Homebrew Channel upside down

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by CasperH, Sep 18, 2009.

Sep 18, 2009

Homebrew Channel upside down by CasperH at 3:13 PM (71,533 Views / 0 Likes) 68 Comments

    CasperH Newbie

    Joined:
    Posts:
    0
    Hello,

    I wanted to use the HackMii installer 0.4 so I installeled a orginial IOS 36 (version 1042 probably).
    After that I upgraded my cIOSCORP pack to 3.4 (had 3.2 before) and now my Homebrew Channel is pure awesommness.
    It is totally upside down but if I start a app it is all normal... Some kind of anti-piracy meassure?
    Please help me with my lulz problem [IMG]


    • Member

    ozguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Posts:
    232
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like something you would expect to see on april 1st.

    Are you sure your system date is correct? Lol
    • Supervisor

    tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Posts:
    9,792
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Pictures or it didn't happen
    • Member

    ca_michelbach GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    The Vualt
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I seriously doubt it is upside down...but if by some bizzare circumstance it has (i.e your wii is different to EVERYONE elses), it isn't causing you too much trouble. Live with it!

    CasperH Newbie

    Joined:
    Posts:
    0
    Nah, I am serious.
    Date is today so nothing there.
    Try to reproduce the problem yourself as I am installing the original IOSes again.

    1. (probably optional) Install cIOSCORP 3.2.
    2. Install cIOSCORP 3.4
    3. Install IOS 36 (oldest version) and IOS 60 (probably optional) and trucha bug them.
    4. Run HackMii installer 0.4 and install homebrew channel (if it says no vulnerable IOS found, try to install non-trucha bugged version of IOS 36 and IOS 60 (same versions as before).
    5. Look at the awesomness [IMG]

    I would like to hear some results [IMG]
    @ca_michelbach
    How can it not bother me? XD
    • Member

    ca_michelbach GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    The Vualt
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I'd hardly notice it was upside down...access through bootmii and navigate with GC controller. I'm lazy though so...

    Also I'd still like to see an image or I don't believe it

    CasperH Newbie

    Joined:
    Posts:
    0
    I will try to make some pictures but I don't guarantee I will ;-)
    I would appreciate it if you (or somebody else) would try and reproduce the problem according to my previous post.

    CasperH Newbie

    Joined:
    Posts:
    0
    • Member

    Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Posts:
    1,809
    Country:
    Cuba
    funny... there is no way it's a bug or a downside of modified IOS installation (these things does not even know about the Video hardware) so this has probably be done on purpose, i'm curious what does trigger this exactly ?

    ...or you are fooling us with your TV having a special function to flip the screen, I just find this rather surprising Twiizer Team would add some kind of "anti" piracy easter eggs, they are no so childish usually...

    CasperH Newbie

    Joined:
    Posts:
    0
    Neither am I.
    Believe me and if you don't, try it yourself [IMG]
    • Member

    G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Gotta report this bug to TT CasperH! They will be glad you´ll let them know about it.
    • Member

    ca_michelbach GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    The Vualt
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    woh...sorry for doubting it, it seems legit (unless your tv has a flip function but i doubt it). Try speaking to TT, hopefully they can stop this happening in future!

    CasperH Newbie

    Joined:
    Posts:
    0
    They probably don't have intention to fix it since it is (probably) caused by piract but I will report it anyway [IMG]
    • Member

    Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Posts:
    1,267
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    @ CasperH,
    I have that Toshiba HDD too. [IMG] [IMG]

    Also, kinda weird...

    I don't think it was a joke/easter since otherwise the png images, apps etc should have stand normal I think.

    I think it was a TV/Wii Video Problem.

    CasperH Newbie

    Joined:
    Posts:
    0
    Hehe lol, didn't think anyone would pay attention to it [IMG]
    I am almost sure it is a piracy ''easter egg'' as other apps don't have the same problem.
    • Member

    techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Posts:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    If it were an anti-piracy feature, reinstalling it would not fix it...

    More than likely it was just a dud install. You are using unreleased software (0.4) after all, and people do say that the HBC in Hackmii 0.4 is very buggy. The bootmii on the other hand seems to just be 0.3 with the bug (where it makes un-restorable backups) fixed.
    • Newcomer

    shadowtroop Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Posts:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    when you installed old versions with a WAD it gave you the finger for a pointer. This isn't childish ENOUGH.

    CasperH Newbie

    Joined:
    Posts:
    0
    Reinstalling only fixed it when I dop-IOSed IOS30.
    Was there even a changelog? I don't see any changed except for my lulz problem [IMG]
    • Member

    techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Posts:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    According to Wiibrew, 1.0.4 had something to do with a Power button issue in Bootmii IOS (how it relates to HBC? Don't ask.)

    Also, no real changelog. Without an official log, what is known so far is:

    * The power button issue in Bootmii IOS is fixed...
    * Backups made by bootmii can supposedly be restored again (fixed silly bug in 0.3 that made unrestorable backups)
    * HBC version # updated to 1.0.4
    • Member

    DarkShadow96 LA96£

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Posts:
    694
    Location:
    MTL
    Country:
    Canada
    lol that is the WEIRDEST bug I have seen. I was laughing hard at the pics, but I am glad you fixed the problem xD.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page