Hacking Question Help with RCM mode

BlaiseDaKyng

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
67
Country
United States
I have a unpatched Switch (SN# XAW100285) that iv been trying to install homebrew on. the issue that i seem to be running into is after entering RCM Mode (using a rcm jig and holding down the volume + and power button) nothing happens on the screen no back light. but when i connect it to my pc with the usb-c my switch powers back on and shows thats its charging. Iv been following the NH switch Guide but keep getting stuck on the part where to inject the payload.


Using a Linux System but also tried on windows.
 
Last edited by BlaiseDaKyng,

Bergot

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 8, 2017
Messages
159
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
1,153
Country
United States
I have a unpatched Switch (SN# XAW100285) that iv been trying to install homebrew on. the issue that i seem to be running into is after entering RCM Mode (using a rcm jig and holding down the volume + and power button) nothing happens on the screen no back light. but when i connect it to my pc with the usb-c my switch powers back on and shows thats its charging. Iv been following the NH switch Guide but keep getting stuck on the part where to inject the payload.


Using a Linux System but also tried on windows.
You have to push the payload after enter RCM mode...via tegraRCM (PC) or an APP on mobile.
 

BlaiseDaKyng

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
67
Country
United States
You have to push the payload after enter RCM mode...via tegraRCM (PC) or an APP on mobile.

Is my Switch suppose to turn on after connecting it to pc? the screen remains blank with no light until i connect it to my pc and it doesnt show was being detected in my drivers list.
 

Bergot

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 8, 2017
Messages
159
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
1,153
Country
United States
Is my Switch suppose to turn on after connecting it to pc? the screen remains blank with no light until i connect it to my pc and it doesnt show was being detected in my drivers list.
The switch dont turn on when enter the RCM only after you inject the payload...

After you enter RCM and conect to your PC.. The tegra detects your switch??

04753bf885f2fb11034266ebc876400a.jpg
 

dxxshore

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Magalia
XP
236
Country
United States
No it's not supposed to turn in, if you have good enough USB type c cable tegrarcm should read it when you plug in. And make sure to go to settings on tegrarcm and install driver
 

dxxshore

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Magalia
XP
236
Country
United States
If it's turning on its not in rcm mode, what kind of jig are you using? Make sure you're holding vol button first. I used Reynolds wrap foil for my jig 3 times.
 
Last edited by dxxshore,

BlaiseDaKyng

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
67
Country
United States
If it's turning on its not in rcm mode, what kind of jig are you using? Make sure you're holding vol button first.

Using a RCM jig ordered on amazon. when i power off my switch than hold the volume + and power button for 10 sec nothing happens screens remains black no back light its not until i connect it to my computer to inject the payload does it turn back on.
 

dxxshore

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Magalia
XP
236
Country
United States
It's not supposed to come back on until you inject the payload. It sounds like you're jig is the problem.
Small tip if your system is in rcm it won't turn on with a push of power button, you have to press and hold to turn it off in rcm.
 
Last edited by dxxshore,
  • Like
Reactions: BlaiseDaKyng

Kafluke

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
5,474
Trophies
0
Age
47
XP
4,636
Country
United States
It's not supposed to come back on until you inject the payload. It sounds like you're jig is the problem.
Small tip if your system is in rcm it won't turn on with a push of power button, you have to press and hold to turn it off in rcm.
Dxxshore is correct. RCM wont show a backlight or anything. Plugging in the switch to a PC at that point should do nothing on the switch screen. If you see a charging icon then you are NOT in RCM.

I would do this:

1. Plug in your switch to your PC
2. Hold power for 30 secs
3. Put in jig and hold power and +
4. ???
5. Profit
 

BlaiseDaKyng

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
67
Country
United States
It's not supposed to come back on until you inject the payload. It sounds like you're jig is the problem.
Small tip if your system is in rcm it won't turn on with a push of power button, you have to press and hold to turn it off in rcm.
i was finally able to get my switch in rcm mode by following what you said to make sure. but now im having issue of it not being detected when i plug it into my computer. tried using different ports on computer
 

pcwizard7

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
1,409
Trophies
0
XP
1,688
Country
Australia
i was finally able to get my switch in rcm mode by following what you said to make sure. but now im having issue of it not being detected when i plug it into my computer. tried using different ports on computer

did TegraRcmGUI ask to install the driver? open TegraRcmGUI.exe NOT TegraRcmSmash.exe the icon on bottom left of its window will be green when in tcm

To install the driver if it didn't ask then go to settings then install driver

https://github.com/eliboa/TegraRcmGUI/releases
 
Last edited by pcwizard7,

BlaiseDaKyng

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
67
Country
United States

BlaiseDaKyng

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
67
Country
United States
and...? you can add your own payloads as the ones that come bundle are out of date. remove the old ones and add new ones in favorites folder
i did but its still saying No RCM so im unable to inject a payload.

am i suppose to remove the jig after entering rcm mode but before connecting to pc? iv seen people say different idk if that could be the issue.
 

pcwizard7

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
1,409
Trophies
0
XP
1,688
Country
Australia
i did but its still saying No RCM so im unable to inject a payload.

am i suppose to remove the jig after entering rcm mode but before connecting to pc? iv seen people say different idk if that could be the issue.

ok lets take this one more time

1. hold power for 15 secs
2. place jig in the right rail to the bottom
3. hold power+vol + for few seconds and u should have blank screen
4. plug into pc and it should see switch in rcm mode
5. push the payload

could u post a photo of jig i remember the early ones on ebay were cheap and were badly made

also check the right rail at the bottom and see if u have any bent pins? post photo if unsure
 

BlaiseDaKyng

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
67
Country
United States
ok lets take this one more time

1. hold power for 15 secs
2. place jig in the right rail to the bottom
3. hold power+vol + for few seconds and u should have blank screen
4. plug into pc and it should see switch in rcm mode
5. push the payload

could u post a photo of jig i remember the early ones on ebay were cheap and were badly made

also check the right rail at the bottom and see if u have any bent pins? post photo if unsure

it was the amazon
41qG1KYCjDL._AC_UL320_ML3_.jpg
i checked my pins and none are bent.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    But the captions are in english, I only speak Ebonics
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i made myself a pizza today, that shit was mid
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BakerMan, atleast it wasnt that bad
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    but i can't let a mediocre pizza bring me down, just around this time last month i made that cheesecake
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    What does pizza and sex have in common? When its good, its good. But when its bad, its still pretty good.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Don't know burnt pizza can be pretty bad
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    gonna download sonic generations to my ps3
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    How do you put games on there? Does it have like a game store on the ps3?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Black market store
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, download a pkg file, put it in a usb or a sd card, put the usb or sd card to ps3, turn on ps3hen, go to install game, install the game
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Ok yea that's same with me, was just curious. Coolio
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    good night
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Nighty night
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Lmao my keyboard decided to randomly die
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Its prob your new router interfering w it
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    How when my old one worked fine
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    You figure out ring and all smart devices? And POE
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yeah but gave up on PPPoE
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    did you fix it ken?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Bob the builder
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Uck
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    you
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: With