Hooking up a router

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Rock Raiyu, Aug 23, 2010.

Aug 23, 2010

Hooking up a router by Rock Raiyu at 2:03 AM (1,125 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

1. Rock Raiyu
    OP

Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

United States
    I'm trying to hook up a router for my dorm. We have an ethernet port and I'm wondering if it is possible to hook it up without hooking it up to my laptop? So I can have wireless throughout the room.

2. Raiser

Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

Canada
    I'm no expert with wireless, but I believe in order to access your internet (router) without hooking it up directly to any PC or laptop, you need a Wi-Fi card installed in your laptop. It scans for any signals and allows you to connect to it/them.

3. Rock Raiyu
    OP

United States
    Yeah, I know. My laptop has a card. I'm talking up setting up the router to use the internet without connecting to my laptop.

4. iFish

Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

Canada
    I would think it need an Ethernet and Hooked up to a modem. since that's how mine is... but i'm not sure.

It's just what i think

5. cornaljoe

Member cornaljoe GBAtemp Advanced Fan

United States
    What kind of router is it? The easiest way would be to put the ethernet supplying the dorm's service into the WAN port on the wireless router. If it doesn't already have a wifi setup you will have to hook the router up to your laptop through any of the LAN ports and setup a wireless connection. Accessing the router is the hard part, but the easiest way to do this is to right click on the LAN network connection and select Status then Details. Under Default Gateway you should see an IP for the router. Type that in your browser and it should open up your routers configuration page.

6. reimu

Newcomer reimu Advanced Member

Canada