How did you mod your Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mcjones92, Nov 8, 2008.

?

How did you mod your Wii?

  1. Did it yourself

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Had a friend/parent do it

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Had a professional do it

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Bought it pre-modded

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Other (specify)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Nov 8, 2008

How did you mod your Wii? by mcjones92 at 12:22 AM (5,741 Views / 0 Likes) 60 replies

  1. mcjones92
    OP

    Member mcjones92 Forest Fam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    In the ghetto
    Country:
    United States
    I might mod my Wii, but I am scared because I have no experience in soldering, and on top of that I would have to research A LOT on the subject to find out what to do. So, I want to know, how did you mod your Wii?

    And if you could tell me what the safest way to do it is? (Without getting a pre-modded Wii)
     


  2. Fellow

    Member Fellow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know if this meets your standards, but I modded it myself using the Twilight Princess Hack. To install the Homebrew Channel and the WiiGator ISO Loader.
     
  3. Luriden

    Member Luriden GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Topeka, KS
    Country:
    United States
    Zelda Twilight Princess + SD card = love.

    I don't like messing with mod chips either.
     
  4. Beatchu

    Member Beatchu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you mean softmod or hardmod? Softmodded myself, Attempted hardmod myself (then it didnt work so I got annoyed and threw my d2pro9 v3 + clip in the bin ^^)
     
  5. mcjones92
    OP

    Member mcjones92 Forest Fam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    In the ghetto
    Country:
    United States
    I actually meant hardmod (modchip) I couldn't care less about the Twilight Hack.
     
  6. Anubis

    Member Anubis GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yeah, you're hardcore dude.
     
  7. Luriden

    Member Luriden GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Topeka, KS
    Country:
    United States
    ...why? I promise you in a month or so you'll be able to do everything with a softmod that you could with a hardmod. It's safer, and even reversible if need be.
     
  8. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    I have modded 2 wii's.
    My first one was a complete pieball and though the chip sits happily on the board smothered in solder in various spots its not supposed to be in , the wii still plays normal games , but it refuses to recognise the chip thats now moulded incorrectly i might add into the board.
    Luckily it plays the backup launcher and all is well.

    The next one i decided since i failed misribly on the first attempt to let someone who knows what they are doing tackle the hard part so i got a pre soldered wii-clip mod chip , opened the wii and clipped it on ... no mountains of solder , no burnt fingers or ears , no crying and cursing , no little dance tantrums that could have won me awards if the disco scene was back in , and best of all , working games within 20 mins of getting the chip.


    Save yourself the heartache and get a pre-modded wii-clipped chip and your sorted.
     
  9. DarkSzero

    Newcomer DarkSzero Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Bought it "pre-modded". Bought the Wii from a store Un-Modded, but the store itself installed the chip for me, right after and such.
    Dunno if the guy who did it was a pro, had some problems with my modchip after installation. But it was one of the first D2C chips: 30+ wires!
     
  10. mcjones92
    OP

    Member mcjones92 Forest Fam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    In the ghetto
    Country:
    United States
    lol.
     
  11. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    I actually built the programmer, programmed the modchip and soldered it in, all myself. Wasn't that hard. ^^
     
  12. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    Its easy - just put it over the chip and clip it down - granted i had to re-seat it about 5 times to get it going , which is believe isnt normal , but if you knew me and my luck scalability then i got off lightly with this to be honest - Im the type of person who'd burn to death during a flood.


    http://www.wii-clip.com/V1_install.htm

    http://www.wii-clip.com/
     
  13. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
  14. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    Ahh to have skills. I bet i could get all the chicks if i had skills , or looks , or a personality , or money , or ...... well this list could go on for weeks.
     
  15. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    XD If all this is true you are one of a kind in this whole world, which makes you mega special awsome and you shouldn't have problems getting chicks.

    But seriously it requires basically no skills at all. There are those nice noob-fiendly tutorials out there, like this one: http://chiip.descrambler.de/index.php/Programmer
    They tell you exactly where to solder what. It's just like a puzzle with about 30 pieces. [​IMG]
     
  16. Tac 21

    Member Tac 21 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    Canada
    guess its not as simple as the portables eh?
     
  17. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    yes djtaz, you have a point...
    but thank god not every one is a programmer, so many of us have to be happy whit what we have so Slowking : good for you and I'm sure the chip was not expensive.
    myself, i wold not pay for one for many reasons.
     
  18. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Öhm, I'm not a programmer. I just programmed the chip with a hex that I found on the interweb. (it's called programming when you flash those chips)
    The only programming language I know is PHP... and I'm not even good in it. [​IMG]
     
  19. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    so you did not programmed it...
     
  20. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    mmmmmmm chips ...
    Ohh im good at php - im do some codes for VBulletin [​IMG]
     

Share This Page