Homebrew games/apps and whatnot

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Jothri, Jan 30, 2010.

Jan 30, 2010

Homebrew games/apps and whatnot by Jothri at 7:59 PM (1,088 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

1. Jothri
    OP

Newcomer Jothri Advanced Member

United States
    I have ideas for games and stories and such. I want to create one with my own style of art. I want to know where I can learn coding and such and how to understand each thing.
    I have very little experience with coding. I learned a couple things for xhtml and a little bit for actionscript. How similar would coding for ds games and such.

I have found something before, a download. I deleted it because it had viruses. I forget what it was. I think at first I downloaded devkitpro but that is what had the virus. What do I need to know?

I want to know of free programing and coding and stuff.

Also, how would I be able to make a game like quake with 3d images, also multiplayer/wifi stuff.

2. monkat

Banned monkat I'd like to see you TRY to ban me. (Should I try?.

United States
    Well, first off, as of right now, the only compiled languages with a proper libraries to run on the ds are C/C++ with libNDS or PALib. Although the basic concepts are the same in actionscript, it will be a big change. If you really want to learn how to program, and get on the DS quickly, go with the interpreted language MicroLuaDS (which takes Lua scripts...programmed in...well, Lua). Devkitpro does not have a virus. Also, you should know that you won't have the drawing screen like you do in flash - everything is done in code. It takes a lot of time and effort to learn how to do this stuff, and much more to put it into practice...if I were you, I would pick up programming now (general programming, start small) and just wait for the next handheld to be 'broken'.

3. Jothri
    OP

United States