Homebrew Homebrew HelpDesk

phase

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 25, 2015
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
75
Country
United States
Doing
Code:
make
on any of the ctrulib examples just stalls my console forever. It doesn't look like it's running any commands or anything.
yiItIte.png

Each time I do make it just stalls. If I quit it and try a different file, it does the same thing. Make works on my other projects, and DevkitPro is installed, so I don't know what the problem could be.
 

BurningDesire

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
4,999
Trophies
1
Location
Behind a screen reading news
XP
4,885
Country
United States
Doing
Code:
make
on any of the ctrulib examples just stalls my console forever. It doesn't look like it's running any commands or anything.
yiItIte.png

Each time I do make it just stalls. If I quit it and try a different file, it does the same thing. Make works on my other projects, and DevkitPro is installed, so I don't know what the problem could be.
i Would suggest re installing everything. At least, that's what i do when a problem occurs. Also, you don't need to use MINGW32 you can just type make in command prompt.
 

Stracker

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2015
Messages
86
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
167
Country
France
Hey !
A simple question for y'all : Is it possible to load a file with a path relative to my .3dsx via the filesystem service ?
Or does it only support absolute paths ? It's not that important but I'd rather not rely on my homebrew file being on an exact folder in the sd card.
 

TheCruel

Developer
Banned
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
1,350
Trophies
2
XP
3,131
Country
United States
Hey !
A simple question for y'all : Is it possible to load a file with a path relative to my .3dsx via the filesystem service ?
Or does it only support absolute paths ? It's not that important but I'd rather not rely on my homebrew file being on an exact folder in the sd card.
You can use chdir to set current dir to which all file loading will be relative. So you can do chdir("sdmc:/dir/to/mygame") and then load files without needing the path. Now I don't know anything about the hb launcher, so I'm not sure how you could get the dir of the current 3dsx launched.
 

Stracker

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2015
Messages
86
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
167
Country
France
Well that doesn't solve the problem since the 3dsx still needs to be in a given folder...
Oh well, it's not really a problem for now, I'll just use absolute paths
 

BurningDesire

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
4,999
Trophies
1
Location
Behind a screen reading news
XP
4,885
Country
United States
Please, for the god sake, before trying to put some code together learn how to program.

Your code:
1) is completely not idented.
2) there are huge errors in functions calls cause you not read documentation.
3) the first script has FATAL errors, cause you use loops without knowing what they are.

There are several books to learn LUA language also free ones like Programming in LUA by Roberto Ierusalimschy (one of the creator of LUA language): http://www.lua.org/pil/contents.html
We will upload the source code for Pictochat3DS when it is more stable.
 

doctorgoat

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2015
Messages
694
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
560
Country
United States
We will upload the source code for Pictochat3DS when it is more stable.

not really seeing where that comes in to your lua issues here but more power to ya

I'll write an intro to functions/loops to throw in the intro maybe at some point? I am seriously taking three separate programming languages in college of different levels and it's throwing me off
 

BurningDesire

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
4,999
Trophies
1
Location
Behind a screen reading news
XP
4,885
Country
United States
not really seeing where that comes in to your lua issues here but more power to ya

I'll write an intro to functions/loops to throw in the intro maybe at some point? I am seriously taking three separate programming languages in college of different levels and it's throwing me off
I'm just sick of rinn saying i can't do shit. And please do. Why would you do 3 at once what lanquages are you learning?
 
  • Like
Reactions: clank

Tjessx

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2014
Messages
1,160
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
952
Country
Belgium
For a good while now, I've been trying to write a simple IRC client for the 3DS. However, in all of my testing so far, it hasnt been able to connect to the server.
Would any one mind taking a look at my code and seeing what I've done wrong?

http://pastebin.com/ZD7tehYX
on line 90:
Code:
if (inet_pton(AF_INET, server, &serv_addr.sin_addr) <= 0) {
                return 0;
        }
Isn't necessary.

instead of using send() in line 105, try to use sendto() (this made one of my socket programs work)

you can also try to use the function "SOC_Initialize()", and try to set your socket non_blocking.
 

BurningDesire

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
4,999
Trophies
1
Location
Behind a screen reading news
XP
4,885
Country
United States
on line 90:
Code:
if (inet_pton(AF_INET, server, &serv_addr.sin_addr) <= 0) {
                return 0;
        }
Isn't necessary.

instead of using send() in line 105, try to use sendto() (this made one of my socket programs work)

you can also try to use the function "SOC_Initialize()", and try to set your socket non_blocking.
Okay will do in a bit. I wiped windows again such a idiot. Luckily i backed some stuff up this time. Will have to reinstall sony vegas though.
 

TheCruel

Developer
Banned
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
1,350
Trophies
2
XP
3,131
Country
United States
For a good while now, I've been trying to write a simple IRC client for the 3DS. However, in all of my testing so far, it hasnt been able to connect to the server.
Would any one mind taking a look at my code and seeing what I've done wrong?

http://pastebin.com/ZD7tehYX

From the looks of it, you didn't use SOC_Initialize. This is needed for any networking. For example:

Code:
u32* socBuffer = (u32*) memalign(0x1000, 0x100000);
if (!socBuffer)
    return false;
Result socResult = SOC_Initialize(socBuffer, 0x100000);
if (socResult != 0) {
    free(socBuffer);
    socBuffer = NULL;
    return false;
}
 

doctorgoat

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2015
Messages
694
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
560
Country
United States
I'm just sick of rinn saying i can't do shit. And please do. Why would you do 3 at once what lanquages are you learning?

i needed financial aid and i ran out of classes to take online

i'm taking c/c++/adv. java and i've already done c#/adv c#/php/java x_x
 

phase

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 25, 2015
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
75
Country
United States
i Would suggest re installing everything. At least, that's what i do when a problem occurs. Also, you don't need to use MINGW32 you can just type make in command prompt.
vSzWL7j.png


Reinstalled everything and now using Command Prompt, it will load the make file but it I get an error with a file in whatever project I try (this project is oot3dhax, which I was editing to be different from ironhax, because they look quite similar). But, at least there's an error instead of nothing!

vSANqDj.png

My uname.

Here's a automated stackdump of one of the errors when building ctrulib's hello-world:
Code:
MSYS-1.0.12 Build:2012-07-05 14:56
Exception: STATUS_ACCESS_VIOLATION at eip=68008DAA
eax=0001B009 ebx=60E9136C ecx=00020BE8 edx=00000774 esi=00000000 edi=60E900D4
ebp=0022FED0 esp=0022FEAC program=c:\Program Files\Git\bin\grep.exe
cs=001B ds=0023 es=0023 fs=003B gs=0000 ss=0023
Stack trace:
Frame     Function  Args
0022FED0  68008DAA  (60E900D4, 00000774, 00000003, 680044EA)
0022FF20  6800466B  (00006079, 80558620, 0022FF60, 00413CAC)
0022FF40  68004C5F  (004039A0, 60884F41, 003C34B0, 843C3438)
0022FF60  68004C98  (00000000, 00000000, 8054505C, 00000000)
0022FF90  00413BBC  (004039A0, 00000001, 00000006, A7196D04)
0022FFC0  0040103D  (60884F41, 00000093, 7FFD5000, 80544DFD)
0022FFF0  7C816037  (00401000, 00000000, 78746341, 00000020)
End of stack trace

And the other one:
Code:
MSYS-1.0.12 Build:2012-07-05 14:56
Exception: STATUS_ACCESS_VIOLATION at eip=68008DAA
eax=03019001 ebx=60E927FC ecx=00020BDC edx=00000760 esi=00000000 edi=60E900D4
ebp=0022FED0 esp=0022FEAC program=c:\Program Files\Git\bin\ls.exe
cs=001B ds=0023 es=0023 fs=003B gs=0000 ss=0023
Stack trace:
Frame     Function  Args
0022FED0  68008DAA  (60E900D4, 00000760, 00000003, 680044EA)
0022FF20  6800466B  (00005F07, 80558620, 0022FF60, 00410E20)
0022FF40  68004C5F  (0040166C, 6088546B, 00A650E0, 84A65068)
0022FF60  68004C98  (00000000, 00000000, 8054505C, 00000000)
0022FF90  00410D28  (0040166C, 00000001, 00000006, A6D43D04)
0022FFC0  0040103D  (6088546B, 00000001, 7FFD9000, 80544DFD)
0022FFF0  7C816037  (00401000, 00000000, 78746341, 00000020)
End of stack trace
 
Last edited by phase,

Rinnegatamante

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
3,162
Trophies
2
Age
29
Location
Bologna
Website
rinnegatamante.it
XP
4,857
Country
Italy
vSzWL7j.png


Reinstalled everything and now using Command Prompt, it will load the make file but it I get an error with a file in whatever project I try (this project is oot3dhax, which I was editing to be different from ironhax, because they look quite similar). But, at least there's an error instead of nothing!

vSANqDj.png

My uname.

Here's a automated stackdump of one of the errors when building ctrulib's hello-world:
Code:
MSYS-1.0.12 Build:2012-07-05 14:56
Exception: STATUS_ACCESS_VIOLATION at eip=68008DAA
eax=0001B009 ebx=60E9136C ecx=00020BE8 edx=00000774 esi=00000000 edi=60E900D4
ebp=0022FED0 esp=0022FEAC program=c:\Program Files\Git\bin\grep.exe
cs=001B ds=0023 es=0023 fs=003B gs=0000 ss=0023
Stack trace:
Frame     Function  Args
0022FED0  68008DAA  (60E900D4, 00000774, 00000003, 680044EA)
0022FF20  6800466B  (00006079, 80558620, 0022FF60, 00413CAC)
0022FF40  68004C5F  (004039A0, 60884F41, 003C34B0, 843C3438)
0022FF60  68004C98  (00000000, 00000000, 8054505C, 00000000)
0022FF90  00413BBC  (004039A0, 00000001, 00000006, A7196D04)
0022FFC0  0040103D  (60884F41, 00000093, 7FFD5000, 80544DFD)
0022FFF0  7C816037  (00401000, 00000000, 78746341, 00000020)
End of stack trace

And the other one:
Code:
MSYS-1.0.12 Build:2012-07-05 14:56
Exception: STATUS_ACCESS_VIOLATION at eip=68008DAA
eax=03019001 ebx=60E927FC ecx=00020BDC edx=00000760 esi=00000000 edi=60E900D4
ebp=0022FED0 esp=0022FEAC program=c:\Program Files\Git\bin\ls.exe
cs=001B ds=0023 es=0023 fs=003B gs=0000 ss=0023
Stack trace:
Frame     Function  Args
0022FED0  68008DAA  (60E900D4, 00000760, 00000003, 680044EA)
0022FF20  6800466B  (00005F07, 80558620, 0022FF60, 00410E20)
0022FF40  68004C5F  (0040166C, 6088546B, 00A650E0, 84A65068)
0022FF60  68004C98  (00000000, 00000000, 8054505C, 00000000)
0022FF90  00410D28  (0040166C, 00000001, 00000006, A6D43D04)
0022FFC0  0040103D  (6088546B, 00000001, 7FFD9000, 80544DFD)
0022FFF0  7C816037  (00401000, 00000000, 78746341, 00000020)
End of stack trace

Why you use mingw? You have to use devkitArm as toolchain.
 
  • Like
Reactions: BurningDesire

spinal_cord

Knows his stuff
Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2007
Messages
3,227
Trophies
1
Age
43
Location
somewhere
Website
spinalcode.co.uk
XP
3,418
Country
Last edited by spinal_cord,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    BakerMan @ BakerMan: