Help me make a common answer for "how do I run this game?"

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Rydian, Dec 3, 2010.

  1. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    So I want to make a simple copy-paste that can be given to people who have issues running new games on their carts.

    This is what I have, feel free to add suggestions or corrections.

     
  2. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    What about getting/verifying a clean dump and/or reformatting your card?
     
  3. Knyaz Vladimir

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    How about HEX edits?
     
  4. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Those are patches. They may not have a patcher program and you may need to do the hex edits yourself, but it's usually only a day until somebody turns the hex edits into a simple patch anyways.
     
  5. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you can't run any decent firmware and there's no patches for the games you want to play, your cart's a piece of [​IMG] ......... [​IMG] How very true

    Just one other possible thing for 1)

    'Some cart firmwares have an option to Bypass AP (AntiPiracy) - most notably AKAIO and DSTwo - which are usually switched off by default
    Check the firmware to see if there is such an option as this or possibly 'Patch/Clean mode' & change the state of it to see if the game will run'
     
  6. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, this is sizing up nicely, thanks guys.
     
  7. Blaze163

    Member Blaze163 The White Phoenix's purifying flame.

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How about this?

    1) Buy game
    2) Put game in system
    3) Switch system on
    4) ?????
    5) Profit!
     
  8. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    it's too expensive, just kidding
     
  9. Sephxus

    Member Sephxus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Pomona, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I bet this works! [​IMG]
     
  10. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    I bet €1000 that this works always
     
  11. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    DSi region locking would make you lose that bet. [​IMG]
     
  12. ars25

    Member ars25 I like tacos and pie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    800
    Location:
    the world that never was
    Country:
    United States
    correct it will be $1571.90 if he lost the bet to a american
     
  13. Ron

    Member Ron somehow a weeb now.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    here
    Country:
    Canada
    Hows this?
     

Share This Page