Hooking up a router

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Rock Raiyu, Aug 23, 2010.

Aug 23, 2010

Hooking up a router by Rock Raiyu at 2:03 AM (1,125 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Rock Raiyu
    OP

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    I'm trying to hook up a router for my dorm. We have an ethernet port and I'm wondering if it is possible to hook it up without hooking it up to my laptop? So I can have wireless throughout the room.
     
  2. Raiser

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm no expert with wireless, but I believe in order to access your internet (router) without hooking it up directly to any PC or laptop, you need a Wi-Fi card installed in your laptop. It scans for any signals and allows you to connect to it/them.
     
  3. Rock Raiyu
    OP

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I know. My laptop has a card. I'm talking up setting up the router to use the internet without connecting to my laptop.
     
  4. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    I would think it need an Ethernet and Hooked up to a modem. since that's how mine is... but i'm not sure.

    It's just what i think
     
  5. cornaljoe

    Member cornaljoe GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    523
    Country:
    United States
    What kind of router is it? The easiest way would be to put the ethernet supplying the dorm's service into the WAN port on the wireless router. If it doesn't already have a wifi setup you will have to hook the router up to your laptop through any of the LAN ports and setup a wireless connection. Accessing the router is the hard part, but the easiest way to do this is to right click on the LAN network connection and select Status then Details. Under Default Gateway you should see an IP for the router. Type that in your browser and it should open up your routers configuration page.
     
  6. reimu

    Newcomer reimu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Somewhere Over the Rainbow
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm no expert on this but I believe to hook up a router without connecting it directly to a modem you have to set up the router as an access point. Google it but I found some kind of instruction: http://www.ezlan.net/router_AP.html
     
  7. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It depends on the router. On a router which doesn't have a WAN port, you can normally use a crossover cable and a bit of tweaking.
     
  8. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    It should be possible. Just depends on the type of router. If it has a WAN port it should make it easier and less configuration needed.

    Depending on the type of network in your dorm, you may be able to just set DHCP to auto on the router and let an ip be assigned that way. If that doesn't work you'll have to manually assign one to the router, I suggest you assign one that your laptop would normally get. This is to avoid ip address conflicts with other users on the network.
     
  9. Rock Raiyu
    OP

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Alright guys, I managed to get it working. Thanks a lot guys!
     

Share This Page