Homebrew Icon

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by gudenaurock, Apr 2, 2012.

Apr 2, 2012

Homebrew Icon by gudenaurock at 2:14 AM (1,390 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. gudenaurock
    OP

    Member gudenaurock Never a unique idea

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,954
    Location:
    /dev/random
    Country:
    United States
    How can I use a custom icon for my nds homebrew?
     
  2. LeRodeur

    Member LeRodeur GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    France
    modify your makefile
     
  3. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Easiest way is to just find the default icon your library is already using and just replace it.
    Locations:

    libnds:
    devkitpro-->libnds-->icon.bmp

    PAlib:
    PAlib-->lib-->defaultlogo.bmp

    nfllib:
    in same folder as any example's Makefile (icon.bmp)



    --Make sure the image you place it with is 32x32 and 16 colors or less .bmp.
     
  4. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,712
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    To be more specific, it has to be a 32x32 16-coloured bitmap with the first colour in the palette being transparent. Keep that in mind, only 15 colours are displayed, 1 is never drawn. Forget about it and you'll end up with an icon full of holes. :P
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I use RomeR to edit the info and icon after compilation.
    [ft]RomeR[/ft]
     
    2 people like this.
  6. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,712
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    This is also a very good method, as you don't have to worry about editing the MakeFile each time you want to make a new project - good thinking Rydian. I was about to recommend DSBuff, but people have very varied opinions on that software, so RomeR is just as good of a recommendation.
     
  7. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    RomeR adds something that shows it was modified by said program...but if you don't care about that bit, then it works just fine.
     
  8. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In that case, you can edit it manually with ndstool (command line tool) and put whatever you want, no stupid watermark type thing. Also, editing the makefile isn't hard.
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What does RomeR add? First I've heard of this, is it just some hex sig?
     
  10. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,712
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    I think it only adds an entry to notify the user that the ROM image has been modified in case someone changes an icon for a commercial ROM, it's definatelly not something that would change the way a program works so I wouldn't really bother worrying about it. An icon is the least important part of a binary for the DS, some people don't even bother changing it from the default one.
     
  11. LeRodeur

    Member LeRodeur GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    France
    The makefile uses ndstool to gather pieces after compilation of homebrew, so why would we do the job twice?
    You only have to change the string ICON at the top of the makefile
     

Share This Page