1. Justerino

    OP Justerino Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    So my first switch I bought on launch day I had brewed it. After 9.1 had updated early before Atmos was updated and couldn't power on. I panicked and was attempting to boot it up any way I could. When I was tampering with my files on the SD card, they had corrupted and I lost everything.

    So I'm wondering if there's any way I can fix this- is it stuck somehow? Auto rcm or did I brick it? I've tried charging my switch and plugging it in, even after holding the power button my computer doesn't recognize it.

    The only saving grace was finding a backup switch that I use but I'd like to try and get my OG switch back up and running if possible.

    Any insight would be appreciated, thank you!

    EDIT : in case anyones wondering, I'm trying again after "bricking" it about 5 months ago because I ordered a new jig and it's arriving today
     
    Last edited by Justerino, Aug 6, 2020
  2. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,680
    Country:
    United States
    Steps for troubleshooting a system with AutoRCM installed and a dead battery:
    (Taken from this thread)

    If the above steps don't work, try a different computer and a different USB cord.

    If you don't have AutoRCM installed, then the system should charge normally, and it should boot Hekate normally when it's in RCM and you push the Hekate payload. If you cannot get the system to boot into Hekate after charging it, then you need to try a different computer and a different USB cord. If the system is attempting to power on instead of going to Hekate, then you might need a different jig, since that would mean you're not entering RCM.

    Once we are satisfied that the system can boot Hekate, we can shift troubleshooting methods if there's still a problem.
     
    Last edited by Lacius, Aug 6, 2020
    Justerino likes this.
  3. Justerino

    OP Justerino Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for the swift response! I'm currently at work but I will attempt this when I'm home. Keep you posted!
     
  4. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,680
    Country:
    United States
    When you try to turn on the Switch after charging it for a little bit, does the backlight come on at all, or is it indistinguishable from a completely dead Switch?
     
  5. Justerino

    OP Justerino Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    Indistinguishable
     
  6. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,680
    Country:
    United States
    If it's charged and it's still indistinguishable from a completely dead Switch, then you're either dealing with AutoRCM or a hardware issue. Try my AutoRCM/dead battery steps above when you get home.
     
    Justerino likes this.
  7. Justerino

    OP Justerino Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    Hi again, im currently "charging" the switch. Something I noted while plugging it into the dock, the dock light blinks on for a half second then goes out. Anytime I plug the switch into the dock that is. I tried my other switch and the light stays on. Could that be a sign of anything?
     
  8. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,680
    Country:
    United States
    My understanding is if a Switch is in sleep mode or RCM, it will blink, so the dock behavior is inconclusive, but it suggests you might have AutoRCM installed.
     
  9. Justerino

    OP Justerino Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, gonna let it charge for a bit. Get back to ya
     
  10. Justerino

    OP Justerino Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so update - I plugged my switch into my computer after pressing power once, holding it for 12 seconds, and pressing again. It does not pick it up :( Should i do anything with my SD card? Last time I used it it was formatted and i lost practically everything. Was running atmos at the time.
     
  11. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,680
    Country:
    United States
    You should be able to enter RCM and boot Hekate regardless of what's on the SD card or whether or not you have an SD card, so it is not the problem.

    If you followed the dead battery/AutoRCM steps above exactly and they didn't work, you might want to try with a different USB cord and/or computer.

    If it's not an AutoRCM/battery issue, and you're unable to enter Hekate, then it might be a hardware issue.
     
    Justerino likes this.
  12. Justerino

    OP Justerino Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    Keep you posted
     
  13. dsrules

    dsrules GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,574
    Country:
    hold Power for 15+ seconds incase the count misses
     
    Justerino likes this.
  14. Justerino

    OP Justerino Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    So after charging for a few hours, holding the power button for 15+ seconds, plugging it into my PC it still isnt recognized. An odd thing I attempted was plugging my phone to my switch and it said it was charging the unit (and draining my phone battery slowly) so maybe that means theres life in it yet? Im not sure what to try next x.x

    EDIT: Tested something with both switches. The working switch - the settings on my phone i can change them USB preferences to make it a file transfer or charge. For potentially bricked switch - it is stuck on charge setting and cannot change :(
     
    Last edited by Justerino, Aug 7, 2020
  15. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,680
    Country:
    United States
    RCM drains the battery, so it is possible it's in RCM. Have you tried a different cord/different computer? Are you using TegraRcmGUI?
     
  16. Justerino

    OP Justerino Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    Ill have to try a different comp tomorrow since my laptops at work x.x and yes im using TegraRcmGUI
     
  17. dsrules

    dsrules GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,574
    Country:
    did you hold Power while charging? not after charging
     
  18. Justerino

    OP Justerino Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    I tried both. Update for today on laptop - still not recognized on Tegra >: i think im doomed
     
  19. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,680
    Country:
    United States
    Do either of your computers recognize your backup Switch in RCM? If not, there's your problem. If they do, then you can try these amended steps:
    1. Press the Power button once
    2. Press and hold the Power button for 12 seconds
    3. Plug the Switch directly into a wall outlet using a charger you know works with the Switch
    4. Let it sit for several hours or overnight
    5. Quickly plug the Switch into your PC
    6. Try sending a payload such as Hekate.
     
  20. Justerino

    OP Justerino Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    G'mornin ~ yes my backup switch is recognized while my bricked one is not :( I'll try those steps. If it matters I let my switch charge all night (assuring the charger works on other devices first) but I'll try once again.

    Also I know this may be an odd question considering it's a hacked switch but would sending it to Nintendo to get it "repaired" be of any use? I'm aware of the costs but would they be able to do anything not knowing it's homebrewed?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - potentially, bricked, switch