Hacking Question Help with RCM mode

BlaiseDaKyng

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
47
Country
United States
I have a unpatched Switch (SN# XAW100285) that iv been trying to install homebrew on. the issue that i seem to be running into is after entering RCM Mode (using a rcm jig and holding down the volume + and power button) nothing happens on the screen no back light. but when i connect it to my pc with the usb-c my switch powers back on and shows thats its charging. Iv been following the NH switch Guide but keep getting stuck on the part where to inject the payload.


Using a Linux System but also tried on windows.
 
Last edited by BlaiseDaKyng,

Bergot

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 8, 2017
Messages
159
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,132
Country
United States
I have a unpatched Switch (SN# XAW100285) that iv been trying to install homebrew on. the issue that i seem to be running into is after entering RCM Mode (using a rcm jig and holding down the volume + and power button) nothing happens on the screen no back light. but when i connect it to my pc with the usb-c my switch powers back on and shows thats its charging. Iv been following the NH switch Guide but keep getting stuck on the part where to inject the payload.


Using a Linux System but also tried on windows.
You have to push the payload after enter RCM mode...via tegraRCM (PC) or an APP on mobile.
 

BlaiseDaKyng

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
47
Country
United States
You have to push the payload after enter RCM mode...via tegraRCM (PC) or an APP on mobile.

Is my Switch suppose to turn on after connecting it to pc? the screen remains blank with no light until i connect it to my pc and it doesnt show was being detected in my drivers list.
 

Bergot

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 8, 2017
Messages
159
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,132
Country
United States
Is my Switch suppose to turn on after connecting it to pc? the screen remains blank with no light until i connect it to my pc and it doesnt show was being detected in my drivers list.
The switch dont turn on when enter the RCM only after you inject the payload...

After you enter RCM and conect to your PC.. The tegra detects your switch??

04753bf885f2fb11034266ebc876400a.jpg
 

dxxshore

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Magalia
XP
212
Country
United States
No it's not supposed to turn in, if you have good enough USB type c cable tegrarcm should read it when you plug in. And make sure to go to settings on tegrarcm and install driver
 

dxxshore

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Magalia
XP
212
Country
United States
If it's turning on its not in rcm mode, what kind of jig are you using? Make sure you're holding vol button first. I used Reynolds wrap foil for my jig 3 times.
 
Last edited by dxxshore,

BlaiseDaKyng

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
47
Country
United States
If it's turning on its not in rcm mode, what kind of jig are you using? Make sure you're holding vol button first.

Using a RCM jig ordered on amazon. when i power off my switch than hold the volume + and power button for 10 sec nothing happens screens remains black no back light its not until i connect it to my computer to inject the payload does it turn back on.
 

dxxshore

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Magalia
XP
212
Country
United States
It's not supposed to come back on until you inject the payload. It sounds like you're jig is the problem.
Small tip if your system is in rcm it won't turn on with a push of power button, you have to press and hold to turn it off in rcm.
 
Last edited by dxxshore,
  • Like
Reactions: BlaiseDaKyng

Kafluke

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
5,474
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
4,584
Country
United States
It's not supposed to come back on until you inject the payload. It sounds like you're jig is the problem.
Small tip if your system is in rcm it won't turn on with a push of power button, you have to press and hold to turn it off in rcm.
Dxxshore is correct. RCM wont show a backlight or anything. Plugging in the switch to a PC at that point should do nothing on the switch screen. If you see a charging icon then you are NOT in RCM.

I would do this:

1. Plug in your switch to your PC
2. Hold power for 30 secs
3. Put in jig and hold power and +
4. ???
5. Profit
 

BlaiseDaKyng

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
47
Country
United States
It's not supposed to come back on until you inject the payload. It sounds like you're jig is the problem.
Small tip if your system is in rcm it won't turn on with a push of power button, you have to press and hold to turn it off in rcm.
i was finally able to get my switch in rcm mode by following what you said to make sure. but now im having issue of it not being detected when i plug it into my computer. tried using different ports on computer
 

pcwizard7

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
1,409
Trophies
0
XP
1,666
Country
Australia
i was finally able to get my switch in rcm mode by following what you said to make sure. but now im having issue of it not being detected when i plug it into my computer. tried using different ports on computer

did TegraRcmGUI ask to install the driver? open TegraRcmGUI.exe NOT TegraRcmSmash.exe the icon on bottom left of its window will be green when in tcm

To install the driver if it didn't ask then go to settings then install driver

https://github.com/eliboa/TegraRcmGUI/releases
 
Last edited by pcwizard7,

BlaiseDaKyng

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
47
Country
United States

BlaiseDaKyng

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
47
Country
United States
and...? you can add your own payloads as the ones that come bundle are out of date. remove the old ones and add new ones in favorites folder
i did but its still saying No RCM so im unable to inject a payload.

am i suppose to remove the jig after entering rcm mode but before connecting to pc? iv seen people say different idk if that could be the issue.
 

pcwizard7

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
1,409
Trophies
0
XP
1,666
Country
Australia
i did but its still saying No RCM so im unable to inject a payload.

am i suppose to remove the jig after entering rcm mode but before connecting to pc? iv seen people say different idk if that could be the issue.

ok lets take this one more time

1. hold power for 15 secs
2. place jig in the right rail to the bottom
3. hold power+vol + for few seconds and u should have blank screen
4. plug into pc and it should see switch in rcm mode
5. push the payload

could u post a photo of jig i remember the early ones on ebay were cheap and were badly made

also check the right rail at the bottom and see if u have any bent pins? post photo if unsure
 

BlaiseDaKyng

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
47
Country
United States
ok lets take this one more time

1. hold power for 15 secs
2. place jig in the right rail to the bottom
3. hold power+vol + for few seconds and u should have blank screen
4. plug into pc and it should see switch in rcm mode
5. push the payload

could u post a photo of jig i remember the early ones on ebay were cheap and were badly made

also check the right rail at the bottom and see if u have any bent pins? post photo if unsure

it was the amazon
41qG1KYCjDL._AC_UL320_ML3_.jpg
i checked my pins and none are bent.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    spouting nonsense and throwing baseless accusations won't get them anywhere
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That's true
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Honestly, when will they learn.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Right now I'm re-calibrating the laser for my SCPH-1002
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    As many of the earlier models are prone to failure
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I'm so glad the boyfriend his laser still functions without any issue
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    The eBay listing said that it won't read discs, but it actually does although FMV is laggy as well as CDDA. So it most definitely needs re-calibrating.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I wish I could get things from ebay, just sit there and spend tonnes of money
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    m4x, you're a new user but very knowledgeable and helpful on the forums - why did it take you so long to register?
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @DinohScene,
    Now the spindle doesn't seem to spin properly :(
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Might have to go figure
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @cearp,
    I have autism and am quite knowledgeable when it comes to computers.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    check the wiring on it, might have gotten loose over the years
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @cearp,
    My brain works differently to other people.
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    sure, but most new users wouldn't be answering ds + gba questions. == we are lucky to have you, thanks!
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Why it took so long is because I've been on Discord throughout my life, but have met a lot of toxic people on there and was always treated a lot like shit.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @cearp,
    Thank you so much! :)
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    discord is shit :x
    +2
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @DinohScene,
    I know right. I did originally have an account here on GBATemp back in 2021, hardly ever used it so I ended up deleting it.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Reason was because of Discord, was so attached to it that it affected my mental health really bad.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I'm much better and I am so happy to be with this community.
  • cearp @ cearp:
    glad to hear it mate
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    discord is just a bit weird, all separate things merged into one. a discord server can't really replace an actual site like this
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    just modern irc
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I've fixed my PS1s laser, everything works now. :D
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: I've fixed my PS1s laser, everything works now. :D