds, I don't know if old AuRei has firm protection. No firm protection = dead a9lh on update.
 

ishygdaft

A mystery wrapped in an enigma
Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
296
Trophies
0
XP
140
Country
United States
@Chiqx
You'll want to back up your whole SD card in case anything gets messed up. After that you'll go (https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/releases).
Download the version 5.5(non dev) and drag and drop everything to the SD. Then, boot up your system and hold select to make sure it says Luma and version.
I don't think you'll make much use of these, so feel free to forgo them, but there are programs assigned to some buttons for back ups and what not, those will need to be updated too.
 
  • Like
Reactions: olec04

Shadowfied

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2014
Messages
2,405
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
3,627
Country
@Chiqx
You'll want to back up your whole SD card in case anything gets messed up. After that you'll go (https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/releases).
Download the version 5.5(non dev) and drag and drop everything to the SD. Then, boot up your system and hold select to make sure it says Luma and version.
I don't think you'll make much use of these, so feel free to forgo them, but there are programs assigned to some buttons for back ups and what not, those will need to be updated too.
Entire SD card backup.. to change CFW? It's literally one folder to exchange, that are a few MBs at the absolute most.. Nothing can evenn get messed up that can't be fixed by placing the files properly :P
 

ishygdaft

A mystery wrapped in an enigma
Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
296
Trophies
0
XP
140
Country
United States
Entire SD card backup.. to change CFW? It's literally one folder to exchange, that are a few MBs at the absolute most.. Nothing can evenn get messed up that can't be fixed by placing the files properly :P
They obviously don't into custom firmware, I was just trying to make sure they had something to go back to if anything crapped out. Plus it's always smart to make a back up before messing with stuff you don't quite understand. I will agree with you though, not much to mess up.
 
Last edited by ishygdaft,

nero99

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,133
Trophies
1
Age
30
XP
3,690
Country
United States
If you have the new 3ds or new 3ds xl, you can set up micro sd data management. If you have the older 3ds, take the sd card out. Much easier than setting up FileZilla for something that's so simple.
 

Shadowfied

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2014
Messages
2,405
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
3,627
Country
If you have the new 3ds or new 3ds xl, you can set up micro sd data management. If you have the older 3ds, take the sd card out. Much easier than setting up FileZilla for something that's so simple.
"Setting up FileZilla"
Literally entering ftp://192.168.*.***:5000 and hitting enter is setting up since when?
 

TheCyberQuake

Certified Geek
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
5,012
Trophies
1
Age
26
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
XP
4,386
Country
United States
If you have the new 3ds or new 3ds xl, you can set up micro sd data management. If you have the older 3ds, take the sd card out. Much easier than setting up FileZilla for something that's so simple.
Or if you have CFW you can find a version of MircoSD Management that works on o3ds, but you have to search for it on That ISO Site to find it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Glyptofane

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight: COFFEE :P