Homebrew Question How do I get PPSSPP to work on my Switch?

iiSharkWolf

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
16
XP
29
Country
United States
I'm trying to get it on my friend's switch but I'm not really sure what's wrong with it? I followed the instructions to install the standalone version of it, but when I try to run it from the homebrew menu (I don't start it from the album, don't worry) it just stays a black screen for 10 seconds then gives me the standard switch error that says "The software was closed because an error occurred". Switch is version 11.0.0 if that helps. I'm still somewhat new to the switch homebrew scene, but yeah it's really strange and I'm not sure why it won't open. Also I would prefer to avoid the Retroarch version because from what I've heard the game I'm trying to run doesn't work well on there. Thanks!
 

iiSharkWolf

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
16
XP
29
Country
United States
try retroarch it might work better for you

Sorry if this is a stupid question, but, how do I install the core for it on retroarch? It doesn't show up and I've tried multiple guides trying to get it on there but it just hasn't been working.
 

iiSharkWolf

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
16
XP
29
Country
United States
put in the folder switch
don't need RetroArch

Yes I tried this already but it still didn't work

Hold the R bumper on any game to enable full ram access. That'll load the hbmenu with with full ram and then try loading ppsspp

I know, I've been doing it like that this whole time. Since atmosphere just got an update I'm going to try it on my switch, maybe it'll work on mine, not sure why it's being stubborn on my friend's switch though.

*Edit* it works just fine on my switch, so that's good. Not sure what the deal is with my friend's switch but oh well.
 
Last edited by iiSharkWolf,

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
16,203
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,071
Country
United States
I know, I've been doing it like that this whole time. Since atmosphere just got an update I'm going to try it on my switch, maybe it'll work on mine, not sure why it's being stubborn on my friend's switch though.

*Edit* it works just fine on my switch, so that's good. Not sure what the deal is with my friend's switch but oh well.
How is the SD card formatted for your friend's Switch? Also what CFW is he using?
 

Rashed

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 30, 2021
Messages
36
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
46
Country
Australia
hey all

i am having similar issue with my switch on 12.1.0.

when i run any game in ppsspp it gives me a black screen showing "An error has occurred. Press power button to restart the nintendo switch".
my sd card is formatted fat32
 

sith

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2007
Messages
105
Trophies
0
XP
782
Country
United States
necrobumbed! your acid sigpatches are missing. use aio-switch-updater and grab them, also fyi the standalone ppsspp is much better performance and features(internal res upscale)
 
Last edited by sith,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    L @ Lopt: Thanks I don’t play animal crossing :(