Official HID to VPAD

Discussion in 'Wii U - Homebrew' started by Maschell, Apr 25, 2016.

  1. unknowwiiplayer

    unknowwiiplayer Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 16, 2017
    Chile
    Is anyone esle experiencing this problem?
    My wii u freezes when trying to open the web browser while playing certain games for saving a screenshot
    At first I tought the reason was hid to vpad was using the keyboard connected to emulate a controller and the browser was trying to recognize the keyboard but then I lunched hid to vpad without anything pluged and it happened again
    I don't know what should I do e-e
     
  2. frankadank

    frankadank Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 4, 2017
    United States
    Just wondering if it's possible to install HID to VPAD as a channel on the Wii U Menu? It would be very nice to eliminate the step of launching the Homebrew Channel every time. Thanks!
     
  3. Maxunit

    Maxunit Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 16, 2017
    Germany
    HIDToVPAD is still in development and still has issues. I found 2 so far. One is the freezing issue, the other one is, no matter if I use my Xbox One Controller via the Network Client or the Switch Pro Pad directly plugged in, there are small XY axis issues at least in Xenoblade Chronicles X, that your Character only walks instead of running if you move the stick up-left, up-right, down-left or down-right. The "deadzone" for this issue is really small but it can happen from time to time, that your character suddenly stops running or moving at all.
     
  4. Txustra

    Txustra GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    3
    May 18, 2013
    Spain
    How can I set up muy switch pro controller as a wii u pro contoller? I have de switchpro.ini within controller folder, but the program doesn't recognise the controller itself.
     
  5. Ob1Kenobi86

    Ob1Kenobi86 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 7, 2017
    United States
    Have you had any luck getting your PowerA wired controller to work? I've tried to make my own config file, but haven't had any luck. I'd really like to use it, but don't know what I'm doing...
     
  6. SANIC

    SANIC GBATemp's Sonic Fan in Residence, 後

    Member
    5
    Jan 13, 2017
    United States
    Last Seen: Green Hill
    I guess we're both stuck >.>
     
  7. cucholix

    cucholix Banners guy

    Member
    6
    Jan 17, 2017
    Chile
    I attached a gc_controller.ini
    put in sd:/wiiu/controller
     

    Attached Files:

    LinkFan16 likes this.
  8. lordelan

    lordelan GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    8
    Jan 4, 2015
    Germany
    If I had that controller I could help you. :/
     
  9. Psygnosis

    Psygnosis Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Jul 25, 2009
    Italy
    Hi, I finally try this hidtovpad with ps3 gamepad, and be beside the stable version, the only version that doesn't crash is the nightly 3041cc7.
    The problem is.
    Is HIDtoVPAD compatible with Mocha? 'cause if I run first mocha then hidtovpad crash, if I run first hidtovpad mocha crash (sometimes even hbl or browser).
    I just want to play darksider with ps3 gamepad and switchoff this damn gamepad but (here's another thing) gamecon (and hb that switchoff gamepad) once it's loaded, I can't load any other homebrew again hidtovpad/mocha crash.
    Maybe I am noob and I didn't know that I can't run more than one patch at time, but I'd like to know....thank you
     
  10. Maxunit

    Maxunit Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 16, 2017
    Germany
    If you run HIDToVPAD, you can not run another homebrew. It says so on the main post. Also, HIDToVPAD has some issues and can crash/freeze your WiiU. (Like if you try to open the browser after launching HIDToVPAD)
     
  11. PokeFan221

    PokeFan221 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    2
    Nov 30, 2015
    United States
    how to do it with a rock candy wired xbox 360 controller no matter what i try nothing happens
     
  12. bigbanboy

    bigbanboy Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 2, 2018
    Brazil
    Please someone would have the configuration for the kp-3121 knup control?
     
  13. bigbanboy

    bigbanboy Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 2, 2018
    Brazil
    I need the configuration of wiiu hid usb generic control, only found the nitendont ...
     
  14. Olmectron

    Olmectron GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    9
    GBAtemp Patron
    Olmectron is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Dec 31, 2012
    Mexico
    A game
    Hi everyone.

    Would it be possible to add "motion controls" compatibility for gamepads which support it in a future update? The Switch Pro Controller as an example.

    I read the full post, but found no info about if something like that could be possible or not in future releases.

    Thank you.
     
  15. bigbanboy

    bigbanboy Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 2, 2018
    Brazil
    how upload config file????
     
    Drioon likes this.
  16. Ncm

    Ncm Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Apr 5, 2014
    France
    Hello,

    I have an offical gc adapter, and I really would like to play Mario Kart 8 with the same layouts as Mario Kart Double Dash (Press X to use items instead of L button).
    Do you know what should I change to the config file ini ?
    If I have many ini files for gc, is there a way to choose the config file or should I just change the config file each time I play with my computer.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  17. _v3

    _v3 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    5
    Oct 12, 2013
    Croatia
    At this point in time I'm willing to say keyboard support is wank at best, this is the config I'm trying to set up and it won't work unless i press all buttons down at once, tried multiple keyboards all do the same exact thing.

    [Keyboard]
    [IgnoreDefault]
    VPAD_BUTTON_UP=KEYBOARD_D
    VPAD_BUTTON_RIGHT=KEYBOARD_F
    VPAD_BUTTON_Y=KEYBOARD_J
    VPAD_BUTTON_X=KEYBOARD_K
    VPAD_BUTTON_A=KEYBOARD_N
    VPAD_BUTTON_B=KEYBOARD_V
     
  18. djender

    djender Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 28, 2016
    Venezuela
    Is it necessary to have the actual controller and have it powered on and synched on the controller X spot for the usb hid to work? I'm asking cause it's very annoying to keep it on while you're playing, and if you forget and it goes off then you end up cursing cause it stopped working.
     
    Last edited by djender, Jan 16, 2018
  19. XularusXIII

    XularusXIII Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Jan 21, 2012
    United States
    Wait, so does this not work with Haxchi? So if I launch Haxchi first and then HID to VPAD, will it not work? Because I'm wanting to use this to play multiplayer N64 game backups but I need to run Haxchi before I can run those backups.

    * Is there anything I can do on my end to get the newer model of DS4 to work without whatever this network client thing is?

    * What can I do to adjust deadzones? My deadzones for my gamecube controllers are too large, at least for whichever one is registered as the earliest player.

    * Is there a way to turn off rumble?
     
    Last edited by XularusXIII, Jan 17, 2018
  20. Maschell
    OP

    Maschell GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    9
    Jun 14, 2008
    Gambia, The
    Sorry for this late response, but currently I'm REALLY busy and barely have anytime for coding. The best way is to open an issue on Github - I'll work on these as far as I have time - but a least I won't forget about them.

    Thats currently not possible due multiple reason. At first the whole application would need to be rewritten to a .rpx instead of .elf file.

    HID to VPAD should recognize the Switch Pro Controller via USB even without any .ini file. Do you use the newest version of hid to vpad?

    Once you enter the homebrew launcher, ALL current patches will be resettet (not the CFW things though). So when you load HID to VPAD and then enter the HBL to load mocha, all HBL stuff will be unloaded.
    First run mocha then HID to VPAD, this _should_ work fine. If not, please name me the exact hid to vpad/mocha/hbl version you've been using so I can reproduce the issue.

    The Xbox 360 Controller is NO HID device and HID to VPAD only support HID devices. The only reason why the Xbox 360 Controller works with the network client is because it's emulation a HID Device. Native support without the network client won't happen, sorry

    I started to work an motion control implemenation for the Dualshock 4 Controller and had kinda success.(https://twitter.com/MaschellDev/status/900372028213088256)
    Like I said in the Tweet: it's far from perfect (and only working using the network client). The reason is, that the Wii U Gamepad has some sensors that are missing in common game controllers (like an compass, magnet stuff etc.) I tried to reconstruct as much as I could with the acceleration and gyro sensor, but that only hacking.
    I don't know if have access to the motion sensors of the Switch Controller yet, but the last time I looked into it, I had no access.

    To be honest I didn't spent much time in testing the keyboard function very well in the latest version. Can you tell me which HID to VPAD version you are using?

    I don't understand your question?
    In general I tried to make HID to VPAD as easy to use as possible (also when using the network client). You can attach/detach/reattach your USB devices at any time and it just should work as expected.
    There is only one case (afaik) were things could go "wrong":
    - When you have like 4 Controllers of the same type connected to the console (same vid/pid).
    - Map them in a random order to pro controllers.
    - Detach them
    - Switch the Application
    - And attach them again.

    In this case, the order of the controller MIGHT be screwed up.

    - The new DS4 model doesn't get recognized on the Wii U as a HID device, there is less I can do about it (without impelementing my own HID stack).
    - The deadzone can be adjusted using the configuration files. You can find more information in the wiki (https://github.com/Maschell/controller_patcher/wiki/5.a-Controller-|-Configurate-the-GameCube-controller)
    - The rumble can be disabled in the settings of hid to vpad.

    Something like
    Code:
    [vid=0x057e,pid=0x0337]
    VPAD_BUTTON_L = GC_BUTTON_X
    
    should trigger the L button on the gamepad when ever you press X on the game cube controller. Look at the wiki for more information (https://github.com/Maschell/control...troller-|-Configurate-the-GameCube-controller)

    Currently only ONE .ini file is supported. I also had plans about a system with multiple .ini's (and maybe a way to share them), but I don't know when I will have time for this feature

    Sorry again for the late response. In a few weeks I _should_ have some more time
     
    Last edited by Maschell, Jan 17, 2018