How can I make my printer scan?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by AlanJohn, Mar 17, 2011.

Mar 17, 2011
  1. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    I have a canon pixma mp270. Recently my printer does not want to recognize my cartridges, so it refuses to do anything... Even scan.
    So is there anyway to fix this?
     


  2. epicCreations.or

    Member epicCreations.or GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Country:
    United States
    Try... holding Reset down for a minute. Or scour the internets for the reset combo. If not, new cartridges may be neccessary. Or a new printer.
    EDIT: internet sez:
    EDIT: AGH! I just noticed this was posted a week ago. Sorry for digging it up. You did post a link on your Art topic though.
     
  3. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He never got an answer, so don't worry about the thread being old. I didn't even see it when it came up.

    Some print carts are duds (even official ones). Check that the contacts are clean (on the cart and the printer) and try another one. I had a rather embaressing person to work with who had printer troubles and it turned out 2 print carts (one official, one refilled) were duds and the third one (refill) worked. In the end I told her to take the duds back to the shop and ask for either a refund or replacement.
     
  4. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Forgive me great mods but....
    Bump.
    None of above worked.
    Help.
     
  5. caster62003

    Member caster62003 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    Canon is very much pile when it comes to these things, if something is not right in the system, the printer is on lock down. My recomendation, is recycle it, and get an HP, or I personally like my Kodak, but at this point, you are boned when it comes to this printer.

    You may also be able to check the contacts, as Originality pointed out, take some rubbing alcohol, and cotton swap, moisten the cotton swab, and clean the contacts both on the cartridge, and, if you have access to it, the contacts on the printer itself, I don't know how well that will fix it, but it doesn't hurt to try.

    You may also be able to get something from Canon, in terms of free/discounted repair/and/or/new printer.
     
  6. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This oddly sounds like exactly what's happened to our current Inkjet (a quite old HP 1350PSC) it no longer recognises any ink cartridges. Always sees them as empty.
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I run into this far too often. Sometimes there's a setting in the printer's program (on your PC) that lets you tell it to ignore ink levels, but it's often doesn't have one, and the decision to not do anything without ink is in the program ROM... and of course these are often "self-cleaning" ones, which use up ink to clean themselves after everything you do, so even if you're not printing a lot they make sure you have to go get new carts every so often.

    Did I mention modern carts have a chip in them to measure the ink level, and it will only count down... so if you refill it with ink with a home kit, it still will think the cart's empty (or going down) unless you buy a chip reprogrammer from ebay or something?

    Modern printers like that are pretty much scams in a bot.
     
  8. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    I tried that like 10 times...
    The printer monitor shows 3... 1... 4 and blinks the c indicator...
     
  9. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Scanner should work regardless of the ink level

    On XP: Control Panel/Cameras and Scanners
    Not sure about Vista/7, I'll check later.

    Ink Level is resetted by pressing the RESET button for 5 seconds after refilling the cartridge. It is also recommended to use a custom cartridge rather than the standard Canon one. If the read out will be incorrect regardless of the reset, you can cover up the chip pins on the cart with insulation tape to isolate the ink level chip. Not sure which, check it up online (via cartridge serial, not the printer serial).

    If the above doesn't work, re-install your drivers, there's clearly something else "wrong".
     
  10. dib

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    I'm stumped by this too. I haven't bothered to add ink cartridges to my printer in ages because I very rarely need to print and it wasn't worth the expense since they're wasting away from the moment you break the seal. It's much cheaper to run it over to my local library down the street.

    But that's never affected the scanning function. If it were me, I would uninstall it completely: remove whatever proprietary software the company expects you to use, and delete the drivers through device manager so they're completely gone.

    Next I would reinstall the device outside of whatever installation came on the disk. The drivers are likely located on it under a subdirectory, or else may be extracted from a .msi file or wherever. If you can locate drivers _only_ for the device online then all the better, but they're rarely distributed apart from the software.

    When you plug the device and Windows inquires about it, manually install those by browsing to them. Windows should be able to operate with it normally as a printing device, and you can scan with it through anything supporting TWAIN (in my case Paintshop Pro. Photoshop works too. Even Windows has some basic fax & scan software that will do it)
     
  11. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    @ Foxi4 & dib:
    I'll try to uninstall the drivers.

    EDIT:
    [​IMG]
    RESET BUTTON IS NOT HELPING, NEITHER UNINSTALLING THE DRIVERS, PLEASE HELP.
     
  12. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Well I currently have the same problem with my aio hp printer. I tried everything to recognize the cartridges but no use but I managed to make it scan by going to device and printers in my pc and choosing the printer and pressing scan now try it might work.
     
  13. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Didn't work for me [​IMG]
     
  14. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    If you're certain that the drivers are correct, the cartridge itself isn't damaged, the connectors on the cartridge/printer aren't dirty, the USB/COM cable is not damaged (just try a different one) and the cartridge is a compatible type, your printer may simply be broken.

    Besides, the scanning feature should work even when it's not connected to the PC altogether using the buttons on your printer.

    Take it to the local PC service, they'll check it for ya.
     
  15. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    I did, guess what those selfish motherf^ckers said?
    "You need to look in the internet for answer."
    Anyway, when I press the "SCAN" button nothing happens.
    It just blinks the "C" indicator.
     
  16. DeathStrudel

    Member DeathStrudel GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried banging on it a lot?
    In all seriousness that solves my electronics problems like 9/10 times

    edit: or try taking it completely apart and putting it back together, that usually works for me too
     
  17. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Never!
    I don't want to break it >.
     
  18. DeathStrudel

    Member DeathStrudel GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Country:
    United States
    It really can work tho, my PS2 started fucking up, so I banged on it a lot and it started working again. Then several months later it started fucking up again and banging on it would only fix it for a few days, so I took it completely apart, cleaned everything, and put it back together and now it totally works again! Banging on and/or taking stuff apart also worked for me with a DVD player, a VCR, 2 Wiis, a DSL, and a few other things I can't think of right now. The only thing is if you take it apart, make sure its in a clean area where you wont loose things and make sure you can remember how to put it back together
     
  19. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    You are comparing electronics that have nothing to do with my printer.
    And banging them is just making it worse.
    Taking stuff apart is very dangerous for the first time.
     
  20. evolance7

    Newcomer evolance7 Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Try this:
    1) Turn on the printer.
    2) Press the cancel button for 2~3 minutes. This will disable the ink cartridge detection.
    3) You should be able to use the printer now.

    P/S: I owned MP145, this method works for me when the printer is having problems with the cartridge.
     

Share This Page